We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,403)
Filter reviews
5,403 results
Traveller rating
3,586
1,168
398
175
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,586
1,168
398
175
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews london eye embankment tube station trafalgar square river view royal horse guards equus bar heated floors downing street big ben underfloor heating afternoon tea heated towel rack beautiful hotel charing cross star hotel covent garden turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
2,931 - 2,936 of 5,403 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

W Heaver room 812
The Royal Horseguards Hotel is perfect for anyone wishing to make their stay in London special. Every part of the hotel is beautifully created to give guests the full 5 star experience, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable but The Royal Horseguards hotel finest quality is the incredibly helpful and friendly staff. The excellent people of the royal Horseguards demonstrate that the British can offer a level of customer service as good as anywhere in the world.

Room tip: Choose a room with a view. In my opinion the best views of the river in London.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Wayne H,

Thank you for taking the time to write review regarding your recent experience at the hotel. Your words are truly valuable to the team and I would like to assure you I have shared your kind praise with them. Our highest priority is to ensure all guests feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed from beginning to end. We all hope to welcome you both back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

WOW what a fantastic hotel when staff found out it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary they could not do enough to make our stay special,afternoon cakes on the terrace was a lovely surprise.
The room was pure luxury with a great view.
Breakfast is faultless
We would like to take this opportunity to say a special thank you to Mitchel Guest Relations Manger he is an asset to any hotel and helped make our stay memorable.
Looking forward to our next stay.
Thank you to all the staff.
Regards
Dave and Deb

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear D M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on celebrating such a grand anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend this wonderful occasion with us! Please be assured I have passed your kind praise onto the team, in particular Mitchel, who is a true asset to the team.

I am so pleased your experience was a special, memorable one and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First the good points
Well placed for getting about and using the underground with stations close by, beds comfy, most of the staff friendly and helpful and when 2 issues were flagged with housekeeping they were sorted quickly but no one to pick up phone after 9pm. Rooms were a reasonable size and as expected, bathrooms fine. Breakfast choice was very good with a variety of hot and cold to suit nearly everyone.
This has the potential to be an excellent hotel but the are some issues/areas they need to address as the is inconsistency in 2 key areas, restaurant and house keeping. Sort these and the product will be top class.

Issues
started off in room 107 we knew it might be dark but accepted this as it was like many had described part of an inner courtyard or light-well, problem was bed was small, shower would not drain and flooded floor, room was set up as a single and wonder were we put in a single room even though our booking had been made weeks earlier.
Moved to 319 nice room only had a shower which was fine as this one worked, toiletries had not been checked and some were missing and remained so during our stay in this room. Tea and coffee not always topped up had to ring for them, turn down service and complimentary water hit and miss, some nights it happened others it did not.
Breakfast was great as were some of the staff but some were not, one day no plates were cleared, one day we had to ask for a pot of coffee as they just poured us a cup each. Food was always being replaced or topped up but may be more staff needed to do this especially on the hot buffet. And watch out for the coffee pots, the lids stick then as you tip them too far it gushes out, it happened to me and the next day to an american guest on the next table.
However our main complaint which no one could do anything about was on the Friday night the was a function in the suite 2 floors below us so we has music blasting till 1.00am which is not good, we also got a lot of smoke from the barbecue when it was lit as we had popped back to freshen up. So beware low floors and those over the function suites, it spoilt what was in general was a good stay if you ignore the staffing issues they have re service delivery.

We also notice traffic noise, more on a morning and mainly from motor bikes going along the embankment.

would I stay here again, not sure as you can never guarantee the room you will get and what other bookings are in the hotel. I have stayed in other London hotels when events and functions have been on and this is the first time it has been a problem and it makes you wonder how they balance the needs of guests in their rooms as opposed to those spending much more in the function suite.

So to sum up has the potential to be a great hotel if they can iron out the staffing problems they clearly have and a bit of sound proofing would not go amiss, the plus was some great friendly staff, in a quite but central area, lots of places within walking distance and great breakfast.

Room tip: High floor not above the function suite and outdoor patio
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tt240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear tt240,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the hotel earlier this summer. Please accept my apologies that you were disappointed with your stay, I would like to assure you that we take all feedback into great consideration and I have reviewed your comments with my team. We will ensure that we will apply any experiences to further training of the team to ensure no further disappointment. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future to showcase our true potential, please do not hesitate to contact the team directly for any assistance you may require, we would be more than happy to help.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a fabulous couple of days here celebrating our wedding anniversary with our two sons. Almost everything was perfect with any problems being too minor to mention.
When the hotel found out that it was our wedding anniversary we were surprised and delighted to find a complimentary bottle of wine and some chocolates in our room!
Few things annoy us more than being charged for wifi access, so it was refreshing not to be charged for this - although the signal strength wasn't brilliant.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalcolmSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear MalcolmSmith2014,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the hotel. Congratulations on celebrating your 40th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend this wonderful occasion with us! Our team will go above and beyond to ensure all guests are very well looked after and if we know there is a celebration, we like to acknowledge these occasions and make a guests stay even more special.

Please be assured I have shared your kind comments with the team, please note we are currently working on the Wi-Fi within the hotel to ensure no further disappointment occurs regarding the speed. Thank you for your recommendations, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff is excellent and made us feel very welcome. The buffet breakfast is delicious. We stayed in room 712 and had a breathtaking view of the river and the London Eye. We would definitely stay in The Royal Horseguards Hotel again.

Room tip: Request a room on a higher floor for an excellent view of the Thames.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Linda J,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent experience at the hotel. Your kind comments are truly valuable to the team and I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with them. The views from the hotel of the River Thames and the London Eye are second to none, especially at night when the London Eye glitters over the water. I truly hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any assistance you may require, we would be more than happy to help.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews