We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class with a Top Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #121 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here for four nights and was not disappointed. Having stayed in many top class hotels I would rate this as 5 Star.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We were offrered an upgrade for another 30 pounds per night and took that.
The room had a view over the river and whilst not large it was adequate. The bathroom was very good with heated towel racks and heated floor. WiFi was free in the room.
Breakfast was first class - and one morning we were asked if we wanted to sit in the sun outside. The staff here were more efficient than friendly - but it was busy.
This hotel enjoys a top location just 50 metres from an Underground station but within walking distance of many attractions.
All of the staff from the doorman to the congierge could not do enough for us.
I would have no hesitation going back - and would suggest that it is a First Class Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dannyg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor web site subsequent to your recent stay at the hotel.

we apreciate you taking the time to put such wounderful comments of the hotel and your stay.
The hotel and its staff look forward to greeting you at the hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,083 - 4,089 of 4,920 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2010

Stayed here for one evening for our wedding anniversary and can say in all honesty that this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in, great location for the West End theatres and enjoyed catching Jersey Boys, a bit of sightseeing and the wife loved Harrods, all very easy with the tube station just a stones throw from the hotel. The only negative issue we experienced was over breakfast, whilst checking in we were told what time breakfast was served, I explained that it was not included in my booking but was informed that it was, I did ask the receptionist to double check which she did and it was confirmed that breakfast was included, when checking out I was presented with a bill approximately £50 higher than expected which was for the two breakfasts, this charge was removed after I explained what I was told at check in but I did have to suffer some suspicious looks and whispered discussions between staff and management which was a little uncomfortable. However, this incident could not spoil what was a very enjoyable and well needed break and we are looking to return for this years anniversary if I can find another reasonable deal later this year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danfire70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advsor web site subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards hotel.

please accept our apoliges for any discomfort you felt whist checking out over the breakfast charge, and asure you that it is never our atention to make guests fell this way.
also let me thank you for your very posative construtive feedback that you gave us.

This is vital to asuring that we give the best service we can. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We loved this hotel. It’s location is perfect. Walking distance to the a lot of the major attractions (i.e. The London Eye, The National Gallery, Westminster Abbey), and 2 tube stations. Our king room was moderately priced, and include breakfast and wi-fi. The bathroom was a bit small, but they made up for that by putting a nice, deep, jacuzzi tube with a television. The only problem I had was with a desk clerk who was rude. But, everyone else I encountered during my 4 night stay, were pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackChickOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the TripAdvisor homepage subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We are deeply sorry to hear that you feel that one of our receptionist did not have the right attitude towards you. However, we are delighted to hear that apart from this isolated incident you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We booked two rooms at the RH so spend time with our friends shopping in London and to have a Christmas meal out. when we got here they could not find the second reservation, the male Italian receptionist was very off, and kept is waiting for over 45 minutes to see if he could find the reservation, that we had paid for in full in advance and gave him all the confirmations as evidence.

In the end he put our friends in the pokiest tiny little room next to the lift with a window looking out at a wall where there was a generator noise going all night. His attitude was disgraceful and no apology for the delay or the room.

In the end we wrote complaining as it really left a bad taste in our mouths.
May I suggest if you have any problems with your room or the staff that you raise it straight away with the duty manager, so they can deal with it.

I felt this was over priced for what you got. If you are staying there, always request to be higher up if you are facing the river Thames as the noise from the road is terrible,

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thefiveyeargang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

I was disappointed to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Please allow me to apologise that you found a member of our staff to be unfriendly and unwelcoming, this is not acceptable and has been passed to the management team who will ensure further training is given to our teams so they understand the importance of first impressions and customer services. Once agian, please accept our apologies, we do hope this will not discourage you from choosing our hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The entire experience was excellent. The location is superb - situated on Whitehall Place, The hotel is close to the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey. Transport too is easy with the Embankment station close by.
This charming hotel offers all the requisite facilities but does not have a swimming pool. However, with so much to do in London, who has the time to take a swim.
An ideal hotel if you want to be in central London, with all the comforts, yet away from chaos. Some of the rooms have exquisite views of the London Eye.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V0yageur001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2010

Thank you for your review and your positive feedback of the Royal Horseguards Hotel on the TripAdvisor homepage.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time in London and have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We booked a junior suite for our 2 night honeymoon and were looking forwrd to our stay. To be welcomed so warmly and then upgraded to the Royal Horseguards Suite was unexpected bit very welcomed. The service we received from all members of staff was of the highest caliber. The afternoon tea was a treat and a must for anyone in London. The suite was perfect. Being a picky surveyor I was amazed as I found nothing out of place or in poor condition. You could even tell that the uplighters were cleaned everyday. The view over the Thames and London Eye was amazing! We even wrote a note to the hotel to express our gratitude! Can't wait to return as thi is a hotel that makes you feel special and looks after you every part of your stay!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2010

Thank you for your feedback on the TripAdvisor wesbsite subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to make you honeymoon a bit more special and that you felt very well looked after. We are certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This was our first stay in the hotel and we were not disappointed. The room was big and beautifully decorated. The air conditioning was the most efficient and quiet that I have encountered and easily controlled. The tv in the bathroom was a nice touch. Our only issues were that the bed was exceptionally hard and the light from the telephone was VERY bright which I found annoying when trying to sleep. However overall the hotel is in a great location for sightseeing and theatre trips with great views of the Thames. The building is well appointed and the staff were friendly. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniepiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel on the TripAdvisor homepage.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your first stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel and would be delighted to welcome you back in the non to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#55 of 1,081 in London
3,413 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £194 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing