We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #111 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Royal Horseguards in February to celebrate my 40th birthday and although we had a lovely time, we were woken on two occasions by the fire alarm so we didn't have the best nights sleep. We were invited back to stay in June and we had a wonderful time, we were also upgraded to The Library Suite which was so beautiful. Everything about our second visit was perfect and the staff were so accommodating. We had the breakfast which was very nice and the location of this hotel is perfect for sightseeing. We look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Alison S,

Thank you for your review regarding your return visit to the hotel. The fire alarms in February were genuinely unfortunate due to the high wind we witnessed in London at the time and I am so pleased we were able to welcome you back to showcase our true potential and ensure your time with us was truly enjoyable. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with the team, we do appreciate all guest comments and hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,071
    986
    323
    136
    52
See reviews for
690
2,298
134
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is my favourite 5 star hotel in London.

The reception and management team are unique in that everyone goes the extra mile to assist, which is unique for a London hotel- that's what makes it special. Mr Von Sanden, Renata and the others.

Rooms one is happy to stay in as a base, rather than sleep and leave
Excellent wifi
Food is first rate- try it for dinner

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear marranello,

What an honour to be your favourite 5 star hotel in London! I am extremely proud of the whole team at the hotel and we ensure the team deliver our usual excellent levels of service to all guests. Please note I have shared your kind praise with all the team, especially Mr Van Sanden and Renata who are also true assets to the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

All of the staff we encountered were great - especially the Chinese lady (Famir?) who checked us in on the 12th July, called the room to make sure all was ok and asked us how our stay was as we passed her today leaving the hotel - excellent. The room was clean, well provided, comfortable and quiet. Renewed my faith in hotelsa.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Speedlighters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Speedlighters,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to the hotel. Fumie is an exceptional asset to the team and we are very proud to have her on the Front Desk. Please be assured I have shared your kind praise with her and the rest of the team. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I went with my family for afternoon tea and the experience could not be better. Both service and food were over the top. A special mencion to Gabi, this gentleman gave us the best service we ever experienced in a hotel. I will remember forever those underful cakes and scones!!l

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Vanessa F,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your Afternoon Tea experience. Gabi is an exceptional team member and please may I assure you I have shared your praise with him. I must agree, the scones and the cakes are the most delicate in London, we are very proud of our Pastry team. We hope to welcome your family and yourself back to the hotel the next time you are in London.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Reservation done via booking.com result a terrible room,no window. Room 401 .. We were moved 416 has window but no way to see sky or anything else... To expensive for such a terrible room
Walking shower floods up entire bathroom..well located is the only positive thing regarding this hotel

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank juan Jose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear huan Jose K,

Thank you for your review of your recent time with us, I am sad to read of your disappointment. It is never our intention to make a guest feel the way you did and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to stay in the near future to showcase our true potential. Feedback is truly valuable to us and may I assure we are currently undergoing a design refurbishment and are reviewing the room locations, especially the internal facing rooms. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any future queries you have, we would be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Although the hotel is in the perfect location and we had a really nice room it was not what I expect from a 5-star hotel. Despite checking in at 10:00, we were kept waiting for our rooms until well after 3pm and then when we went to our adjoining rooms, only one was ready. It took another hour for the other room to be ready. Our bathroom had a loose toilet seat, the button missing off the cistern and black mould on the shower flood and door seal. The room only had 3 sheets of facial tissues and no English Tea bags (picky I know but this is a five-star hotel).
We found the staff on the 2 days we were there inattentive and disinterested. We finally walked out of the lounge because, despite us asking for some service, the staff preferred to cash up the till rather than service us with a simple pot of coffee. All in all a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a Riverside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marchrisilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Marchrisilyn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with your friends at the hotel. I am sorry to read of your disappointing experience and for the downfalls in service you received. This is by no means the usual level of service our team deliver and I have reviewed your comments with great concern. I would like to assure you that feedback such as yours in truly valuable to us and I can promise that these issues will be applied to future training of the team alongside the relevant Managers.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future as I would very much like the opportunity to showcase our true potential and usual excellent levels of service, I am saddened that you and your friends left disappointed. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any queries you may have, we would be more than happy to assist you.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 and had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding, rooms were large and comfortable, and we had a great view of the London Eye. Loved the bathrooms with the heated tile and t.v. by the tub. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tswanson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear tswanson1,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us in January. London is a fabulous place to explore with friends and we are honoured you chose to spend your experience with us! The River View from the rooms is second to none, especially at night when the London Eye is lit up! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are in London!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,067 in London
2,466 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,067 in London
3,927 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing