We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical outstanding experience, exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #99 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Magical outstanding experience, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I booked this hotel for New Year's Eve to see the fireworks and had mistakenly forgotten to specify river view on the room. When I arrived the hotel was fully booked especially the river view rooms of course. Even the suites on the top floors had enn booked months in advance; We were devastated. However our host at the reception kept trying as we had a drink at the bar and within the hour came up with a river view room on the 8th floor! He upgraded us for no additional cost and the night was just unforgettable.
The rooms are renovated and the suites are just sublime with a sober masculine design and colours that are very classy. The staff are very polite and helpful. This is truly an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you specify the view on your booking to avoid disappointment. This is the single most outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HebaKDubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel in January. I am extremely thrilled to read of your wonderful New Year’s Eve with us. The river view rooms are exceptionally popular around that time of year, as expected due to the fireworks but I am exceptionally proud of our Reception team doing their best to accommodate you both. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, feedback such as yours is truly inspiring to the team and we hope we are able to welcome you back to The Royal Horseguards Hotel very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,019
    953
    308
    126
    51
See reviews for
672
2,239
131
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
infoking
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked the Horseguards primarily for it's position but it did what so many places claim to do but never live up to. It provided low key faltless service at a price which while nt being cheap was still good value. So many place need to learn that providing good service on Friday or three days a week is no good. Guests are not interested in a Basil Fawlty rant about how hard it to get staff.

The welcome was generous without being over the top, the check in efficient and polite and the porters very good. The room was clean and even though we had a room at the back, you can pay extra for a river view which we thought a waste of money as we only in the room after dark, it was large for a city centre hotel and well appointed. A good bathroom with plenty of bits and pieces. The bed was wonderful and the blackouts 100%. A great nights sleep.

The position of the hotel meant we could walk to Piccadilly etc without too much trouble and we went to the theatre and walked back.

Breakfast was busy both days but the staff coped well and the restaurant manager was in control of the staff and the customers. The breakfast was very well done fantastic eggs benedict prepared with style and even toast that was not soggy, I am told this is one of the hardest tricks to pull off in a hotel.

Check was good, they had not only got the booking right at check in but also the bill was ready and correct on check out! Almost a first.

A great stay and we will go back, thank you The Royal Horseguards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted to read of your experience with us. I am incredibly proud of the team we have here at the hotel, they are very hard working and their biggest priority is the guests well being. It is also pleasing to read you had a great night’s sleep and found the room satisfactory to your needs. We are in a great location especially with the neighbours we have and the very useful transport links. Our Executive Head Chef would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the food you received whilst dining with us; we have some very talented Chefs in the kitchen! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed at The Royal Horseguards last week for an Anniversary/theatre break.What a great stay it was! The room was lovely,not very large but more than adequate and the bathroom had nice Elemis goodies in. We had a room looking over the River as we requested and it had a stunning view, especially at night. The bed was really comfortable and it was nice to have a mini bar in the room.The breakfast was excellent,with all one could want.We had a Bar lunch which was very good too. Next time we stay we'll try the pre theatre dinner. Drinks were on the high side but being a 5 Star Hotel that's to be expected. All the Staff we're so friendly and helpful and did everything to make our stay special. Especially Camilo on reception,such a lovely guy! Also Roscow ?? Who I spoke to on the phone beforehand.Will look forward to returning there again,

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the river,lovely views but you could hear the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrietrayhurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am extremely happy to read of your fabulous time with us, we do have some exceptional views from the hotel especially at night with the London Eye all lit up! I am pleased to read you were able to dine with us and have taken your comments regarding the Bar prices into consideration. Feedback is truly important to us as our guests’ interests and needs are our highest priority. I have passed your comments onto the team, especially to Bosco and Camillo, they are very grateful to receive such kind feedback. We hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at The Royal Horseguards last Summer with my husband and we had a fab time. This time I came with a 'fussy friend' who is not easily pleased! Upon arrival, we were surprised at early check in (11am) being no problem. We were then delighted to find we had been given a 'Thames view' room which was truly magnificent. This had been sorted for us by Lisa, the Customer Relations Manager who I cannot thank enough.
The hotel is in a great location, 2 minutes to the Tube and a pleasant 10 minute stroll to Covent Garden. Reception and Concierge were helpful and friendly and breakfast was a delight.
After a 'hard day' shopping and theatre it was amazing to come back (after a drink in the Bar!) to be greeted in our room by the iconic view of The London Eye and Embankment. Was a real treat as well to have a soak in the bath whilst watching tv.
I will definitely be coming back for a third visit and my 'fussy friend' can't wait to return either!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am pleased to read you also visited us last summer with your husband; we love to welcome back familiar faces to the hotel! I am so thrilled to read your friend was also pleased with her visit. The team work extremely hard to ensure all guests are well looked after as soon as they walk through the door, we try to be flexible as possible to suit our guests’ needs. Lisa is a brilliant asset to the team and I can assure you I have passed your kind words onto her. We are in an amazing location with some of London’s top attractions and very helpful transport links. I hope we can welcome you both back very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beecroft
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We attended a wedding in the Uk then spent a week in London. This Hotel was recommended to us by Australian friends. We have stayed in many five star hotels mainly in the Asia area. As many people know the Asian hotels pride themselves in the staff attending to every whim and this is usually reflected but many "staff" being around the hotel to assist. What we realised with this Hotel was that everything was done, quietly, efficiently and perfectly and you rarely saw it happening. This gave the hotel a sense of peace and reflection. Beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, helpful staff and located in the best position in London if you wish to see the sights. We were initially offered a front Double room with a view of the London Eye, this did not have a bath and was quite small, we had a five day stay so elected that we take a much larger King size room without a view and it was a good decision.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Our team work extremely hard to ensure all guests receive a discreet yet efficient 5 star service, all guests deserve the best when staying with us! I am very proud of the team and can assure you I have passed on your very kind feedback, they are very grateful to hear such praise. We certainly are in a great location, with very helpful transport links and amazing London attractions as neighbours. I am pleased to read you were satisfied with your room, as mentioned the rooms are different sizes due to the nature of the buildings architecture, please let me assure you we are currently undergoing a design refurbishment and will be taking room sizes into great consideration. Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in February 2014, this is our 4th visit.
WOW, WOW. Amazing location, very friendly and highly professional staff.
Our room on the 7th floor overlooking the River Thames and the London Eye, was absolutely spectacular.
The decor is fabulous, the in room products are lovely, the total experience was breathtaking AGAIN.
Thank You Royal Horseguards Hotel, we will be back for sure.
VERY highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Wow, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am extremely pleased to read you are a returning guest, it's a great pleasure to welcome back familiar faces! Your kind words are very touching as the team work very hard to ensure your visit is as spectacular as you have described. We are honoured to be in the location that we are especially with the neighbours and views that we have. Please be assured I have passed your kind feedback onto the team and we hope to welcome you back for your 5th visit very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location is perfect: Parliament Square, St. James's Park, London Eye and Covent Garden all within a 10 min stroll. The hotel is elegant and welcoming. The rooms are immaculate and spotlessly clean. The food is delicious, try the Eggs Florentine they are perfection. The staff are all friendly and helpful. We loved everything about the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are in a wonderful location with some honourable neighbours. I am pleased to read you loved everything about the hotel and I can assure you I have passed your kind comments onto the team. Feedback is very important to us all and we would like to thank you for your praise. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#44 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing