We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent weekend choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #91 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent weekend choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my partner recently and have to say we were both on the whole very pleased with our experience.
A slight taint was placed on the proceedings when we arrived 2 hours later than our allotted check in time and got to our room to find it still being made up by the maid. However in fairness to the hotel they immediately placed us in another room and on our departure the manager came and personally apologised with a very nice bottle of wine.
The room we had was very nice, my only slight gripe being the bed, though extremely comfortable was slightly on the small side for a double.
The room was very nice though the extra money for a river view is something I would personally say is essential.
Location is excellent, within a 5 minute walk of Waterloo and only a minute from the tube station.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view as some room have a frosted window, which feels almost claustrophobic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to posted your review regarding your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. I am delighted that you found the location of the hotel so useful. We truly are right in the centre of the city allowing you access to so many of the sights and attractions by foot or via the Embankment tube station.

I do agree about reserving a room with a river view at the time of booking, as this prevents any disappointment. The vista over The Thames and the London Eye is iconic of London and always makes any stay extra special.

Although I am glad to read that your overall impression of the hotel was good, I was disappointed to read that your room was not ready on check in. However I am pleased that the situation was sorted out promptly by our Guest Relations Manager, and I hope that you had enjoyed the bottle of wine by way of an apology for the problem you experienced. I can assure you that the intentions of the entire team is to go the extra mile to ensure each and every guest is happy.

The next time you choose to return to us, please make sure you request a king size bed to ensure you have more space.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,984
    939
    302
    126
    50
See reviews for
663
2,202
129
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a joint birthday and anniversary treat, it was booked over the Christmas period during a winter deal.. Firstly we were shown to a standard double room and were a little dissapointed to find out that the windows were blacked out due to the internal facing of the room.. We phoned down to reception and requested to move to a room with a window, we were advised that all standard doubles are internal facing, we did not know this at the time of booking and we were quickly upgraded to a most lovely room with a window :)
For our second night we thought we'd try the 1212 resturant for the pre-theatre deal, the menu looked lovely and the started was gorgeous!! When the mains came out it wasn't what I had ordered and as it was something I don't like I did mention something. There had been a mix up with the menu, and we had been given the lunch menu. Miguel and Umesh (restuarant staff) were so incredibly helpful and rectified the situation quickly, unfortunately we did not have time for dessert as we had a show to see. I know mistakes are made and it's they way they are dealt with that counts.
Based on the service we received we most definately will be returning again!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapsidaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate two such special occasions – we are honoured.
I was sorry to read of the issues you experienced, but delighted to read how they were rectified. Unfortunately mistakes can happen, but it is good to read that the team responded quickly to fix their errors, so it does not have a long term impact upon your stay. As you say, how we respond to these types of occurrences makes all the difference.
It is great to hear that you will definitely be returning again. So next time why not treat yourselves a little bit more and reserve a river view room? It is such an iconic view that will make any stay extra special. We hope you can return to us soon!

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. The reception areas are luxurious and smart, the rooms are well laid out and very comfortable. Its central location could hardly be better, just a few paces from the tube station. Staff are polite and attentive. It has the feel of a classy slightly old school British hotel. Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review and it is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is deliver the service that our guests so rightly expect these days from a leading 5 star hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff polite and attentive.

I do hope you think of us when planning your next trip to London.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a special break and chose this hotel for a bit of luxury in London and it did not disappoint. From check in to check out the staff were fantastic and the hotel itself was wonderful. We booked a king room with a view and had a lovely view over the Thames and London Eye. The staff couldn't be more helpful and check-in was easy. The room itself was big and airy with high ceilings and a marble entrance foyer. The bathroom was well appointed with underfloor heating and a tv over the bath. The bed was comfortable and the iPod dock was a nice touch. We had the breakfast included with the room and the buffet in the restaurant was great with a good selection of hot and cold food. The hotel is a short walk from Embankment and Charing Cross stations and lots of the theaters and attractions. Very central and well worth the money.

Room Tip: The extra money for the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review you stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. I am delighted to read that your feedback is brimming with comments about the fantastic service your experienced for the entire team here. The bedrooms themselves were refurbished 4 years ago, but due to the hard work of our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams they look as fresh now as they did then.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future for another wonderful stay.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Situated close to Whitehall and Embankment you are in the very heart of London and British traditional elegance. Entering the hotel you are welcomed discrete, friendly and elegantly. Very professional people in the lobby and the check in. The rooms are not overwhelming luxury but classic high standard. No view in my room but of course - not all rooms can have a look to London Eye. Maybe next time. Standard bar menu with sandwich etc. Prices too high - but very nice and prof personnel. Standard prices for rooms is maybe a little high but can you find special offers, this is a very very good and perfectly situated hotel with service in the very top.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmacist83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review regarding your time with us at The Royal Horseguards. I am so honoured to have a team that recognised for its professionalism, elegance and friendliness, and they are very happy to read that their efforts are being appreciated.

We make an effort to maintain competitive prices compared to other 5* hotels in London and therefore am a little disappointed to read that you found them a little high, but as you state we do offer different promotions throughout the year which are always worth looking out for.

We hope that the next time you come back to us, you will reserve that river view room and it is a truly unique experience.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed in this rook for a valentines treat for my wife a while ago. The hotel has been brought up to a good standard over the last decade. It is furnished with a clean modern style, i'm glad the last reviewer liked the tv in the bath, I built them ! The staff were exceptional and the food at one twenty one restaurant was nothing short or perfection. If you want to stay in a fine hotel right in the middle of Westminster, this has got to be at the very top of your list.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
What a glowing review regarding your recent stay with us. We are honoured that you chose to bring your wife to us, at The Royal Horseguards as a valentines treat. The entire team were very happy to read your comments about their excellent service and in particular your experience in our restaurant.

The bathroom TV's are indeed a true HIT with all our guests here,. I can only imagine how long it must have taken you to build all 281 of them! Thank you for your dedication!!

I do hope to welcome you back to the "top Hotel in Westminster" in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I had a wonderful stay here with my husband for two nights. The hotel is very convenient to all the tourist sites, shopping, theatre etc and is surrounded by lovely buildings. Although it is an old building it feels very fresh and modern - lovely furnishings and drapes throughout, the atmosphere is relaxed and not too formal or stuffy. The bathrooms are lovely with underfloor heating and the beds are comfortable, overall a great stay with friendly staff , especially the man who helped me with my bags and was very patient as I changed rooms twice. Hope to come back soon.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
I was pleased to read that your stay at The Royal Horseguards was “wonderful”. It’s great to hear that you felt the hotel was not stuffy or too formal, as it is important to us that our guests feel welcomed and in an environment where they can relax and enjoy themselves.

The building is impressive, dating back to 1886 and we have undergone a complete refurbishment in the past couple of years which has successful complimented the building.

Our location is fantastic for all the sites of London. Most are in walking distance, but if you want to go further a field the Embankment tube station is a literally a few minutes walk away.

Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Anna- Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#21 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing