We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #590 of 1,068 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Since 2 years, I'm staying in Hinton Metropole Hotel for my business trips to London. The hotel was renovated last year and this year I felt that I'm staying in an hotel with great service perfect location and clean rooms. Hotel is located very close to Paddington station with a view of London eye for upper floors' room on the tower. The breakfast is satisfactory and all the staff is very friendly. They're always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Ozded,
We take much pride in our facilities and your comments are very much appreciated. As we do serve both the business and leisure traveller, it is great to see you representing our business traveller, and your review and experience is very representative as to why we are a favoured business hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,498
    1,148
    620
    429
See reviews for
1,450
935
206
1,353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Reasonably well maintained, corridors not so clean, located in a busy street, but you can't hear much noise. Conveniently located close to Paddington train station with express train connection to Heathrow airport. Reasonably good breakfast. Wellness area is rather poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Alex,
Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to review our hotel. Your comments are surely appreciated and duly noted. The wellness center does not receive feedback very often, so you making a point to review that is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our services in the future.
Kind Regards,
Margaret Heneghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Hilton London Metropole is a good, not great, hotel. Located close by Paddington Station, the hotel is very large and pretty well-run; both times we stayed there (beginning/end of a tour), it was packed to the gills and yet things ran smoothly. We ate in both the restaurants -- the first-floor one for both breakfast buffet and one dinner, and in the Minako Asian fusion restaurant on the 23rd floor -- excellent view, very good food. The food in both restaurants was good. Our room was fine -- a spacious triple. I'm not sure I'd choose to stay there again (to me, it's a very American-style hotel, and I'd prefer something more, well, "English"), but for what it is, it's fine.

Room Tip: It's a long walk to the rooms in the West wing of the building. Tower rooms are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights in November with a room in the West Tower, which is the "old" section of hotel. Summary as follows:
Room: 22nd floor had good view of city lights but carpet dirty (major stains) and mold in grout of bathroom. Minibar had food left in it and very bad odor. Called desk and they came to remove old food but did nothing about nasty odor. Would not consider putting anything in it or using any of the items. Windows did not close tightly so that police and emergency sirens are loud all night long. Definitely need ear plugs.
Lobby: modern and remodeled.
Neighborhood: Heavy middle eastern influence with many Lebanese and Arabic restaurants nearby. Few old fashioned British Pubs in the area.
Breakfast Buffet: It's spread out nicely with plenty of variety. Very busy all times of the morning.

Room Tip: East Tower is newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisconsinFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear WisconsinFishy,
Thank you so much for your feedback. It seems you were in Tower Wing if you were on the 22nd floor. Our West Wing has only 14 floors, but either way, it is unfortunate to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. From what you mentioned, there definitely lacked an attention to detail and I will surely bring your notes to the attention of our operations team. Coming all the way from the United States you must have been exhausted from the trip and we are sorry to hear your sleeps were less than ideal, however we do hope you enjoyed the hotel's proximity to a good variety of London attractions. With that being said, again, all of your comments are surely appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Margaret Heneghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great location with some tremendous staff. If you are a wheelchair user make sure that the hotel knows and that it provides you with a room in which a shower chair is fitted/available... juncowaidnsqweoijfewpojfgjgovweoprjgfowvpejmrgvpojwemgpoemvmnv'i'nvwoij'ioprnvpoiwenjm'pveoiv

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place is so big even staff seem to get lost and give you wrong directions. There is more than one building and no one bothered to tell us? Up to the wrong elevator only to find the key did not work, down again to have a shrugged shoulder kinda attitude and a new room key, this worked but had luggage inside......enough is enough!!!

We asked for someone to meet us on the floor but we were told the manager is busy. Walked down FOR THE SECOND TIME, receptionist points at the manager and she makes us sit and wait.....20 minutes wait we got fed up and went to room by ourselves. We called again at 5.30pm and customer service told us the operations manager is always very busy (while we overheard someone else saying she was actually eating!!!!). No one ever called us that evening, she must have had a long meal......

Breakfast in the morning? Forget it, 30mns queue on a Saturday morning when all you want is to be out and about in London? We quit and went to Starbucks down the road.

All in all, an absolute NO! Bad service, negligent attitude, and managers too busy (eating) to speak to customers.

We are still waiting for someone to apologise and explain why so many issues, we shall wait forever.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in tower and ask for west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliottturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear elliotturner,
Your feedback is more than appreciated and we thank you for taking even more time out of your day to provide us with it. First, yes, the hotel is indeed quite immense and we do our best to provide as much directional signage as possible. Upon checkin you should have been directed to the appropriate lift and if such was not done please accept our sincerest apologies. We are taking the initiative to better train our staff, even those who are not on the floor daily, to be able to effectively help our guests to their desired destination should they be unable to find their way after reception's guidance. I understand your frustrations and if you'd like to further voice your concerns please send an email to my attention at cbs.londonmet@hilton.com.
Kind regards, Margaret Heneghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyabram, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and conclusion of a Globus tour. Our room on the 24th was fine except it smelt of stale cigarettes. It was small but suited our needs for the night. No wait at breakfast the next morning although we were there quite early. No waiting at reception for check in or checkout . We stayed for 2 nights at the conclusion of our tour and the room was much bigger and better. At breakfast the dining room was packed so the dining room on the 3rd floor was utilised so no problem there. We were able to use express checkout so no waiting. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Greg196,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and recognition of our services. We hope you enjoyed London and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Regards,
Margaret Heneghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#395 of 1,068 in London
3,863 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#257 of 1,068 in London
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Hilton London Kensington
#507 of 1,068 in London
4,156 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,068 in London
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing