We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm up to date deluxe hotel in a unique location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #120 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Just got back from a quite stressful but amazing journey to London. Having chosen the Royal Horseguards for its perfect location directly at the Thames, near Embankment and close to the Strand and Musical and Museum district.

Due to a recent refurbishment the hotel is now an up to date 5 star hotel in London and offers 21st century equipment combined with old English charme. All members of staff provide excellent service due to high standards from Guoman Hotels and Preferred Association. Doing business in the Hotel Industry myself I appreciate entering the hotel's doors after a long day in London city and feeling welcome.
My room was equipped with latest technology plus the standard amenities you would expect from a deluxe hotel.

Some points worth noting are:

positive
+ central location at the river front
+ 21st century technologie plus old English charme
+ Highest standards of service throughout the hotel
+ good cost/performance ratio for London

negative
- quite small selection at breakfast buffet
- cleanliness of juice glasses and cutlery at breakfast
- heating problem on check in day (but was fixed immediately after notice)
- some English and International TV channels did not work well, also no Pay TV or Movies on demand

To sum up, this hotel is the right place to stay in London for a short vacation or business trip, offering best services and a unique location and panorama view from some of the rooms. A river side room from floor 6 up is worth every Pound!! Have a nice stay...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IliasOdysseia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Hotel Management at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

On behalf of The Royal Horseguards Hotel - I would like to thank you for your positive remarks highlighting your recent stay with us and for expressing your comments through Tripadvisor.

Your negative comments will certainly be addressed - Constructive feedback is essential and I am happy to here that we were able to resolve your heating issue immediately.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Horseguards Hotels the next time you are visiting London on Leisure or Business.

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,034 - 4,040 of 4,820 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

The staff of this hotel is great. They went out of the way to take great care of us; both when we spent a few days in London before our trip to Greece and when we returned for some chill out time before heading back to reality in the US. We'd asked for a great room, as it was the start of my partner's 50th B-Day trip and we wanted a Thames River view. It was a beautiful, large room with a sitting area and 2 arched windows with the river and the London Eye view, spectacular! The bathroom had heated floors, a large jetted soaker tub with chromatherapy (didn't use it) a nice rainhead shower and two pedestal sinks. I would highly recomend this hotel. they treated us to complementary wine, chocolates and their turndown service delivered ice for my bucket!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relation Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. I am delighted with your feedback and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team and hope you choose to stay at The Royal Horseguards again.

Guest Realtion Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We booked this hotel through Delta airlines vacations. The bulding is beautiful in a perfect location for walking to West End theatres, museums, sight seeing and the tube. Staff is professional and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. The room itself was the most thoughtfully designed I've ever encountered. Lighted ample closets, robes and slippers, large bath with heated floors and towel bar, large windows, comfortable bed, french press coffee, tea pot and cookies. There was even an umbrella available to borrow. We were fortunate to have a room overlooking the Thames and London Eye. Our first trip to London, and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relation Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The fact that we chose to go back to the Royal Horseguards so soon says it all really.
We enjoyed it so much last time that we booked again for a mid week sightseeing trip.

Check-in was less friendly than last time, the chap was not very forthcoming at all which is a bit of a shame. The first impression is important and if this had been our first visit I would have felt more upset by this.

Our room was fantastic, I think we may have been upgraded to a king room with a view but I am not sure as we weren't told at check in. The room was big, and the bathroom had a full length window with a view of the Thames- impressive!

I did notice the noise from the trains going in and out of Charing Cross station this time, although when we were on the 7th floor last time I didn't. If noise bothers you, maybe pack earplugs. I certainly wouldn't let this stop me staying there!

I have to make a special mention of the concierge team, they are so gracious and pleasant and have helped to make our stay special both times.

This would always be our first choice of hotel when we visit London.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relation Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Thank you for your review on your repeat stay at The Royal Horseguards. I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with your bedroom and the service concierge provided you. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the check in process, I will be sure to pass on your comments to the relevant manager to reiterate to our staff the importance of first impressions and customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London

Kind Regards

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Just returned from London , staying at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. Im so very pleased we decided to stay at this hotel. Its a beautifull Immaculate ,very tastefully decorated hotel. The staff very polite and proffesional.

Our room was large with lovely dark wood furnishings . Very comfortable bed and lovely bed linen.

The windows taking up the whole wall with lovely heavy curtains .

Bathroom quite small but not a problem. T.V. on the wall beside the bath.

We had breakfast in the dinning room the first day then decided to have room service the next two days ,which I would recommend. . The breakfast was very good . Loved the Cumberland sausages.

We ate in the dinning room one night . The food and service excellant. Lovely cocktail bar just beside smart dining room.

Really I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. For me it was perfect. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newcastletom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relation Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, your comments are valuable as they give prospective customers a feel for our hotel and the service we offer. I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed in a wonderful, large, first floor room which, although it didn't have a river view, had lovely windows which stretched across the full length of the wall and looked onto a balcony above the hotel entrance.
Everything in the room was top quality and every need was catered for, from state of the art music system to wardrobes which had internal lighting activated as the doors opened.
All the furnishings, carpet, fitments etc. were tasteful and immaculate.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant, which, like the rest of the hotel, was luxurious and comfortable but with no hint of pretension.
We had a lovely evening meal, no need to stray off the table de hote, the choice was good and the food was presented well and tasted gorgeous.
We used the tube to travel round London to see the usual sites and found that we were very central for everything. The real beauty of the hotel's location, though, is that it is very quiet here, nestled amongst some of the most wonderful buildings in Whitehall.
Ask the concierge to let you see the staircase in Number One Whitehall (the adjoining function rooms) it really is spectacular.
All this and very the pleasant staff, made it a very memorable stay for us ,and one that I hope to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizTowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relation Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, your comments are valuable as they give prospective customers a feel for our hotel and the service we offer. I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My 2nd visit to Royal Horseguards for London New Years Day Parade--fabulous! Wonderful staff, room appointments, English Breakfast, comfort & elegance--the whole package! Loved it--can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieQuaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2010

Thank you for your comments on the TripAdvisor web site subsequent to your stay in January.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvement of our service standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the future.

Thank you,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,078 in London
4,059 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,078 in London
3,294 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,078 in London
3,042 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,078 in London
4,336 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,078 in London
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £163 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing