We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a hot shower and calm environment? Keep looking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #582 of 1,088 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Want a hot shower and calm environment? Keep looking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here late April (friends were doing a Globus tour, and they were going to be staying here, so booked room to co-incide with their stay. Unfortunately their tour stayed elsewhere at last minute and I couldn't cancel).

From the street looks fine, nice reception. Staff very helpful BUT - when we got to our room, on third floor, had view of an air conditioning vent. There was no net curtain to pull to block it out, so rang reception and said wasn't prepared to look at that for three days. A one night stopover fine, but not three days, and no net curtain. The staff were very good and upgraded us to a deluxe room on 8th floor. Room much nicer so were happy with that (but still in need of refurbishment).

A VERY busy hotel, always noise and hustle and bustle and not calming at all anywhere. Breakfast was chaotic. Last day there, they were struggling to keep buffet supplied, or plates available - not how I like to start my day in such bedlum. Quality of food was fine, just dirty from spilt juice etc.

The bathroom was clean, but carpet looked very dusty round edges and could do with a spring clean.

My biggest peeve was luke warm/cold showers. A bad way to start the day. Not even any steam! I showered morning and evening, was the same, no matter what time.

Beds hard, pillows lovely and duvets cosy.

Location was good, train stations handy - supermarket across the road, and quick walk and you are on Oxford street and in the shops.

Not the worst I have stayed in, but didn't like the hustle and bustle - when I saw where my friends tour was moved to was envious - hard to believe they were similar price/star rating. That is where I would be staying next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower Wing. Looks like need carpets cleaned and a refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments following your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.
We noted your feedback with regards to the nice reception area and helpfulness of staff. These valuable words will be shared with the team.

On the other hand, we are deeply sorry that in the beginning you were not happy with the room allocation however the team actioned immediately and upgraded you for your comfort.
We also noted your comments about our breakfast. Sometimes, especially in peak hours, the restaurant where the breakfast takes place, experiences queues however our lovely staff strive to offer the best possible service to our entire guests, trying their utmost best to accommodate all requests in a timely manner.

Last but not least, we apologize for the water being cold in the shower. This is not a regular occurrence and we have a specialized Facilities team looking after these issues as soon as they are reported.

We are extremely glad that you decided you would stay with us again in the future and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    1,417
    1,081
    589
    399
See reviews for
1,341
883
198
1,290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel located in the heart of London. Minutes walking from Paddington railway station and from Oxford street. Rooms are very luxuries nor big but it works in comparison to location benefit!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

When checking in I was told the hotel did not have a reservation for me.

My reservation confirmation from my travel company clearly showed I had a reservation although the hotel claimed the travel company had made a mistake. When contacting the travel company they insisted the hotel had made a mistake (I hadn't made a mistake as I had proof in my hand).

The receptionist explained they had no room available in the hotel and checked a couple of sister hotels in the area who also had no room available.

The hotel also explained that they regularly overbook in the understanding that not every one will turn up, they also explained that they also had the right to cancel and offer the room out if a guest has not checked in by 4pm - This would be a concern if you are an international visitor

My evening ended with me having to drive home and miss the Black Tie award ceremony in Central London that I was due to attend

Room Tip: Call ahead and ensure a room is available before you turn up
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Mearnsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.

We would like to profusely apologize for any inconvenience caused upon check in, the fact that your reservation could not be found and there was no room available for you and also that you sadly missed the award ceremony you were meant to attend. Feedback has been provided to the concerned department for their review.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please email our Assistant Operations Manager at: natalia.rivilli@hilton.com.

We really hope that this experience does not refrain you from visiting us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Overall

I constantly travel for work and am in hotels 3-4 nights a week clocking up over 150 room nights last year. I have stayed in the Hilton metropole many many times over the years but this was the first time since the new reception has opened up.

As this is a Hilton product I knew I would be safe, The hotel is right across from the Edgware road tube station. Overall the hotel is quite nice, good location for business travel. The new reception is where the old covered entrance was and is an airy and open space. The new reception feels like the same size as the old one, just in a different place. When you arrive he hotel is always packed so you queue for checkin. Often the HHonours queue can be longer than the normal queue. Once greeted, the process is pretty simple. The 3 towers have all still not been refurbished and would avoid the main tower. I always request the east tower as its closest to the lounge and pool. The west tower is the furthest away but is the most recently decorated. The west wing can get a little noisy as the doors don’t block sound brilliantly. The east wing is the quietest I find and the main tower is where all the cheapest rooms are so the lifts and doors are continually going.
My previous review gives more detail of the facilities

Service
Good service, table service in the bar can be a little slow. Breakfast service is crowded as you’d expect in a hotel this size, but you are greeted at the door and escorted to a table where fresh orange is poured and a hot drinks order is taken.

Food
My favourite place is the sports bar as the new simple menu is nice and well priced. Personally i find the restaurant too slow and quiet for my liking – the place can be mobbed but the restaurant may only have a handful of people in it. Good breakfast choices – standard food as per other hiltons

Value
I stay here on a corporate rate but I have also stayed on private rates. Generally very good value at the lower end which can range from £89-200+ per night. Seems to fill up quickly so book early for cheaper rates..

Sleep Quality
East wing great. West wing OK, Main tower, not so good. .

Cleanliness
Very clean

Location
Great for the city centre and marble arch etc.

Rooms
East wing rooms are either king or twins. The decor is more Scandinavian in feel – lots of pine woods etc. The bathrooms are a little older but the overall room is nice. West wing rooms vary vastly from doubles to family rooms. The are quite long in length and have been done up in the new Hilton brown decor. The new rooms miss plugs by the bed so you cant charge a phone near you as you sleep – small issue but youd think that the room designers would have thought of it. Main Tower rooms are quite tired and I have moved out of a few where the air con has that wierd smell. These feel like the Hilton rooms of the 1990s.

General
Nice clean hotel with good service in a good location. Book the right wing though.

Room Tip: east wing only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback in Tripadvisor following your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel and also for continuously choosing the brand.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel location and the new reception area, recently refurbished. We noted that you prefer our East Wing tower because of its quietness and the fact that is close to the Executive Lounge and LivingWell facilities, and that you enjoy the Sports Bar and its overall service.

Also, thank you for your positive comments with regards to cleanliness of the room, this great feedback will be shared with the concerned department.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I travel to London quite often. Normally stay at either the Hilton Paddington or Hilton Metropole. The Metropole has a much better bar/leisure area but there is one big problem with the Metropole. The rooms in the Tower wing are shockingly poor. Borderline dirty, very small, bathrooms very basic. Even more troubling is that I am a Hilton Diamond member and got put into one of these rooms on my current stay. Have contacted reception and let them know that if I am ever sent to the tower wing again I will never come back. The hotel is pricey enough, without staying in rooms that would be considered way to bad to be at a Best Western. So a tricky evaluation. West wing very good, east wing ok, but the tower wing is shockingly poor. The sad part is that the hotel hs such great lounge service that this might ruin it for me.

Room Tip: Great place, unless you are put in the tower wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbjonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is average at best. The rooms are clean and quite spacious but that's something you would expect with such a big hotel. Expensive though for what isn't much better than a premier inn... We had the breakfast which was WAY overpriced anyway and was absolutely awful. I paid £35 for two continental breakfasts which had a rock hard, stone cold croissant and warm orange juice.

A comfortable nights sleep and a train station is just round the corner. Oxford Street is a short walk away. So all in all a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went down to London for the first time and by choosing this hotel we really did ourselves a favor. Great hotel, clean rooms, perhaps a bit disappointing breakfast however an excellent service, especially the receptionist Brando whom happily helped us with whatever silly problems we came with. Thank you Hilton London Metropole you made our trip even better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor upon your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.
We are extremely glad that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, we appreciate your feedback. We will certainly share your kind words with Brando about his helpfulness and overall service.
We hope you visit us again in the near future for another amazing experience!

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#404 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#241 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#476 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#406 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London NW9 6LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in London
#349 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing