We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Great view, Small bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #103 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great view, Small bed”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

The hotel was lovely and the staff really friendly. We were upgraded to room 612 on the 6th floor with a view of the London eye and River. This room has no bath but a walk in shower with built in TV. The room (and most of the hotel) was very modern with a personal doorbell, Ipod docking station, and mini bar. The only negative about the room was the small princess bed, if you are travelling alone this would be fine but as a couple it was too small to sleep comfortably. We ate in the restaurant which was gorgeous we ate from both the A la Carte and the TDH menu (as I don’t eat much) without a problem. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and so much choice even down to the condiments.
The Embankment tube station was less than a 5 min walk away so very convenient.
Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesspnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Thank you for submitting your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards.

Your comments regarding the bedroom allocated to you have been noted.

We were delighted to read your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to share your experience and we hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,047
    970
    314
    130
    52
See reviews for
680
2,273
133
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The positives are that this hotel is well situated for views of the Thames, Central London and the Millennium Eye. It is clean and the staff are very pleasant and polite. Top marks to the Concierge and the Doorman who were excellent. One request for room service was dealt with very quickly. The room was clean and the bedding fresh. Good air conditioning unit but a bit noisy although you could switch it off. The shower was good and a TV screen was fitted into the shower wall.
The negatives are that whilst we expect to pay London Prices we also expect Five Star service and accommodation. The Double Deluxe room was very small and the bed seemed to be incredibly small for a double. There was just about enough room to get around the end of the bed. The pillows were like concrete.
We did not eat in the restaurant but ate light meals in the bar and lounge. In the club sandwich my wife found a a large piece of cling film; in the chicken sandwich having requested no mustard it was served with mustard and we couldn't get the staff to understand what we wanted. The bread was awful, pappy and tasteless. Breakfast was terrible - for a five star hotel with two rosettes I expected fresh food. We didn't get any with perhaps the exception of the fried eggs which were a lovely deep yellow/orange colour. The scrambled eggs could not have been made with the same eggs as they were a pale washed out yellow. I had prunes and they still had stones in them and it was almost impossible to get the flesh off - I had to leave them.
Afternoon tea was just as bad. The finger sandwiches were made of the same pappy tasteless bread as before and had also been pre-made as they were dry. The cucumber was too thick and had not been peeled. The ham was thin and 'plastic'. The jam for the cream tea was eventually brought to the table, having previously been forgotten, in tiny sealed glass jam jars instead of in a dish was truly unforgivable for a five star hotel.
We understand the hotel has recently undergone a make over and the decor was very nice but the service, whilst delivered by polite staff, was very poor. This was not a five star experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueanddaveEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Thank you for submitting your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Please let me reassure you that your concerns have been noted and any necessary action taken to improve our services.

I was however, pleased to note your positive comments and once again thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed at the Royal Horseguards for my wife's birthday last weekend. Totally enjoyed the experience. The room was exceptional with GREAT views across the river to the London Eye and beyond. Stayed on the eigth floor in an Exec Room with view. Well worth the money. The staff were fantastic very polite and attentive. Breakfast was also very good and all items were replenished regularly. Very close to theatre land and easy walking distance to some theatres. Cant really say much more other than we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Thank you for submitting your feedback via TripAdvisor following your visit to The Royal Horseguards.

We were delighted to read your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Booked the Royal Horseguards to spend Valentine's Night with my girlfriend.
A beautiful hotel - we had a view of the River Thames and were able to sleep at night looking at the lights of the London Eye... absolutely beautiful.
Rooms were absolutely beautiful - we had a television in the shower and an ipod dock in the room which played music through speakers at the back of the headboard on the bed.
Very classey and a fantastatic stay.
(Staff were very friendly. I also left my phone charger in the room and within 4 days they had sent it to me)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
We were delighted to read your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Horseguards.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Stayed at Royal Horseguards Feb 2010, we got the tube from Kings X to the Embankment , you cannot miss the hotel from the tube station.
First impressions of the hotel is 'Wow'!! The grounds and the building look like a palace. Little confusing as the entrance is round the back of the hotel.
The check in was quick and pleasant, receptionist offerered to book us a taxi for the evening and said doorman would carry our bags.
Don't get me wrong our room was lovely and clean, the bathroom was all marble wih plasma in the huge shower (nice touch), heated flooring in the bathroom, the mini bar was fully stocked (very expensive) plasma tele on the wall, however...after paying nearly £200 a night for a premier double room i expected a better view.! The hotel is on the embankment and you can see the thames,london eye,etc. Our room was at the back of the hotel so all we could see was the next building and construction work.
The hotel location is perfect and we walked 15mins to the Lyceum theatre that evening.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Thank you for feedback via TripAdvisor following your visit to The Royal Horseguards.

We were delighted to that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to share your comments.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights ( March 3 - 10) and overall were pleased with our accomodations. Our first night we stayed in a very small room with view with two single beds. The next day switched to a room with view and king sized bed (originally requested) and were quite pleased. There are definately sound-proofing improvements that need to be made as we could hear activity/voices from the adjacent room. Also, beware there is major construction going on in front of the hotel. The location is excellent and our room was kept very clean. The lobby should be upgraded as it requires some updating. Business center was lacking, process to access internet was cumbersome. Overall we would not consider this a 5 star hotel but would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHSLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Royal Horseguards. We have noted your comments and will obviously endeavour to take any relevant action.
Please do not hesitate to contact Reception for assistance with internet access or any other queries you may have.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to add your feedback to TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

What a charming, fabulous place to stay! I booked a 5 night stay for my first trip to London, after receiving quite a nice discount offer thru a Preferred Hotels newsletter. Although I requested a very early check-in as my flight from the US arrived at 7:00 AM, I was throughly prepared to drop luggage with the concierge and check in later. I was very pleasantly surprised that my room was available, and I received an upgrade to a river view room. The room was beautiful! 2 sets of French doors leading to a balcony with a view of the Thames. The doors had cable locks on them so that I couldn't actually go on to the balcony - a disappointment, but I certainly understand the saftey concerns. The staff was very friendly and helpful, providing directions and candid suggestions for "must see" and "save it for later" expeditions. The rainfall shower in the bathroom was amazing. The hotel is central to many shops and attractions. I had only two very slight disappointments during my stay. The first was that the service in the lobby bar was poor and the prices very high - 11.50 for a martini! Secondly, the last two nights that I was there, I had neighbors who were enthustically intimate throughout the night. Rather than mentioning to hotel management, I slipped a note under the door at 5:00 AM the morning that I left saying "you might like to know that the walls have no soundproofing" , signed with a smiley face. I would certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddyRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback on the TripAdvisor homepage subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your first stay with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel and have taken on board your comments regarding the soundproofing of the bedrooms.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the TripAdvisor website and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Royal Horseguards Hotel in the not too far distance.

Thank you,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,871 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing