We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Five Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #580 of 1,068 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“High Five Hilton”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My other half and I got a great deal on a standard double here on lastminute.com - the hotel was easy to find, located so close to the tube lines you can see the hotel from the tube entrance. The check in staff were lovely and upgraded us to a king size room for no extra cost and were extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room located in the tower on the 13th floor was beautiful, clean, spacious, with gorgeous complimentary nibbles - but a little hot, the only downfall was the air con system needs updating as slow to kick in and we ended up having the window as open as we could have for a while. After a night out we returned and made the most of the Whiskey Lounge and the Piano Bar which are both beautifully decorated and although spacious intimate enough for romantic cosy couple cuddle ups. We slept well, that may have something to do with the Laphroaig as well as the comfy beds and not a single sound from any other guests. Breakfast was gorgeous, and I totally over indulged, plenty of choice for all dietary requirements and plenty of seating and very helpful staff. Would totally recommend this hotel - a romantic little break away was catered for

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Patrick Kenny - Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hilton London Metropole and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are glad that our prime location was convenient for you. We are always thrilled to read about great service our team is providing. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    1,480
    1,133
    607
    412
See reviews for
1,420
921
204
1,334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a very busy hotel in the heart of London. We had been booked in there for a company function nearby. Checking-in was a nightmare. The company had booked several dozen rooms for a nearby function that was due to start at 1600 hours. Some of us did not get a room allocation until almost 1530 despit arriving at the hotel at 1230. The reception area was extremely busy but in fairness was quite well staffed. The staff were polite and friendly but seemed to be overwhelmed by the constant throng of people seeking rooms.
Having said that the room was on one of the upper floors and was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast the following morning was quite good but again there was a queue to get into the dining area. Again, the staff were extremely pleasant but seemed once again to be under pressure.
Check out was painless and very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Patrick Kenny -Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay with us. We thank you for bringing in to our attention the issues you faced in checking in and the breakfast queue. Concerning the check in time, we appreciate the fact that you arrived at 12.30pm and we always try our best to accommodate the early check in requests. However, please be informed that the check in time is 3pm. We sincerely apologise for the half an hour delay. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the room cleanliness and comfort.
We are pleased that overall you had a good experience with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel twice in April / early May. Choice of the hotel was dictated by its excellent location in Central London and ease of access to the tube. However, the hotel itself was a damp squib. Checking-in is an ordeal. Internet connectivity at £15 / day was pathetic to say the least. Getting to the breakfast table involved a wait of 30-35 minutes and once inside the restaurant more wait for food to be topped up at the buffet counters. I had requested for and was grudgingly given late check-out until 3 pm on 2nd May. However, at 1 pm I was informed that I had to checkout by 1.45 pm. Managed this with some difficulty. Hotel is not for business travellers who are bound by limited time and budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the West wing. Newer and bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narayankumar2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear naranyankumar2004:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to place a review. We apologise for the delay in acknowledging and responding to you.

It is disappointing when guests leave us feeling like they have not benefitted from the Hilton standard of customer service and we are very sorry this seems to have been the case for you. We do aim for all our guests to have enjoyable stays and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience which may have been caused.

When the hotel is very busy, there are times when it seems large groups of persons arrive for breakfast at the same time. When this happens, naturally there will be a waiting period. We've developed a system where guests are not waiting for longer than 10 mins from the back of the queue to be seated and it was shocking to read the time frame you stated. I've discussed it with the F&B manager so this can be looked at again.

For the late check out, again when it's very busy, this is granted at the discretion of the hotel unless guests are willing to pay for the additional time in the room. When specific room types are needed for arriving guests, but there are insufficient available in the system, even then paying for the additional time isn't feasible. There are times when we may have to say 'no' to a request for late check out. I am pleased to note that the Receptionist found a way to grant this for you complimentary at a time when we were very busy, but have taken note that we did need to contact you to reduce the time frame given. For this we apologise and assure you that this has been discussed with the Reception team to ensure there is uniformity in guest services under these circumstances.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are hopeful that the above information has been helpful and you will allow us to host you again at some point in the future for a vastly improved level of service.


Best regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Second Hilton in London during this trip and the same concern. DIRTY reused coffee service items. As I had done at the previous Hilton last week, I first washed the mug on the coffee service with the boiling water from the kettle. Then I made tea. Afterwards, I put a mark on the bottom of the mug to see if the mug would be replaced with a sanitized one or just rinsed and dried with my dirty towel. No surprise here, the same mug reappeared on the coffee bar.

Other than the the unhygienic glasses and mugs, this room was fine. (the first room we refused because of the unseemly odor from the bathroom pipes). Very large hotel and very busy.

Room Tip: Do not use the mugs or glasses unless you clean them with the boiling water first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol232b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam, Patrick Kenny -Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We were very surprised to hear about the Housekeeping issues that you experienced with us, as we pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness. In room mugs are normally rinsed and sanitised during the stay and replaced upon the guest departure. However, guests can ask for the cups to be replaced at anytime by contacting our Magic or Housekeeping teams.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I planned and stayed here for a meeting in January 2014. Fantastic service and staff, would definitely come back here to do those again. My only issue was with the business center (limited hours, hard to print out something). Otherwise the facilities were good- some rooms need a bit more updating than others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Evi765:

Thank you for taking the time to make this review of your visit to us in January and we apologise for the lengthy delay in responding to you. It must have been a very enjoyable experience as you remember things clearly in May which is 5 months after the event! It gives us pleasure to know that our guests enjoy themselves while here or their business needs are met.

We have noted your comment regarding the Business Centre and can advise that some things have been reviewed since January. Should you visit soon again, we trust you will find the experience even more amenable than the last time.

Thanks again and we wish you all the very best!


Kind regards

PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Enjoyed break at Hilton. Upgraded to higher floor room with amazing views because had 2 hr wait to get into room. Public areas were good- clean and well staffed . Great location for sightseeing. Underground 2 minutes walk from hotel with lots of shops, bars and restaurants in local area. only ate breakfast in hotel but this was very good - buffet style with a large choice of hot and cold items. I think public areas have recently been refurbished and the lounges and bars were great to relax in. The bedroom however could have done with a lick of paint and the dirty Windows minimised the great views! Small pool and gym with friendly staff but a bit cramped if more than 10 guests using pool at one time! Would certainly stay again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbyhGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear debbyhGlasgow

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a review of your stay with us in May. We do apologise for the lengthy delay in acknowledging it and responding.

It is great that you had such a fantastic time while with us and thank you also for recommending the hotel. We appreciate the time you've taken to do this. We would love to host you whenever you're next in London and hope you will continue to consider us a viable option for accommodation.

All the very best to you and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again.


Best regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Location wasn't bad but too close to police station and hospital. The room wasn't bad but did not like the fact they put us near a room above that was under construction. Not one of the better Hiltons i stayed at but location was important to me at the time! Buffet was average and did not eat there for dinner! Stay over all was average!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubbyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear cubbyeyes:

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us in May and please accept our apologies for the lengthy delay in acknowledging your comment.

It is disappointing not to have known of your dissatisfaction with the room at the time as we would have done what we can to offer you an alternative. Should you stay with us in the future, please let us know if there is anything we can do to enhance the quality of your stay while here and be assured we will do what we can to accommodate your requests.

We have sadly noted your other comments regarding our proximity to the Police Station and the Hospital. It therefore seems unlikely you will stay with us again. We can advise however that Hilton Worldwide now has 11 brands to choose from and the properties are in various locations across London. We are convinced there will be one with the ambience and environment you prefer to have for a family break.

Should we have the pleasure of welcoming you again, a very warm 'hello' awaits you.

All the best to you!


Regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#395 of 1,068 in London
3,819 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#259 of 1,068 in London
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton London Kensington
#502 of 1,068 in London
4,110 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#377 of 1,068 in London
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#344 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing