We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #592 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Reasonably well maintained, corridors not so clean, located in a busy street, but you can't hear much noise. Conveniently located close to Paddington train station with express train connection to Heathrow airport. Reasonably good breakfast. Wellness area is rather poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Alex,
Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to review our hotel. Your comments are surely appreciated and duly noted. The wellness center does not receive feedback very often, so you making a point to review that is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our services in the future.
Kind Regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,963 - 3,969 of 4,999 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Hilton London Metropole is a good, not great, hotel. Located close by Paddington Station, the hotel is very large and pretty well-run; both times we stayed there (beginning/end of a tour), it was packed to the gills and yet things ran smoothly. We ate in both the restaurants -- the first-floor one for both breakfast buffet and one dinner, and in the Minako Asian fusion restaurant on the 23rd floor -- excellent view, very good food. The food in both restaurants was good. Our room was fine -- a spacious triple. I'm not sure I'd choose to stay there again (to me, it's a very American-style hotel, and I'd prefer something more, well, "English"), but for what it is, it's fine.

Room Tip: It's a long walk to the rooms in the West wing of the building. Tower rooms are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights in November with a room in the West Tower, which is the "old" section of hotel. Summary as follows:
Room: 22nd floor had good view of city lights but carpet dirty (major stains) and mold in grout of bathroom. Minibar had food left in it and very bad odor. Called desk and they came to remove old food but did nothing about nasty odor. Would not consider putting anything in it or using any of the items. Windows did not close tightly so that police and emergency sirens are loud all night long. Definitely need ear plugs.
Lobby: modern and remodeled.
Neighborhood: Heavy middle eastern influence with many Lebanese and Arabic restaurants nearby. Few old fashioned British Pubs in the area.
Breakfast Buffet: It's spread out nicely with plenty of variety. Very busy all times of the morning.

Room Tip: East Tower is newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisconsinFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear WisconsinFishy,
Thank you so much for your feedback. It seems you were in Tower Wing if you were on the 22nd floor. Our West Wing has only 14 floors, but either way, it is unfortunate to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. From what you mentioned, there definitely lacked an attention to detail and I will surely bring your notes to the attention of our operations team. Coming all the way from the United States you must have been exhausted from the trip and we are sorry to hear your sleeps were less than ideal, however we do hope you enjoyed the hotel's proximity to a good variety of London attractions. With that being said, again, all of your comments are surely appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great location with some tremendous staff. If you are a wheelchair user make sure that the hotel knows and that it provides you with a room in which a shower chair is fitted/available... juncowaidnsqweoijfewpojfgjgovweoprjgfowvpejmrgvpojwemgpoemvmnv'i'nvwoij'ioprnvpoiwenjm'pveoiv

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place is so big even staff seem to get lost and give you wrong directions. There is more than one building and no one bothered to tell us? Up to the wrong elevator only to find the key did not work, down again to have a shrugged shoulder kinda attitude and a new room key, this worked but had luggage inside......enough is enough!!!

We asked for someone to meet us on the floor but we were told the manager is busy. Walked down FOR THE SECOND TIME, receptionist points at the manager and she makes us sit and wait.....20 minutes wait we got fed up and went to room by ourselves. We called again at 5.30pm and customer service told us the operations manager is always very busy (while we overheard someone else saying she was actually eating!!!!). No one ever called us that evening, she must have had a long meal......

Breakfast in the morning? Forget it, 30mns queue on a Saturday morning when all you want is to be out and about in London? We quit and went to Starbucks down the road.

All in all, an absolute NO! Bad service, negligent attitude, and managers too busy (eating) to speak to customers.

We are still waiting for someone to apologise and explain why so many issues, we shall wait forever.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in tower and ask for west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliottturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear elliotturner,
Your feedback is more than appreciated and we thank you for taking even more time out of your day to provide us with it. First, yes, the hotel is indeed quite immense and we do our best to provide as much directional signage as possible. Upon checkin you should have been directed to the appropriate lift and if such was not done please accept our sincerest apologies. We are taking the initiative to better train our staff, even those who are not on the floor daily, to be able to effectively help our guests to their desired destination should they be unable to find their way after reception's guidance. I understand your frustrations and if you'd like to further voice your concerns please send an email to my attention at cbs.londonmet@hilton.com.
Kind regards, Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and conclusion of a Globus tour. Our room on the 24th was fine except it smelt of stale cigarettes. It was small but suited our needs for the night. No wait at breakfast the next morning although we were there quite early. No waiting at reception for check in or checkout . We stayed for 2 nights at the conclusion of our tour and the room was much bigger and better. At breakfast the dining room was packed so the dining room on the 3rd floor was utilised so no problem there. We were able to use express checkout so no waiting. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Greg196,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and recognition of our services. We hope you enjoyed London and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Reception tried to be efficient -but failed. Gave me a room key for room on ninth floor.
The door would not open. Back down to reception - re-registered the key.
Back up to ninth floor. Door opened - to a mess and someone else's cases and belongings.
Back down to reception - now gave me a key to a nearby room. It worked!
Went into a very small room with no view - but with bath and shower.
Next morning - only luke warm water not warm enough for a bath, shower or shave.
No instructions in room how to get to both dining rooms. Arrived for breakfast (9.30 a.m. to find a long queue - (We had been warned by our bus driver).
Long wait for bacon. Sorry sir we have no white bread left. My fried egg was unbelievable. I could pick it up like a frisbee (but not eat it).
All told a very disappointing experience - more like a day in a refugee camp.
Would only stay here again as part of a party of friends.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorksopTarbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Worksop Tarbaby,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is unfortunate to hear you had such an experience at check-in. We do our due diligence to ensure our guests have a smooth journey from start to finish but there are the cases when we have a hiccup with our technology or facilities. It is good that these issues are voiced so as we can better attend to the issue at hand. Again, your feedback is much appreciated and I have relayed your concerns to the appropriate departments.
Kind Regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#409 of 1,078 in London
4,068 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#252 of 1,078 in London
2,526 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#166 of 1,078 in London
4,202 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#515 of 1,078 in London
4,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#349 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £117 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing