We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but don't pay extra for a view in Summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #114 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel after reading many positive reviews. I chose a Premium Club King which is supposed to have a "splendid view of the Thames and London Eye". The first room shown was completely grown in by the foliage on the trees and was very dark. As was the second room. We were finally allocated a room on the 6th floor which had what I can only call a partial view through a gap in the foliage to the river and London Eye. Our final room was bright and airy and had the added bonus of a lovely big window in the bathroom. The room amenities were very nice but we both felt the bed was a bit on the firm side and we were glad to move on after six nights.

The service we experienced on check in was strange and disconnected with no apology for the fact that the promised view was not forthcoming.

Our room rate also included canapes in the room every evening. They were a no show on the first evening and I had to call and ask for them on the second night. After checking we were informed by room service we were indeed entitled to canapes and they arrived with a complimentary bottle of wine. A nice gesture, check in staff take note. They were also delicious and were served every evening thereafter promptly at my appointed time!

The breakfast was only adequate. We didn't try the restaurant at night as the breakfast was so ordinary.

Overall the hotel is lovely, modern, clean, wonderful bathrooms beautifully maintained but the service at reception was very odd and unnecessarily frosty especially after a 23 hour flight!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,697)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,950 - 3,956 of 4,698 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

We were impressed with this hotel from the moment we walked through the doors - very polite, friendly, professional service in beautiful surroundings. The first night our neighbours were extremely noisy and when we complained we were offered a new room which turned out to be an upgrade!

The hotel is in an excellent location - quiet (although there are building works going on at the moment at Whitehall) but very central and most of the main sights.

Both rooms we stayed in were very comfortable and luxurious - the only things which could be improved were that the double beds were quite small and the pillows were not very plump - otherwise it was a real please to stay here and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coast2coaster2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2009

Thank you for your feedback on the TripAdvisor website subsequent to your stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Customer feedback is a valuable resource for future feedback of our service standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the future.

Thank you,

Guest Relations
The Royal Horseguards Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We chose this hotel based on the glowing reviews given by guests at the Royal Horseguards on Tripadvisor. We were very happy with our choice. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We had the free breakfast included in our package and it was exceptional. The location is great- across the river from the Eye of London- you can take a walking bridge to walk over to the Eye, close to the tube and within walking distance of many sights- Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Trafalgar Square. The rooms were very spacious and even had a flat screen tv over the jacuzzi tub. We would definitely return to this hotel again and again- which I hope is soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patmarietta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Spent two nights at the Royal Horseguards in London in late September. The room was lovely, with a fantastic view of the Thames and the Eye, the staff was great and the location was perfect for seeing the high points of London during a short visit.

You will need to pay for the deluxe double with a view to be able to see the Thames, and ask for the 7th floor or above or your view will be blocked by the trees. The hotel is a beautiful, old building and the room was large and sunny.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2009

Thank you for your comments on the TripAdvisor website subsequent to your stay in September.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Customer feedback is a valuable resource for future feedback of our service standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the future.

Thank you,

Guest Relations
The Royal Horseguards Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

If it weren't for online, advance price discounts there would be ZERO chance of me ever being able to afford staying in this hotel. Luckily, I started my London holiday research several months in advance and got a great price on a twin room for me and my friend. No view of course but I suspect even the Royal Horse Guards' worst room rivals some of the best rooms in other hotels.

Our twin was spacious and well laid out and filled with all sorts of thoughtful and classy touches - heated bathroom floor, slippers and housecoats and, at one point, a lovely tropical plant appeared on the night stand table, just because I suppose.

The service was equally exceptional. Housekeeping was thorough and never lessened in quality the entire five days of our stay. All the in-room teas/coffees/treats were replenished daily. The door staff and concierge were consistently friendly and professional.

The location of the hotel is quite central and wonderfully close to the Embankment tube station. Its very easy to walk anywhere. There are several pubs and coffee shops located nearby. Villiers Street, just up from Embankment station, has lots of little cafes and The Princess of Wales pub stays open quite late and does a really good breakfast.

All in all a good choice if you want something extra special from your London hotel stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoversReturn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2009

Thank you for your comments on the TripAdvisor website subsequent to your stay in October.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Customer feedback is a valuable resource for future feedback of our service standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the future.

Thank you,

Guest Relations
The Royal Horseguards Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed at the Royal Horseguards recently for my boyfriend's 30th. Had a great time; room was lovely with a fabulous view and the hotel is in a great location for exploring the city - opposite the London Eye, with Downing Street and Trafalgar Square just around the corner. The hotel bar is nice (but predictably pricey), particularly if the weather is pleasant enough to enjoy a drink on the terrace.

The attention to detail was as you would expect in a top hotel, with some lovely additional touches - we returned from a bit of sightseeing to find a tray of chocolate covered strawberries in our room!

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel (went to the Bleeding Heart restaurant off Hatton Garden - absolutely fantastic and well worth a visit), so not sure how good the restaurant is. Our only slight niggle of the entire stay was that we chose to take breakfast in our room and to say it was lukewarm would be kind! I guess we sacrificed heat for a bit of privacy, but would take the trip downstairs next time!

The hotel isn't cheap, but good things in London rarely are (I've lived and worked here for 8 years so feel qualified to make that comment!), and based on our experience it deserves it's good reputation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The pictures you see on the hotel websites are usually different than in person. This was not, exactly like the pictures online. Awesome experience! Rooms very clean and large. Great location to the Underground, London Eye, restaurants/shops, etc. A wonderful staff of people. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. They were so accomodating. For my first trip abroad, I would do it again in a heartbeat and its because our trip started with such a wonderful experience at this hotel. This is exactly what I thought London would be. The outside of this hotel is just as beautiful as the inside.
Cheerio.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank ShowMeStateGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,873 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#17 of 1,072 in London
2,548 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,072 in London
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,072 in London
4,076 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £200 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing