We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #121 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Back at The Royal Horseguards again and not disappointed.
Superb room and perfect service from Michael and his Front of House Team - they even managed to organise a late check-out for us even though they were fully booked (Trooping the Colour weekend). Great lunch in the bar.
Very busy weekend for the Hotel but they didn't skip a beat.
The Royal Horseguards is a physically large hotel but has the comfortable feel more akin to a small, boutique-type hotel (especially in terms of service).

Room Tip: Ask and (if possible) The Royal Horseguards will deliver
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoneColdTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear StoneColdTricky,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us over the Trooping of the Colour weekend. It was a busy time in London and a great celebration! Michael and his team are an asset to the hotel and will go the extra mile to ensure guests receive the very best attention. I do agree our hotel has the warmth of a boutique hotel, a home from home. I hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel very soon!

Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,555 - 2,561 of 4,920 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed one night in a 'double deluxe'. I managed to schmooze a river view room from the delightful receptionist and we had a wonderful view of the river and London Eye from the seventh floor. The rooms are provided with just about anything you could think of: all the freebies under the sun (loofah anyone?), hi tech dimmers, tv screen in the double-jet shower, underfloor bathroom heating, built in iPhone cradle, PC to TV display, free wifi etc. etc.

The service in the room included turn down with those little prayer mats by the (very comfortable) bed and gift bath salts (perhaps the mints ran out).

Front desk service is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is high quality. Even better, a surprise free breakfast for two (cost £49.98) included in my ebookers rate.

I would certainly have given this hotel 5 stars but for two things, firstly a 4'6" bed is just too small for us. We would rather give up room space (in a not overlarge room) for those extra 6". And although the refurb of the building was thorough it did not include replacing the windows which are not very noiseproof.

Howver, I think we shall be back. BTW, do take a stroll around the next door building (One Whitehall Place and accessible from the hotel) - a historical masterpiece.

Room Tip: Beg a river room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbgeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear gbgeebee,

The views of the River Thames and the London Eye are second to none from the hotel, especially at night and from the comfort of your room. We ensure that the rooms have plenty of amenities as we want the guests to feel at home and as comfortable as possible when with us, especially after a long day sightseeing in London! Our One Twenty One Two Restaurant serves one of the best breakfasts in the capital; I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy this.

I completely take on board your comments regarding the bed size and will review this with my Housekeeping team. Also I would like to assure you that we currently do have plans to replace all of the windows, due to the age of the building it takes meticulous planning to ensure we do this correctly and as efficiently as possible. Thank you for sharing your comments, it truly means a great deal to us. We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon!

Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation for 2pm, by 3pm our order had still not been taken so we left & went elsewhere! Despite saying they were very busy, half the tables were empty . Service was scarce. Really disappointed by whole experience & apology was limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank juliew042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear juliew042,

I am sorry to read your review of your time with us when visiting for Afternoon Tea. We serve one of the best Afternoon Teas in London and I am disappointed that you did not have the opportunity to experience this. It is unacceptable service that you received and I would like to sincerely apologise, this is not a normal occurrence in our Lounge and I will most certainly ensure the team receive further training.

I hope you are not discouraged to visit us again the near future. I can promise that we will showcase our true potential and that you will receive the very best care next time you are with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me further with any queries you may have, I would be more than happy to assist.

Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for one night at The Royal Hourseguards Hotel and had a fantastic time. This was not a hotel that I had heard of before but the executive delux room was one of the best I have stayed in with the standard well above what we were expecting (very modern with lots on nice touches), my wife loved the TV above the bath. The Full English Breakfast in bed was good quality, exceptional value and a nice treat. Staff we're very friendly and attentive. Definitely on my list of favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mathew B,

I am pleased that you both had a great experience with us recently, our Executive Deluxe rooms are rather special and the TV in the bath is a popular amenity with our guests. The breakfast served in our restaurant is one of the best in London! I am extremely happy to learn we have become one of your favourite hotels and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just spent two nights at The Royal Horseguards Hotel and wish to reiterate all the positve remarks mentioned in recent reviews. Our large room was lovely....very welcoming and spotless. The beds (twin) extremely comfortable - lovely white sheets and towels. In fact all the necessities you could wish for were supplied in the bedroom - complimentary bottled water - tea and coffee making facilities, Mini bar - and safe.
A variety of 'necessity' packs are provide in the bathroom including hotel dressing gowns/slippers. In wardrobe - a useful iron and ironing board, shoe horn, umberalla - suit and shoe covers. All of which we found useful. A big thankyou to the hotel's bedroom staff for cleanliness and attention to detail.
The breakfast room is nice with a good variety of hot and cold food and drinks.
Particularly pleasant and helpful were the reception/bar staff and porters. Indeed - when my husband went to fetch our car I was looked after extremely well...was shown to the lounge made to feel comfortable and given a complimentary pot of breakfast tea. How kind and thoughtful.
We would wish to say thank you to everyone for making this short stay a pleasure.
We will certainly put this hotel at the top of our list when we next return to London.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms overlooking garden and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am thrilled to read your comments regarding the room you were allocated in, our teams’ attention to detail is second to none and we ensure all of our guests needs are looked after when staying with us. I am extremely proud of the hotel and the team; I would like to assure you I have shared your kind praise with them. Feedback is highly valuable to us as it is the guests’ opinions we take into great consideration. We hope we are able to welcome you and your husband back to The Royal Horseguards Hotel very soon, please do not hesitate to contact us with any queries you may have in the future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The RHG hotel was a lovely hotel, all amenities were excellent. The room was huge, everything was updated, large bath, all modern fixtures. The bed was very comfortable, excellent linens, great services, and they serve food in the two lounges late into the evening. It is so centrally located, in a great area, but on a quiet and unassuming street. Easy to walk everywhere or get the tube close by. Staff was warm and friendly, breakfasts included were very good. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Royal Horseguards Hotel whilst visiting with friends. I am pleased to read of your time with us and everything was to your satisfaction. Please be assured I have shared your kind feedback with the team; we hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in London! Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any future enquiries you may have.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The RHG hotel is the perfect tourists hotel.
Well priced (many levels of rooms rates), wonderfully clean throughout, generous room sizes and most of all, friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is superb with on call orders available also.
The location was fantastic being on the river Thames, it was a short walk to the National Gallery, Southbank side of the river, Leicester Square theatres and restauarant precinct, trains and buses.
Definitely a wise choice for any visitor looking for a central location close to all the action.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am so pleased you had a wonderful time with us; we are in a wonderful part of London with some honourable neighbours. We have some great transport links close by that are truly helpful for guests that would like to experience the theatres, shops and events happening around London. Although we are so close to these places, we are tucked away from the hustle and bustle ensuring guests receive a peaceful night! Please be assured I have passed your feedback onto the team, we all hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in London!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#55 of 1,081 in London
3,413 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £194 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing