We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more to say.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #100 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nothing more to say.”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have had the pleasure of visiting The Royal Horseguards on a number of occasions since my last review. As ever the standard was top notch. I have to say the level of service the staff provide is just right. I am regretting not writing this review sooner as I wanted to single out one member of staff for the way she has dealt with me over the past 12 months or so. That staff member was Tobi Isenberg however I have recently learnt she has left the hotel which I have to say in my opinion is a big loss.
The location of the hotel is superb particularly if you are visiting as a tourist. Many well known London sights are a short walk away and there a public transport links nearby should you wish to use these.
One thing I really recommend if you have a special occasion to celebrate is The Tower Suite. We were upgraded to this recently and the views of London from here are something else.
As the title of my review suggests I have nothing more to add.
Great hotel in a fantastic location manned by professional members of staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Wow what a fantastic review, it’s such a pleasure to hear that you have visited us on many occasions and have enjoyed every moment of your stay with us. I would agree with you, Tobi was an outstanding member of staff here at the hotel, and she is greatly missed.

As you say, we are in a fantastic part on London. We are just so close to many of the major attractions in London, but the tube, train or Thames boats give you immediate access to many other parts of London if you want to venture further afield. However by reserving The Tower Suite you get to see all the major buildings and attractions from the comfort of your sitting room! It has got to be the easiest form of sighting seeing I know!!! But the best bit is when London is light up at night, the views are breath taking and so very special.

This review has been such a pleasure to read. I and the team would like to thank you as we appreciate every word. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards for another wonderful stay.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,046
    970
    312
    130
    51
See reviews for
679
2,271
133
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Excellent location- close to the Thames, Trafalgar Square and Westminster. Spent two nights at the hotel- very peaceful. Rooms were excellently equipped. Breakfast lovely if not a little pricey. We booked last minute so didn't get a room with a view-windows are frosted to try to block out the view of bricks of another building- would have preferred to see the building than the frosting.Room was quite small- loved the bathroom though We paid £60 each per night plus breakfast-not bad at all for London hotel in luxury

Room Tip: Try and afford a room with view of the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are very lucky to be in such a wonderful location. The convenience of being so central offers many advantages to our guests whether they are on business or leisure.

I am pleased that you found your room well equipped, if a little on the small side. But it is great to hear that the bathroom and breakfast made up for the lack of view.

Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our meal in the 1212 restaurant in Horseguards Hotel was nice but could of been better.
My husbands main meal was good but the meat on my place was very fatty and I could not chew it. All that to one side the staff were very good. But I'm not sure if we will go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaSun771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We've stayed at the RH the last two times we visited London, and it's just an excellent value for the city and located in the perfect spot. The staff has always been friendly, and the rooms are a good size with very large bathrooms. On our last visit we were stuck with the street view, but it's still better than the view of brick walls we've had at other London hotels. Our AC went out, but they sent someone up in under an hour and had it fixed. We also had a power outage that led to a fire alarm that led to my wandering about in my pajamas for several hours. But it was beyond the hotel's control, and they wrote a nice letter apologizing afterward. The Embankment and Charing Cross stations are very close as well as a number of great bars and restaurants on Villiers St. We'll definitely stay at RH again. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are generally quiet, and we can walk to Herman ze German. It doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a Thames side room for a great view of the Eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank govinda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I am very pleased that you found the staff friendly, we do pride ourselves on a 5 star service and enjoy making guests feel welcome and at home. Thank you for your understanding and patience when we had the evacuation and accepting our sincerest apologies.

It's a pleasure to hear that you have chosen us as your regular hotel when visiting London, and we can not wait for you to come back again.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saeby, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at this lovely 5* hotel 3 nights in May 2012. It is expensive to stay there (most hotels in London are), but we think it was worth the payment. We got a lovely hotel with the view to the Thames and London Eye. We couldn't go out on the balcony, the dor was closed permanently. It would have been nice to sit and enjoy the view. The English breakfast was superb and the staff was all very helpfull. We will certainly consider staying at Royal Horseguard next time we go to London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the Thames and London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl Aage B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for the lovely review of the hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sure you will agree that the supplement for a river view is worth every penny. It is unfortunate, but because our property is so old (a grade 2 listed building) that we are unable to utilise the balconies for health and safety reasons.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and service from the staff and I will pass your comments on to the team.

We all hope that you will stay with us at the hotel the next time you come to London.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Not surprised that Hotel Royal Horseguards was a winner of traveller's choice 2012. We loved this 5*, big, fabulous Victorian hotel right on the Thames River. We paid more to get an Exec. King with view and could see the river and the London eye - which is a must to ride on for great views of London. The line moves very fast. When we were up in the eye, we could see our stately, magnificant hotel on the river edge and were so excited to be staying there. (see photo) There was plenty of space in our room for an extra twin cot/bed for our teenage daughter. Our room had a tv IN the shower/bath tub!
*We walked to so many things from the hotel including: the London Eye, Parliment, Westminister Abbey (get in for free for the afternoon service and hear the amazing boys' choir - ask for time and days), Trafalgar's Square, St. James Park, the Mew, etc. It's in a great location in London. The service was excellant. We got on the hop on, hop off bus to see the city from the top of the bus and to go to St. Paul's Cathedral, the London Tower, etc. (seems like it was just 2 or 3 at most blocks away. Go early to the tower to avoid a long line for the jewels, look at the old armours and beautiful bridge!
*Get a room high up to be over the tree tops for better views unless it's winter and the leaves have fallen, and to avoid the sound should there be a wedding party or anything below. It is located a block in on a side street, so you really don't have the noises of the city, but were right in the city! We LOVED it here and would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Get a room up high for better views and above tree tops if on river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBrowns1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your fabulous review and confirming that we deserve being awarded the Travellers Choice Award 2012 by TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you found both your room and hotels location to be excellent. As you said we do have so many of London’s top attractions on our doorstep, or you could just look out of your bedroom window and see many of them from right where you stand!

We would love to have you come back to us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at the royal horseguards the first week in July 2012. Our stay there was excellent. The staff was terrific! No matter how often we came to them, we were met with friendliness, and very efficient service. Even late at night, talking with the night manager, she provided us with great ideas for seeing different sifts and locations around London. Our room was very nice with nice accommodations. Before arriving I called the hotel concierge from the States and spoke with Konrad Kuharczyk, who could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Upon arrival he had already set us up with a few things. In addition, Richard Williams and Phillip Braham were also very helpful during our stay. We were greeted as special every time we left and arrived hotel. To sum up we highly recommend the Royal Horseguards Hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrybball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I am delighted to have read your comments and am thrilled that your recent stay was excellent!

I shall ensure that our Night Manager (Dena) along with Concierge Team (Richard, Philip and Konrad) are personally thanked for their contributions to ensuring that your stay was exceptional. We pride ourselves in being able to deliver high standards of service to all our guest at all times, but it is always fantastic to hear we are doing a great job.

Thank you for the high recommendation and we do hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing