We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #121 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having really looked forward to our 3 night stay at this hotel and having booked and paid for it several weeks ago ,and upgraded to an executive double room we were very disappointed when shown to the room.The room was well appointed but it was an inside room and the windows faced a brick wall a few feet away .As we were on the first floor this afforded us no natural light at all into the room.You could not tell whether it was day or night and you needed the room lights on at all time as it was just like being in a black hole .This made it feel claustrophobic,dreary,and depressing .Not a great start to our holiday.
Having asked if we could change rooms being prepared to either upgrade again or even downgrade so that we could have a room with natural light ,we were informed this was not possible as they had no other rooms available .Really !!!! hard to believe they could not have done something .We were told that if we wanted a room with natural light we should have made a special request when booking .Really !!!! one normally would expect an executive room to have some natural light .We have travelled extensively all over the world staying in 5star hotels and never have had to make a request for a room with natural light before .We were also asked did we intend spending much time in the room !!
On our second day we got talking to Mitch one of the young managers who asked if we were enjoying our stay .We told him about our room and he said he would see what he could do .He was charming but was unable to resolve the issue although he did treat us to a glass of champagne as a gesture of goodwill.
We got the feeling that having booked early. Paid ahead of time that the attitude was that it did not matter where they put us ,they had already had our money .Also annoying to later find out that we could have waited till nearer the time and got a better deal on the price of our room.
All very unfortunate as we were actually there in part to investigate the hotel with a view to using it next year for a group of friends for a reunion .Afraid it looks like we shall now have to look elsewhere .
Don't believe all the rooms are like those posted on their website .
Having said all this the hotel is in a very good position for sightseeing .The staff were all very pleasant .Breakfast was good.
So in conclusion if you don't mind 1)being fobbed off 2) sleeping in a room the equivalent to an inside cabin on a ship (something we would never chose ) then room 116 is the room for you our rating for the hotel would have been 5 if the room issue had been resolved.

Room Tip: Avoid room 116 ,inside room ,very dark ,No natural light .request room with natural light with stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dizzyfizzy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,475 - 2,481 of 4,921 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

W Heaver room 812
The Royal Horseguards Hotel is perfect for anyone wishing to make their stay in London special. Every part of the hotel is beautifully created to give guests the full 5 star experience, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable but The Royal Horseguards hotel finest quality is the incredibly helpful and friendly staff. The excellent people of the royal Horseguards demonstrate that the British can offer a level of customer service as good as anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. In my opinion the best views of the river in London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Wayne H,

Thank you for taking the time to write review regarding your recent experience at the hotel. Your words are truly valuable to the team and I would like to assure you I have shared your kind praise with them. Our highest priority is to ensure all guests feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed from beginning to end. We all hope to welcome you both back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

WOW what a fantastic hotel when staff found out it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary they could not do enough to make our stay special,afternoon cakes on the terrace was a lovely surprise.
The room was pure luxury with a great view.
Breakfast is faultless
We would like to take this opportunity to say a special thank you to Mitchel Guest Relations Manger he is an asset to any hotel and helped make our stay memorable.
Looking forward to our next stay.
Thank you to all the staff.
Regards
Dave and Deb

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear D M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on celebrating such a grand anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend this wonderful occasion with us! Please be assured I have passed your kind praise onto the team, in particular Mitchel, who is a true asset to the team.

I am so pleased your experience was a special, memorable one and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First the good points
Well placed for getting about and using the underground with stations close by, beds comfy, most of the staff friendly and helpful and when 2 issues were flagged with housekeeping they were sorted quickly but no one to pick up phone after 9pm. Rooms were a reasonable size and as expected, bathrooms fine. Breakfast choice was very good with a variety of hot and cold to suit nearly everyone.
This has the potential to be an excellent hotel but the are some issues/areas they need to address as the is inconsistency in 2 key areas, restaurant and house keeping. Sort these and the product will be top class.

Issues
started off in room 107 we knew it might be dark but accepted this as it was like many had described part of an inner courtyard or light-well, problem was bed was small, shower would not drain and flooded floor, room was set up as a single and wonder were we put in a single room even though our booking had been made weeks earlier.
Moved to 319 nice room only had a shower which was fine as this one worked, toiletries had not been checked and some were missing and remained so during our stay in this room. Tea and coffee not always topped up had to ring for them, turn down service and complimentary water hit and miss, some nights it happened others it did not.
Breakfast was great as were some of the staff but some were not, one day no plates were cleared, one day we had to ask for a pot of coffee as they just poured us a cup each. Food was always being replaced or topped up but may be more staff needed to do this especially on the hot buffet. And watch out for the coffee pots, the lids stick then as you tip them too far it gushes out, it happened to me and the next day to an american guest on the next table.
However our main complaint which no one could do anything about was on the Friday night the was a function in the suite 2 floors below us so we has music blasting till 1.00am which is not good, we also got a lot of smoke from the barbecue when it was lit as we had popped back to freshen up. So beware low floors and those over the function suites, it spoilt what was in general was a good stay if you ignore the staffing issues they have re service delivery.

We also notice traffic noise, more on a morning and mainly from motor bikes going along the embankment.

would I stay here again, not sure as you can never guarantee the room you will get and what other bookings are in the hotel. I have stayed in other London hotels when events and functions have been on and this is the first time it has been a problem and it makes you wonder how they balance the needs of guests in their rooms as opposed to those spending much more in the function suite.

So to sum up has the potential to be a great hotel if they can iron out the staffing problems they clearly have and a bit of sound proofing would not go amiss, the plus was some great friendly staff, in a quite but central area, lots of places within walking distance and great breakfast.

Room Tip: High floor not above the function suite and outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tt240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear tt240,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the hotel earlier this summer. Please accept my apologies that you were disappointed with your stay, I would like to assure you that we take all feedback into great consideration and I have reviewed your comments with my team. We will ensure that we will apply any experiences to further training of the team to ensure no further disappointment. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future to showcase our true potential, please do not hesitate to contact the team directly for any assistance you may require, we would be more than happy to help.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a fabulous couple of days here celebrating our wedding anniversary with our two sons. Almost everything was perfect with any problems being too minor to mention.
When the hotel found out that it was our wedding anniversary we were surprised and delighted to find a complimentary bottle of wine and some chocolates in our room!
Few things annoy us more than being charged for wifi access, so it was refreshing not to be charged for this - although the signal strength wasn't brilliant.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalcolmSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear MalcolmSmith2014,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the hotel. Congratulations on celebrating your 40th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend this wonderful occasion with us! Our team will go above and beyond to ensure all guests are very well looked after and if we know there is a celebration, we like to acknowledge these occasions and make a guests stay even more special.

Please be assured I have shared your kind comments with the team, please note we are currently working on the Wi-Fi within the hotel to ensure no further disappointment occurs regarding the speed. Thank you for your recommendations, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff is excellent and made us feel very welcome. The buffet breakfast is delicious. We stayed in room 712 and had a breathtaking view of the river and the London Eye. We would definitely stay in The Royal Horseguards Hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for an excellent view of the Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Linda J,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent experience at the hotel. Your kind comments are truly valuable to the team and I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with them. The views from the hotel of the River Thames and the London Eye are second to none, especially at night when the London Eye glitters over the water. I truly hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any assistance you may require, we would be more than happy to help.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having been to this hotel on a few occasions for drinks and lunch on the outside terrace i decided to arrange my boss's wedding reception here. I cannot fault thsi place, rooms were clean, food is fantastic, the staff cannot do enough for you. Great location overlooking the London Eye. Reserved the entire top floor and it was the wedding reception of the century. Would like to thank all the staff for all their hard work and whom always had a smile on their face. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Thames plus high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sandra S,

Thank you for your review in regard to a recent Wedding Reception you arranged and attended here at the hotel. We enjoy nothing more than guests celebrating these special occasions with us in this beautiful setting. I am very proud of the team; they are extremely hard working and ensure the guests’ needs are tended too as best as possible. Please be assured I have shared your kind feedback with the team and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#55 of 1,081 in London
3,415 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £190 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing