We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at this fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #121 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and love it. Our rooms, although small by American standards, were both clean, comfortable and well equipped. It is situated in a perfect location on the Thames, across from The London Eye, which is walking distance from so many sites. The proximity to so much is such a plus. The only improvement, in my opinion, could be the comfort of the beds. I have slept in better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debbiesocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear debbiesocal,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. We very much enjoy welcoming back familiar faces and pleased to know you are a returning guest. Our rooms are standard English sizes and appreciate that you may used to something slightly different, however I would like you to know we do take your comments into great consideration and am pleased that you were comfortable and satisfied with the amenities available. The hotel is in a very desirable part of London as we are so close to some of great shops, theatres, restaurants and tourist attractions such as the grand London Eye. I hope we will be able to welcome you back the next time you are visiting London!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,467 - 2,473 of 4,921 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our 3-night stay at the Royal Horseguards the weekend gone by was fabulous. The room was very well appointed (double deluxe) and the toiletries of high quality. The TV in the bathtub was a fun extra! The rain shower was great with good power. The underfloor and towel rack heaters were appreciated as evening's were a little cool. The A/C worked well in the bedroom.

We were in room 635 and the view was non-existent onto a fire escape in a narrow space between buildings! It was difficult to tell if it is was night or day with the curtains wide open. However, we didn't spend much time in the room so didn't bother to ask to be changed. If a view is important to you, do ask in advance as you may be disappointed otherwise.

The bar at the hotel is lovely. The overall service in the hotel throughout our stay outstanding with the staff courteous and very helpful. The hotel is pricey and the bar prices not for the faint of heart but this truly is a case of getting what you pay for!

Room Tip: Avoid room 635 if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaireadGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear MaireadGeneva,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. Your feedback is truly valuable to the team and I. I can assure you that all feedback is shared with the team and all comments are taken into serious consideration. Due to the nature of the building we do have internal facing rooms, although these are our quieter rooms, may I assure you that we are currently reviewing future plans to improve the view and lighting to avoid any further disappointment. Our Equus bar serves some exciting, delicious cocktails and we will be reviewing the prices very soon as we want our guests to enjoy all aspects of the hotel when staying with us. Thank you for your kind comments also, I am pleased that you did have a fabulous time with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my 5th visit, and sadly may well be my last?

Room; on the Embankment side. Extremely noisy, and hot. The air con could not compete with the outside temperature. There was no noise cancelling properties of the secondary double glazing. Furthermore the curtains were not black out, nor where they wide enough to reduce the rising sun, which negated the need for an alarm clock. Up at sunrise then!!

The bathroom was almost an afterthought. On the plus side, you could use the toilet and wash basin at the same time it was such a confined space, no good for the claustrophobics.

Breakfast. Awful. We could have saved the £18 per head = £72 for two staying 2 nights, and had a drink and bacon roll at the nearby Subway for £2 per head, saving £64. The service was slow and sulky. We had to help ourselves to additional cutlery and croquery as these where not replaced expeditiously. Toast seemed to be a burden to the staff, and kippers grilled to order.......best ring down from your room the night before and place the order. Unless you came with your own Angling gear and caught your catch from the Thames. The cooked buffet was not replenished effectively, so you couldn't have a "Full English Breakfast" only part of one!

We had Afternoon Tea, which in comparison to the Corinthia accross the road, was like going to Gregs for doughnuts. Service was lethargic, the waiter got the wrong tea, and the cakes......well, you may need a magnifying glass to see them.

On the plus side, the front of house, concierge and doormen where faultless. Truly pleasant engaging individuals, who restored a modicum of faith in the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mill-Gloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Mill-Gloucester,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. I do hope this will not be the last we see of you as your loyalty and satisfaction is an extremely high priority to the hotel. I am aware that you have been in contact with the hotel regarding this experience and I hope we have been able to satisfy your disappointment and offer our sincerest apologies. Please do not hesitate to contact us further with any assistance you may require, we would be more than happy to help.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for the bank holiday weekend in August 2013 (apologies for the belated review).

We were fortunate enough to benefit from a great weekend break advertised on travelzoo. Travelling from our humble background in West Yorkshire, we felt slightly intimidated staying at a 5* hotel in central London but we were looking forward to the experience. Upon arrival the receptionist was very welcoming and very friendly. As we walked towards the lift, a young woman was playing the harp in the lobby area which provided that extra touch of elegance in what is a lovely hotel.

The room was a good size and was very clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet on a night. On the downside, we had a room with no view but that didn't dampen our spirits for our stay at this hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast on offer and the staff were quick to remove used plates and cutlery from our table.

If the opportunity arises, I would definitely stay at The Royal Horseguards again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Neil H,

Thank you for your review regarding your visit to the hotel late last year, it is never too late to write a review and we very much appreciate your kind praise. We are honoured that you chose to stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel whilst visiting London and am ever so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us. Due the nature of the architecture we do have some internal facing rooms, however please note these are also our quietest rooms, which after a long day exploring London can be quite a delight to take advantage of and glad this didn’t dampen your spirits! I can assure you I have shared your kind comments with the team and I do hope the opportunity arises to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us further, we would be more than happy to assist you.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked The Royal Horseguards as part of a larger European vacation. It sits across the Thames from the London Eye. The location is convenient to many of the sights; We walked to Buckingham Palace and Harrods; took a water taxi to the O2; and the Tube to Wimbledon in 20 minutes.

The Hotel is nicely appointed but clearly the rooms have been divided to create more rooms. For $500/night they are small. The Bathrooms are well appointed except for the K-Mart 99 cent plastic shower curtains.

The concierges were pleasant but offered options more expensive than you could find os stub hub UK. In addition, e-mails sent repeatedly to the concierge were never received by them due to some computer glitch.

Room Tip: Do not accept an inside room as the window faces a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litig8or2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHG_London, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Litig8or2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the hotel earlier this summer, all the way from New York! We are in a very desirable part of London, within walking distance of some of London’s fabulous attractions, shops, theatres, restaurants and many more. I would like to thank you for your feedback and assure you I have reviewed your comments with my Senior Team to ensure we apply your experience to further training of the team. My apologies that you felt the room was on the small side and that our Concierge desk suffered from a computer glitch, which I can assure is a rare occurrence. Feedback such as yours is truly valuable as it is the needs and opinions of our guests that we strive to fulfil .We hope to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are in London, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel for any assistance you may need.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location making it easy to explore London. Our room overlooked the London eye and Thames. The staff, decor and room are great and can see why it is 5* would recommend the afternoon tea which is spectacular. Had the best weekend.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Aaron C,

Thank you for kind review regarding your recent experience at the hotel. We are in a very desirable part of London, especially for those keen explorers as we do have some wonderful history surrounding us! I would like to assure you I have passed on your feedback to the team who would also like to thank you for your praise. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Riddian Davies, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at The Royal Horseguards for 3 nights for business. The hotel is very Centrally located and is walking distance to most of the sights.

The staff are excellent, and very professional. The hotel is steeped in history, but the rooms have been modernized with heated floors for the Bathrooms, the Internet connection is extremely high speed, which really makes you feel good.

On the downside, the access to the rooms is through a narrow passage to get to the lifts, and waiting there can sometimes be a bit of a damper when there are a lot of people, and the wait can be a while sometimes. The views from the rooms are non existent I was overlooking a wall, and some of my other colleagues as well.

While the staff were professional, they were not very friendly - I tried to book a table for dinner, and the Manager did not even turn towards me but instructed one of the waiters to tell me they did not have any space - this was in poor taste as all the tables were empty. They might have all been booked but they could have been more polite in leting me know.

On the other hand when our group wanted to go out for dinner, we had asked the concierege for his recommendation and they did recommend a very nice restaurant, and had let them know we would come over, and we were treated extremely well there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view rather than one facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#55 of 1,081 in London
3,415 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £190 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing