We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The delicious meals of Francisco Pico at the hotel restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #103 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“The delicious meals of Francisco Pico at the hotel restaurant”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I´ve stayed at the Royal Horseguards for the second time and I highly recommend this hotel, although this time we had no upgrade for free, the room had no hairdryer and we hadn´t had enough toiletries in our bathroom, not to mention there were no chocolates in the room at night 

But it worth your money, believe me, the hotel is well located and the staff are always very helpful and friendly. By the way, I'd like to thank the chef, Francisco Pico, for the delicious meals, professionalism and kindness. I will continue to prefer the restaurant One Twenty One Two (at Royal Horseguards) when travelling to London, what does not happen more often because I love to travel to other countries as well.
Thank you,
Ana

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuskasLisboa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is lovely to read such kind words regarding our One Twenty One Two restaurant and about one of our Chefs Francisco Pico. The team work extremely hard to ensure the guests are highly satisfied. It is a shame to read we unfortunately let you down regarding the room. Feedback is highly important to us as we are able to take each guest comments into great consideration. We are looking to bring back chocolates into the room within the near future along with. Please be assured I have passed our feedback onto the relevant departments in which they would like to thank you for. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,047
    970
    314
    130
    52
See reviews for
680
2,273
133
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stay here on business. In truth, the hotel was chosen for me, but I now always ask for this specific hotel. The staff are always very helpful and friendly. The rooms are always excellent, from the WiFi to the chocolate. Fantastic location and great views across the river. I was upgraded to the penthouse, duplex room. Brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel whilst visiting on business. It is such a pleasure to read of your experiences with us and we do like to welcome back friendly faces as much as possible! I have passed on your feedback to the team, they are very grateful for your kind praise. We do hope are able to see you again very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. We got a great rate direct with the hotel incl. breakfast which was excellent each morning.

Our room was perfect. Spacious, lots of storage, great views, heated bathroom floors and towel rack, separate shower and bath, lovely Elemis products.

Location was within walking distance of everything London has to offer. Right up the road from Big Ben, Downing Street & Trafalger Square and within 10mins walk of Leicester Square, many theatres, Buckingham Palace, etc. great location without being in an overly busy location.

Room Tip: Room 614 has a fantastic view over the river to the London Eye with two very large door-height windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are thrilled to read of your great experience with us and I would like to assure you I have passed on your kind words to the team. They would like to thank you for such great feedback. The team work extremely hard to ensure all guests receive 5 star service and we do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Great hotel. Reception staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Room very comfortable with luxuries supplied.
Great location right on the Thames, opposite Embankment station and easy walking distance to Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and if you are up for it, Oxford Street is also walkable.
Breakfast had everything you could want. Nice touch was fruit juice available before you reached the breakfast room, along side collecting your newspaper!
Bar prices a little steep but that's London and 5* hotels.
We managed to get a great deal through Great Little Breaks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are thrilled to read of your experience with us. We are thoroughly honoured to be in the location we are as we are so close to a lot of London’s main attractions but also great transport links. Our team work very hard to make sure the guests are treated with 5 star service and their attention to detail is something we are very proud of. We are tremendously happy to read you enjoyed our breakfast! We take all feedback into great consideration and I can assure you I have passed all of your comments onto the team, for which they are very grateful to you. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. The hotel itself is beautiful and is in an excellent location in easy walking distance of theatre land and the best shopping areas.
What makes the hotel special are the lovely staff, efficient, courteous and friendly.
Fabulous!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review regarding your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are extremely honoured to be in the location that we are. We are neighbours to some of London’s main attractions, theatres, shops and great transport links. It is fantastic to read you were well looked after by our team and please be assured I have passed your wonderful comments onto them, they would like to thank you for your kind praise. We do all hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S West, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for one night for a trip to the theatre. It is a lovely welcoming place. Staff friendly and efficient. Ideal location in the centre for main tourist attractions. Close to Trafalgar Square, Houses of Parliament etc. Our room overlooked the Thames, and London Eye. We arrived early, around 1pm we had thought to just leave our cases and come back, but our room was ready. We had a pre-theatre dinner which was well-timed and good value, although the menu choice is a little limited as they restrict it to things which can be prepared quickly. The room was clean. spacious with good touches such as the hairdryer in the top of the dressing table with a mirror that comes up. A simple touch but much more convenient than those hotels that either have the hairdryer in the bathroom with nowhere to sit or those that have it in the bedroom with no mirror. The TV in the bathroom adds to the feel of luxury as does the supply of bathrobe and slippers. Breakfast was included in our package and I could not fault it. A very good choice of things, a hot buffet as well as cold with specials available to order. The only thing I would say is that it says "vegetarian options available on request" but didn't specify what these were. Sleepwise there was no noise from the hotel itself. I think the narrow corridors help, but there was a little from the road, nothing excessive. You can also hear Big Ben chiming, which I found rather comforting and not intrusive but could be if you are a very light sleeper. All in all as it is situated in a gentile side road away from the hustle and bustle this is very good for its location in a busy city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestonNewgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are very honoured to be in the location we are, as you say, we are neighbours to some of London’s top attractions. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and may we say feedback such as yours is truly valuable to us and we take all comments into great consideration.

The team work very hard to ensure all guests receive 5 star treatment and meet every expectation. Please be assured I have passed your feedback onto the team which they are very thankful for your praise and comments. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Great location. Fantastic breakfast. Comfy beds. Helpful staff. Feels like luxury in the heart of Westminster, but rooms are very quiet. Have been several times and this is my favourite hotel in London!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review regarding your visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are thrilled to read such wonderful comments such as yours and I can assure you I have passed them onto the team. We all hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,871 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing