We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea at the Royal Horseguards Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #99 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at the Royal Horseguards Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I were on a bit of a nostalgic afternoon in Westminster and thought a trip to the Royal Horseguards Hotel for afternoon tea would be a great treat. As I used to work for the then Ops Manager over 10 years ago, I was looking forward to seeing the refurbishments made to the hotel. I was overwhelmed by the interior changes and swept away by the beautiful restoration and refurnishing. The Tea itself was lovely, we took a glass of champagne to start it off before the tea and goodies arrived. The waitress was lovely, apologising for the long wait to order (she was running to and from the restaurant to the lounge). Unfortunately this is one of the things about the "Old Horseguards" which jumped immediately to mind. Not enough staff to service clients, it was a bit disappointing to see that this is still the case. Unfortunately there were other patrons who were looking around for service too. Hopefully they can sort this out as it was definitely a mar on the experience. All in all though a delightful few hours and the waitress did say if we needed anymore of anything just to ask. So glad we went.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineMOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Thank you for your recent post and welcome back to The Royal Horseguards as a Guest!

I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful Afternoon Tea with us and that you loved the changes we have made to the Hotel.

I am sorry that your experience was marred by slow service, and this took you back to memories of old. Our Lounge manager is in the process of looking at staffing levels and schedules to ensure future guests do not encounter the same experience. However I am pleased that you found the waitress charming.

Don't leave it another 10 years before returning again!!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,019
    953
    308
    126
    51
See reviews for
672
2,239
131
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night for a special occasion when arriving I was greeted from across the street by the concieger to take my luggage which was excellent service. Very polite reception staff my luggage was in the room before myself! Fantastic views/area for all attractions!! Best night sleep black out curtains made me feel like I could sleep all day even the soft closing corridor doors made to my experiance! A excellent,elegant hotel.a must to stay at and return too!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
What a superb review - thank you!!

I am so pleased that every aspect of your stay exceeded your expectations, which was especially important as you were celebrating a special occasion. The team will be so proud when they read your comments.

We can't wait to have you come back and stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have to start saying this is my first time in a 5 stars hotel and I was amazed with all the luxury on it.
The hotel is very well located, few steps from the Embankment tube station.
The staff is very professional.
We booked 2 rooms king size with river view, but the rooms weren't similar. One of them has shower and the other has a jacuzzi, one was smaller than the other one. Evidently we payed for 2 similar rooms and we got different ones, we booked in advance and finally we didn't complain, our mistake. I recommend check the room first.
The hotel is very comfy and elegant.
The rooms has very nice amenities.
Our room was little bit hot and the air conditioner was too noisy to turn it on during nights, so our rest wasn't so pleasant. Also, the mattress has a plastic cover that makes us sweat during nights.
The view to the river was blocked by trees (we stayed in 5ft and 6th floor), so from our point of view isn't necessary pay extra for the river view. We didn't hear the noise from the street, good thing.
The breakfast was superb and well served. Sometimes we had to wait until a table get ready, so pity.
Definitely I will come back, but I won't request the most expensive room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your first 5 star hotel experience!! I am delighted that you found the hotel to be comfortable, while elegant and luxurious. I was especially pleased to read your comments that you found the staff to be professional, and that this extended through to the breakfast team.

Our rooms do vary in size and as we are located in a listed building, therefore we are unable to restructure the lay out of the hotel. This is why the configuration of our rooms vary, and the designer considered each one individually to ensure the lay out was the best possible for the space available. This means that it is very rare for you to get two rooms identical in shape and layout, and we feel this adds to the charm of staying in our rooms.

I am sorry that you did not experience a good night sleep. I have asked maintenance to check the air conditioning units in these rooms and address the noise issue, and for Housekeeping to check all mattresses for the plastic sheet, as we use cotton mattress protectors on our beds so this situation does not occur. Thank you for this feedback as it allows us to correct these issues for the next guest.

Over all I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you definitely intend to come back. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have stayed at the RH several times over the past two years, and although quite pricey is worth every penny, being a fabulous setting, plush surroundings, exceptionally pleasant staff etc. We joined their signature club which gives several benefits depending on how many times you stay - we have just come back from a weekend which included a free Sunday night for joining the club. Memorable lunch and evening drinks - today on the terrace before catching our train home

Room Tip: Room overlooking Thames and London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you are enjoying the benefits of being a Guoman Signature member. It's just a little reward for being a loyal and regular guest with us. We hope it will encourage you to stay with us, and other Guoman hotels more frequently.

We look forward to welcoming you back so you can earn more rewards!!!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Pros: beautiful building, lovely decor:rooms and public areas, good location, superb restaurant(1212), slick check in, efficient , knowledgeable and professional staff.
Cons: The noise!, 2 night stay at this hotel, little sleep. Roadworks outside hotel 24/7 also general traffic noise clearly audible . We would not have stayed her if we had known about the roadworks. Shame, as it's a lovely hotel albeit that the 'superior double rooms' are quite small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the terrace side, NOT the roadside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather-in-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your invaluable comments.

I am delighted to learn that you found the Hotel to be in a great location and you enjoyed our beautiful building. However what has delighted me most of all is that you found the staff to be knowledgeable and professional. I will be sure to pass on your comments, especially to our team in our 1212 Restaurant.

I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from the road. Unfortunately the Council were carrying out road works, and I am disappointed that it marred your stay with us. Next time, could I suggest you try one of our internal court view rooms, as they are quieter which why some guests prefer them.

We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is one of the most splendid hotels in Europe we have stayed in. Near no. 10, between Trafalgar and Big Ben, right on the Thames, with room view on the City, St Paul's Cathedral and the London eye!! The view is so spectacular from the 7th flr that we did not close the curtains at night!!
The room is beautiful, fabulously comfortable and with the latest technology available.
No wonder the lounge-bar area was very popular on Sat. evening:...great ambiance all around, the staff make you feel really special without pretention.
We will be back very soon.
PS: thank you for those gorgeous strawberries coated with chocolate in our room on our arrival!

Room Tip: 7th flr, view on the Thames is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenplecuirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us. We have tried to make amends, but have been unable to resolve the situation to your satisfaction. We have investigated the situation further since our correspondence, and believe the confusion has occurred as we have two packages on offer with a simular name, a Romance on the River and a Romance Package. Both include different elements, and we have you reserved on a Romance package which includes breakfast, champagne and turndown. I believe this is where the misunderstanding has occurred, and I am sorry that you feel we have let you done.

I hope this will not put you off from staying at other Guoman properties as you have in the past.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We only went for a early dinner on the day the Queen was celebrating her offical birthday and even though we had booked ther terrace they let us into the hotel restaurant as it was a bit cold. The service was wonderful as our friend was celebrating her special birthday they were just lovely. The was a harpist playing and it was very relaxing and even though we were not staying at the hotel the service was excellent and we stayed a good couple of hours

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
It is really very nice to receive such a lovely review from a guest not actually staying with us, but using our facilities. We like to treat ALL visitors to the hotel as if they were staying with us and it is so good to hear that this is happening.

Thank you and I’m very glad that we helped to make your friend’s birthday so special.

Kind regards

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#44 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing