We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Horseguards
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton London Canary Wharf(London)(Great Value!)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,998)
Filter reviews
4,998 results
Traveller rating
3,344
1,088
354
148
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,344
1,088
354
148
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslondon eyeembankment tube stationtrafalgar squareriver viewroyal horse guardsequus barheated floorsdowning streetbig benafternoon teaheated towel rackunderfloor heatingbeautiful hotelcharing crossstar hotelcovent gardenturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
4,237 - 4,242 of 4,998 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2009

From the standpoint of an American tourist looking to see the "classic" London sites, the Royal Horseguards is perfect.

From a location standpoint the Royal Horseguards is a short walk from the London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and much more. Did I mention that the Embankment station is about 100m away?

As for the hotel, it is beautiful. Great views across the river and the small park located on hotel property is a perfect way to start or end your day. Hotel staff were very inviting and friendly, answering all of our questions with a smile. Only downside was that the rooms are a bit small for the money, but again, the location and staff make up for it. Also, I've been told that London rooms are closer to those in Europe vs. those in the US - so the size of the rooms may be standard.

The next time I'm in London I will not hesitate to check in at the Royal Horseguards.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manger at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

Thank you for your comments on the TripAdvisor website subsequent to your recent stay at Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We have taken on board your constructive feedback regarding your room size. Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our service standards. We would be delighted to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the future.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the TripAdvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Horseguards for 2 nights. The lobby is lovely and the staff unfailingly polite and helpful. Our room did not have a Thames River view, but the view was nice nonetheless. The room was large and luxurious, with all the amenities. I believe the hotel was recently renovated and the result is lovely. Location is wonderful -- we walked to Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the Royal Galleries. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank LucyGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manger at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

Thank you for your positive feedback on the TripAdvisor homepage subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on the TripAdvisor webpage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I just returned from a week long vacation in London and this hotel was one of the highlights. The location is perfect for all of the key sites (Westminster Abbey, Parliament, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace) and is right next to a Tube station which made it easy to use the subway system. The staff was second to none and was always there to help us with questions or book site seeing trips for us. Do yourself a favor and look into this hotel...you will NOT be disappointed! If I ever make it back to London, I know I will stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

Thank you for your positive feedback on the TripAdvisor homepage subsequent to your stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on the TripAdvisor webpage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations
Royal Horseguards Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

My husband and I have stayed at The Royal Horseguards on a number of occasions during the past 10 years. When we first encountered it in the late '90s, it was sorely in need of upgrading and repair. During our most recent visit, we noted that the hotel is under new management and perhaps the nicest place we've stayed in central London. The Royal Horseguards now boasts a full range of modern amenities to include air-conditioned rooms (all rooms are now non-smoking), flat screen TVs in both room and bathroom, WiFi and newly refurbished appointments throughout. Under the previous proprietorship the service and attitude of the hotel staff left a lot to be desired, but the change in management appears to have done wonders for the quality of the establishment and the level of service. Our room overlooked the Thames and the London Eye as requested by email (although this was not guaranteed). Breakjfast was included and consisted of standard English fare and, while not spectacular, was more than adequate for the business traveler. (The staff was gracious enough to allow us to conduct small business meetings during breakfast.) The location has always been excellent for travelers doing business with the UK government, as well as for tourists. Based upon this experience, we will be choosing The Horseguards again for our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twisteddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Cannot fault this hotel at all, perfect location, clean, attentive and genuinely friendly staff. We stayed for the first night of our honeymoon and can safely say we made a great choice of hotel, on a quite street but right on the action, Trafalgar square two minutes walk away. Perfectly clean and spotless hotel and with a great buffet style breakfast....... you will not be disappointed with this hotel. 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrCeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews