We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young Irish Couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #593 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last January, a very nice hotel the Hilton Metropole is situated in a very ethnically diverse area (Edgeware Rd) which my wife and I really liked as there is such a diverse range of restaurants nearby and the tube is only two minutes walk away so very convenient for seeing the sights, compared to other similar hotels in London the price was quite reasonable and the breakfast was all you could expect and want before a day of hitting the streets of London;) I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room on as high a floor as possible for awesome views over central london,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonWhiteIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,963 - 3,969 of 5,005 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights from 30th November and were extremely disappointed. We were given a room in the tower which was not fit for purpose. The carpet was filthy and badly stained, the air con did not work, the bathroom was very shabby and there was no hot water available in the morning. We requested a change of room and had to wait for someone to check out as the hotel was full. We were moved in the afternoon to the west wing which was much better and seems to be a newer part of the hotel. There was absolutely no comparison between the 2 rooms although they cost the same. If you have to stay here insist on a room in the west wing. There was a long queue for breakfast throughout the morning. When we were checking out everyone else at the reception area seemed to be complaining. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the West Wing not the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Tim,
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. It is unfortunate to hear you experienced a less than impressive stay and we will take your comments seriously as we strive to improve our services. Noting your comments about the difference in the rooms- with 1054 hotel rooms there are slight differences in size and they are represented online as so, however the hot water, cleanliness and air-conditioning issues should not have occured- whether in the Tower Wing or West. I am glad reception was able to accomodate your room change request in due time and wish you many safe travels and comfortable stays in the future.
Kind regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

After a tiring trans-Atlantic flight my husband and I arrived at the hotel to be told our room was not available, but would be given a king-size bed overlooking Hyde Park when it was ready. No big deal. We took the opportunity to start sight seeing. When we checked in again we were given a very small room. No king-size bed. No view of Hyde Park. No big deal. We understand Europe has different standards which we respect. BUT I draw the line with cleanliness. The bed offered a coverlet that was filthy. It appeared to have never been cleaned. It had visible food droppings, at least I presume it was food. The carpet looked the same with splotches of matter that had not been cleaned from it. After nothing short of a HUGE hassle, trying to be firm, but friendly and not a finicky American, we were given a "complementary" upgrade. (Which I learned later we were supposed to have anyway). The new room was spacious with clean bed linens and a clean floor. However, the non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Intense, strong, stale smoke. One of the bath towels smelled like an ashtray. I didn't have the energy to confront the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saudiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear SaudieSue,
We greatly appreciate hearing about your recent stay with us, as it brought to light an extreme issue that will be dealt with accordingly. This is unacceptable on a few levels and it will be reported to the appropriate supervisor. I am happy you eventually received the room you were promised and do hope you had a good experience in London on your holiday. Thank you for your feedback and again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Since 2 years, I'm staying in Hinton Metropole Hotel for my business trips to London. The hotel was renovated last year and this year I felt that I'm staying in an hotel with great service perfect location and clean rooms. Hotel is located very close to Paddington station with a view of London eye for upper floors' room on the tower. The breakfast is satisfactory and all the staff is very friendly. They're always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Ozded,
We take much pride in our facilities and your comments are very much appreciated. As we do serve both the business and leisure traveller, it is great to see you representing our business traveller, and your review and experience is very representative as to why we are a favoured business hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Reasonably well maintained, corridors not so clean, located in a busy street, but you can't hear much noise. Conveniently located close to Paddington train station with express train connection to Heathrow airport. Reasonably good breakfast. Wellness area is rather poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Alex,
Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to review our hotel. Your comments are surely appreciated and duly noted. The wellness center does not receive feedback very often, so you making a point to review that is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our services in the future.
Kind Regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Hilton London Metropole is a good, not great, hotel. Located close by Paddington Station, the hotel is very large and pretty well-run; both times we stayed there (beginning/end of a tour), it was packed to the gills and yet things ran smoothly. We ate in both the restaurants -- the first-floor one for both breakfast buffet and one dinner, and in the Minako Asian fusion restaurant on the 23rd floor -- excellent view, very good food. The food in both restaurants was good. Our room was fine -- a spacious triple. I'm not sure I'd choose to stay there again (to me, it's a very American-style hotel, and I'd prefer something more, well, "English"), but for what it is, it's fine.

Room Tip: It's a long walk to the rooms in the West wing of the building. Tower rooms are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights in November with a room in the West Tower, which is the "old" section of hotel. Summary as follows:
Room: 22nd floor had good view of city lights but carpet dirty (major stains) and mold in grout of bathroom. Minibar had food left in it and very bad odor. Called desk and they came to remove old food but did nothing about nasty odor. Would not consider putting anything in it or using any of the items. Windows did not close tightly so that police and emergency sirens are loud all night long. Definitely need ear plugs.
Lobby: modern and remodeled.
Neighborhood: Heavy middle eastern influence with many Lebanese and Arabic restaurants nearby. Few old fashioned British Pubs in the area.
Breakfast Buffet: It's spread out nicely with plenty of variety. Very busy all times of the morning.

Room Tip: East Tower is newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisconsinFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear WisconsinFishy,
Thank you so much for your feedback. It seems you were in Tower Wing if you were on the 22nd floor. Our West Wing has only 14 floors, but either way, it is unfortunate to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. From what you mentioned, there definitely lacked an attention to detail and I will surely bring your notes to the attention of our operations team. Coming all the way from the United States you must have been exhausted from the trip and we are sorry to hear your sleeps were less than ideal, however we do hope you enjoyed the hotel's proximity to a good variety of London attractions. With that being said, again, all of your comments are surely appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#409 of 1,078 in London
4,069 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#252 of 1,078 in London
2,527 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#165 of 1,078 in London
4,203 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#515 of 1,078 in London
4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#350 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £116 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing