We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th May Bank Holiday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #575 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5th May Bank Holiday Break”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent hotel, room was very spacious clean and tidy. Staff were extremely polite, helpful, professional and friendly, particularly reception for the west side. My daughter who is 9 loved the hotel, breakfast, pool, and lounges, wanted to move in.
Special THANK YOU to EDEM who was absolutely wonderful when we checked in on Sunday, he really made our stay special :>
Will definitely being staying here again, in the near future.
Well done Hilton London Metropole.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Shazia A:

We appreciate the review you posted on our hotel following your stay in May, and sincerely apologise for the lengthy delay in acknowledging it.

It is always lovely to hear our guests had a wonderful time with us and we thank you for taking the time to let us know. We note that you would consider visiting us again and we look forward to that becoming a reality. Be assured we will do all we can to extend the same or a higher quality of service on that occasion.

All the best to you.


Regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    1,447
    1,104
    600
    405
See reviews for
1,374
898
202
1,318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is ideally located as it is only a 10 minute taxi ride to Central London and is on the doorstep of the Edgeware Road tube station so getting about in the capital is a breeze.... However the room that I stayed in (The Tower) looked a bit tired and due for a coat of paint although it was clean and comfortable. The staff were happy to help but I struggled to find any of them with a smile on their face making me feel a bit loathed to ask for help, although when I did it was readily given. A good overall experience however not one to rave about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Peter G:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel following your visit in May. We hope you will accept our apology for the lengthy delay in acknowledging it.

We are pleased that your stay here was satisfactory and you found team members to help whenever needed. It was also great that the location of the hotel and its links to public transport made it convenient for you to move around and do what you needed.

The usual experience for our guests is to find our team very happy and smiling and I am very sorry to note this was not yours. On behalf of the team, I do apologise and hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future. We would like to welcome you again so you can be benefit from our full hospitality.


Regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is clean, the rooms are large, beds comfy, and staff EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. This is the best Hilton property in London. The location is great with an easy walk to Hyde Park and other attractions and the Edgeware tube stop is right out the front door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review.
We are extremely happy that the staff provided the right impression as they work really hard on a daily basis to accommodate all of our guest’s needs.
Also, we are happy that you enjoyed the fantastic location and nearby attractions.
Looking forward to your next visit in the near future!
Yours sincerely,

PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Metropole for the Irish Dance World Championships. The hotel was just OK -- amenities are not what one would expect from a hotel of this size in terms of restaurants, shop, fitness facility, etc. Meeting rooms were nice and of good size. Our hotel room itself was very nice -- clean and modern, very comfortable. Room service was prompt and courteous, but other hotel services (restaurants other than the expensive one on top of the hotel, the concierge) were overwhelmed by the conference, and the common areas were very crowded. The hotel is an easy walk from Paddington Station. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel is not very nice (overlooking the A40 flyover), but we found very nice restaurants and neighborhoods nearby (try the Larrik pub). Great Starbucks half a block away.

Room Tip: There are insufficient elevators for a hotel of this size -- wait times were long. You may want a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-Anne T, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We were delighted to host this years Irish Dancing World Championship. We hope you enjoyed your time in London.

Our chef and room service team were pleased to hear your compliments regarding the service.

We wish you all the best for the next Championships and hope to welcome you back at Hilton London Metropole soon

Regards
PJ Kenny – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here in the beginning of May.
I arrived in the morning around 10 am and asked for a room. The staff didnt even ask my name or who I am straight away said" check in is at 3pm you can leave the luggage at the concierge"! I said not even one more and she laughed in my face saying "NO".
Then they send me to the lounge to have breakfast till i have my room ready. We asked for an omlette and they said go downstairs not even looking at me.
People on the sofa were sleeping and other people looking to find a seat available.
Next day i asked for late check out and they said its fine however at 12 am they checked me out without even checking if I am stil in the hotel or not. When i went to check out they said oooo but you are checked out already. When i questioned why u checked me out the receptionist answer very smile "Oooo sir we are checking out everyone at 12am" .
IF YOU LOOKING FOR A TRIP TO LONDON AND U HAVE IN PLAN SPENDING SOME TIME IN THE HOTEL FORGET ABOUT THIS HOTEL GO TO A B&B , much better.
This hotel is a FACTORY! No one cares about you, you feel like you are just a number , a natural figure for the hotel revenue!!
You destroyed hilton reputation!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cezar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

Firstly, I would like to apologize for all the inconveniencies caused upon check in, from the poor check in service and staff attitude to the fact that you asked for late check out and it was not actioned accordingly.

We are very sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory but we are eager to make changes to avoid future disappointments. Your valuable feedback will be shared with our team in the light of improve the overall service and treat all of our guests the way they deserve: to be respected and taken care of.

We really hope this experience does not refrain you from coming back to our property and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future to optimistically change your mind with regards to our service.

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed her for a business conference over 2 days. The facilities were very good, and the staff were very attentive when their service was required. The buffet food they put on at lunchtimes was very well presented, with a great choice of crusty filled rolls and Indian nibbles. The room we had on the fifth floor, was long and thin (had 3 single beds in it). The bathroom too small, but then you're not spending a lot of time in the bathroom. Drinks at the bar were in line with Central London prices, quite expensive. Breakfast had a choice of continental and tractional English, which was very nice. Location was great, just a 10 minute walk to Mable Arch. Would definitely consider staying here on a leisure visit, if I could afford it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that dosn't have a small bathroom, if that's likely to cause you a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review in Tripadvisor following your stay at London Hilton Metropole.
We are extremely glad that you noted the helpfulness of our staff and the quality of the service provided. The team will be very happy when we share these kind comments of appreciation for their hard work.
Also that you enjoyed the buffet at lunchtime as well as the breakfast options.
We are sure we will welcome you back very soon for another unforgettable experience!

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the way back from Paris. Firstly they didn't have our reservation. They did sort this out and we got a room with a great view of the marylebone flyover!

The rooms are ok but nothing special. The restaurant on the ground floor isn't very well maintained and the service is very slow. Took them 15 minutes to take a drink order. The food was good but overpriced.

At breakfast the next morning they only had 1 of us down for breakfast and were initially adamant that we would have to sign for one and sort it out with reception. I was then accused of brig rude just because I asked to speak to a manager. Eventually a manager was called who sorted it out promptly and efficiently. Was it worth the hassle. Definitely not! He breakfast was the worst I have ever had. The food was generally overcomes and Luke warm not hot. The seats in the part of the restaurant that we wee in for breakfast were filthy.

Over all the restaurant seems to cater for tourists who don't know any better.

I would suggest you book into one of the other hotels in London and give this one a miss

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor from your last experience in London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant check in time during which your reservation was not found; however we are glad that eventually you were promptly assisted and a nice room with a view was allocated to you.

As well, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience about the number of guests with the breakfast inclusive. This information should have been updated at the same check in time. This is part of the procedure and we apologize for the shortfalls.

Rest assure all your valuable feedback will be shared with the concerned department, to implement an action plan to avoid recurrence.

Thank you for choosing London Hilton Metropole hotel during you stay in London and we hope that this experience does not prevent you from returning to our property soon.
We would be delighted to have you back and show you an improved level of service.

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#404 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#254 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#487 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#377 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in London
#345 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing