We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of 2 stories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #592 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I travel to London quite often. Normally stay at either the Hilton Paddington or Hilton Metropole. The Metropole has a much better bar/leisure area but there is one big problem with the Metropole. The rooms in the Tower wing are shockingly poor. Borderline dirty, very small, bathrooms very basic. Even more troubling is that I am a Hilton Diamond member and got put into one of these rooms on my current stay. Have contacted reception and let them know that if I am ever sent to the tower wing again I will never come back. The hotel is pricey enough, without staying in rooms that would be considered way to bad to be at a Best Western. So a tricky evaluation. West wing very good, east wing ok, but the tower wing is shockingly poor. The sad part is that the hotel hs such great lounge service that this might ruin it for me.

Room Tip: Great place, unless you are put in the tower wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbjonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,659 - 3,665 of 5,012 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is average at best. The rooms are clean and quite spacious but that's something you would expect with such a big hotel. Expensive though for what isn't much better than a premier inn... We had the breakfast which was WAY overpriced anyway and was absolutely awful. I paid £35 for two continental breakfasts which had a rock hard, stone cold croissant and warm orange juice.

A comfortable nights sleep and a train station is just round the corner. Oxford Street is a short walk away. So all in all a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went down to London for the first time and by choosing this hotel we really did ourselves a favor. Great hotel, clean rooms, perhaps a bit disappointing breakfast however an excellent service, especially the receptionist Brando whom happily helped us with whatever silly problems we came with. Thank you Hilton London Metropole you made our trip even better!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berkan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor upon your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.
We are extremely glad that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, we appreciate your feedback. We will certainly share your kind words with Brando about his helpfulness and overall service.
We hope you visit us again in the near future for another amazing experience!

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a short stay in this Hilton hotel on a Sunday evening. All of the staff were incredibly professional, friendly and wanted to help to make our stay as relaxing as possible. We stayed in a Superior Double Queen room that had plenty of space and was amazingly quiet considering it was facing the main road. We ordered bath rooms and extra tea/coffee from guest services which both arrived very promptly. There were slight delays (minutes) at check in, although this was in part due to our late booking and the staff were incredibly apologetic and offered us a gesture of good will for the wait. Would definitely stay again for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Go for the West Wing - nice rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good location ,expensive rooms,expensive bars breakfast not included in standard room rates.Long queues at check in and baggage room.visited hotel for a function nearby and due to late allocation of rooms had to make a hurried change after arriving in good time to attend, apology made by hotel.Over priced everthing no better than a Premier Inn.
Steve
Warrington

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was disappointing when compared to other Hilton's at which I have stayed. Although the rooms are clean and comfortable with good views, the dining room leaves quite a bit to be desired. Breakfast service was very slow, and we had to ask for coffee each morning. The one night we had the dinner buffet, my fish had been cooked to n the consistency of paste, and they ran out of some of the items on the buffet. If you stay there, I suggest you east elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallysue1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Bad mattress, faceless industrial service staff, tiny rooms with no drawer storage and very busy. Do not even think about additional services or you will be charged. Fire akarms at night were a nice touch too. Only good features are the breakfast (very busy) and the location close to the underground (on strike for 2 days).

2  Thank cliff s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#416 of 1,077 in London
4,074 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#255 of 1,077 in London
2,529 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#165 of 1,077 in London
4,204 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#517 of 1,077 in London
4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#350 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing