We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #116 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed here for new year.Best location directly opposite Millenium wheel.Number one place to stay for new year celebrations.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,028 - 4,034 of 4,742 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2009

Took my mother here for her 80th birthday along with my father and wife.

We had previously arranged for champagne to be taken to her room on the morning of her birthday (provided by us and chilled by the hotel) and complimentary strawberries arrived as well. We were assigned a guest relations manager (Dena) on arrival and she looked after us perfectly escorting us to breakfast via the VIP entrance to a table decorated with items previously provided by us.

In the afternoon we had complimentary tea as we were staying in gourman king river view rooms on The 6th floor (641 & 645) along with a chocolate cake with candles and "Happy 80th Birthday" on it kindly provided by the hotel. Room 645 has a large walk in shower which is ideal for the more eldely guests. Both rooms were large and have TV in the bathroom along with an ipod socket.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all in all our stay was superb so we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRays101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2009

Thank you for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help you to make it a very special day for your mother. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our servive standards.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the Tripadvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I recently returned from a visit to the UK and stayed for 4 nights at the Royal Horseguards, my fourth time staying there whilst in London. I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. The location is superb, close to a Tube station (if you take the Tube from the airport, you can easily wheel your suitcase from the station to the hotel and save a ton on cab fare), across the river from the London Eye and within a short 5-10 minute riverside walk to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and Trafalgar Square in a quiet, upscale part of town. The Embankment Pier is right outside, allowing you to catch river cruises along the Thames for spectacular views of the sites and the hotel which is a historic landmark itself. After sightseeing all day, it is wonderful to come back to this part of town and take a evening stroll, seeing everything lit up so majestically.

The newly updated rooms are spacious (even by American standards - they are more like mini-suites), featuring large flat-screen TVs in the bedroom and in the shower (it gets addicting as does the integrated iPod station that allows you to play music throughout the space). The rooms feature both North American and European outlets so you don't need an international travel adapter to charge your camera, etc. which is nice.

The staff is always very gracious and will try to accommodate early check-in for overseas visitors. As far as the restaurants, in my opinion, it is well worth including breakfast in your reservation rate, the spread is constantly refreshed and offers a lot of variety. For those who prefer to eat elsewhere, there is a Starbucks right around the corner.

In summary, this relaxing oasis has a lot to offer the overseas visitor and they have always made feel like I was staying at a second home when I'm there. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris_gal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2009

Thank you for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our servive standards.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the Tripadvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I took my sister-in-law to London as a surprise 70th birthday trip. From the first minute we entered the hotel we were treated like royals! The room view is breathtaking - panorama of Thames, all the familiar buildings on its banks. The room itself was spacious and lovely - plenty of space to sit by the window and enjoy the view over a cup of fine tea or coffee (complements of the hotel). All the modern cons - climate control, ionic hairdryer, iron and ironing board - and the tv in the bathroom (flufy towels and robes plus slippers).The light welcomes you the minute you enter the room, just make sure you leave your key card in the slot on the wall by the door. Did not have time to check what tv channels were available, just enough to watch something while we relaxed in a hot bath after sightseeing. Staff is really attentive and helpful, breakfast is lovely (we got it inclusive with the room), better to have it early, or some goodies might be gone. The location of the hotel is perfect, next to the Embankment tube station. Everything is within the walking distance, that is why it is worth paying a little extra and not bother with travelling by transport - just a healthy walk to any major attraction! Was uder impression that beddig is changed every day - it somehow was not, but a free paper was delivered first thing in the morning! Go for it! It is a treat! Visit the Olde Cheshire Cheese pub in Fleet street for lunch - I found myseld sitting on a bench favoured by Charles Dickens! "Chicago" in Cambridge theatre is fab and river cruise is a must! Templers Church and Southwark Cathedral made a perfect ed to a spiritual tour!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Марина П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This hotel is fantastic and total out of this world. Everything about it, the room, service etc was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTigger1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I stayed at the Royal Horseguards for 1 night as part of my honeymoon. Although we tried to cram in as much sight seeing as we could and therefore didnt spend much time in the hotel, we were still very impressed with what we experienced.

From the moment we arrived the concierge were very helpful and the check in was very prompt and polite with a few questions we asked about touristy stuff dealt answered with no problems and with a smile.

We received an upgrade as it was our honeymoon and we had an amazing view of the London Eye. The room was lovely with bathrobes and slippers and the tv in the bathroom when having a bath/shower is a very nice touch.

It is in an excellent location with downing street literally a 1 minute walk over the street, big ben 5 minutes away and buckingham palace a 15 minute walk. The London Eye is directly over the Thames approx 15 minute walk although we didnt have enough time to experience this.

The best part of our hotel experience was the restaurant. We didnt have much time to get food before the show we were going to so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We didnt know the time of when dinner was served and when we turned up we were 20 mins early with the staff were still preparing tables etc. This was no problem to them and we were seated and given a complimentary cocktail due to our honeymoon even though we made no mention of it. The food was brilliant, the service was fantastic and price was very reasonable which I was very surprised with considering the quality of food on offer.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deebsy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

The hotel was fairly recently refurbished and given a 5-star rating but we were sorely disappointed with the level of service, particularly the concierge. If you're hoping to make reservations for dinner, I suggest you do your own research and make the call yourself. We requested in the late afternoon for their assistance in making reservations for dinner and waited for the the concierge desk to call us back to inform us if the reservation had been made. We did not receive a call back despite waiting for at least half an hour if not longer and decided to make the call to the restaurant ourselves. When we informed the concierge not to bother with helping us, there was no apology for the delay in getting back to us, and clearly they did not appreciate the fact that it was already late in the day and we would need to know if the reservation had been secured. Another annoying experience was that although they asked for our preference as regards newspapers, there was none to be found at the door and each morning, we had to call for newspapers to be delivered. And one day when in the hotel lobby, we requested their assistance in helping us contact a taxi company to which they directed us to payphone down the hall. As guests of the hotel, we were made to feel unwelcome and the shabby treatment we experienced was not what we expected of a 5-star hotel. Disappointing overall and I would not return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mileslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,076 in London
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,076 in London
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#101 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £197 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing