We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hilton EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #590 of 1,068 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Hilton EVER”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have stayed at a LOT of Hilton hotels, along with many other hotels for business and pleasure. In my opinion, this place is by far the worst Hilton I have ever experienced. From my opinion, consider the following: The halls and rooms are dirty. Maid service was almost non-existent unless you call. For example, they would not leave towels, they didn't clean our room one day, they never left new soap or shampoo, the drain was visibly clogged with gobs of gooey hair, we ran out of toilet paper and they did not replace it until we called twice. The "pool" is disgusting. We lasted about 2 minutes before getting out of the stew. Wi-Fi cuts out, depending on where you are in the hotel. I was going to move hotels mid-stay, but got too busy with work to do it. Then, when I asked to stay two days longer for business, they said (contrary to what they had previously told me) that there was no more room. I was forced to move hotels. The area this hotel is in is very arabic and has no actual English/London feel, so if you are a tourist, you will not like the feel of this place. This stay made me think I should start staying at the Hyatt again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,498
    1,148
    620
    429
See reviews for
1,450
935
206
1,353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

had a wonderful stay, breakfast was lovely, Thank you so much to all the staff who were very helpful especially Sergio from the front desk and Erinda.
Sergio and Erinda were both friendly and willing to go the extra mile (had to check out and check in twice so encountered both front desk staff on different days) I had back to back bookings due to rate changes etc and they were always helpful with check out and check in at the same time, Breakfast was great, Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERT786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying at the Hilton London Metropole. We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

I will personally relay your feedback to Sergio and Erinda who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your wonderful stay. I am equally pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

With in block of 2 metro/subway stations and 3-4 blocks of Paddington station. Bar/restaurant. Restaurants nearby. Busses and Marks-Spencer across street. In-room coffee/tea. Good view of city. Staff happy to help. Wi-Fi not free, but free in bar/lounge

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor and/or off street. Good view of Edgeware neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medellin1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor and for taking the time to share your feedback with London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We noted you found the location convenient, very closely located to Paddington station where you can get transport practically to all the major attractions in London and suburbs.
We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our members of staff, they cartaily put all their energy towards achieving a great overall experience and they are here to create memorable moments for your guests.

On a different note, please let me inform you that with regards to the internet, we provide complimentary WIFI in the lobby areas, in the rooms; the service is chargeable to your account.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The brunch at the metropole was quite varied with a selection of breakfast items and juices as well as the ability to order your own omelette made as you you like. Very good service and good options. Might be the best hotel brunch I have had in London. The decor is nothing special but not bad either. A good meal had with family.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ckno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Not what I would expect from a 4* Hilton in central London. I was woken up at 8 am on Saturday morning by housekeeping persistently knocking the door (and eventually coming into the room) to ask when she could come in to clean the room.

I had to queue for 10 minutes for a table at breakfast because the restaurant was full. It was then a difficult struggle to get any food (more queuing needed).

The room was small and outdated.

All in all its not what I expect from a Hilton hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank podsey_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review in Tripadvisor upon your stay at London Hilton Metropole.

Firstly, we would like to apologize for the maid waking you up early in the morning on Saturday to clean the room, this is certainly not acceptable. Rest assure your feedback will be shared with senior management for review, action and to avoid recurrence in future.

Also, we noted you mention the queue for breakfast. Sometimes, and this is by no means an excuse, we experience peak times during breakfast, especially over the weekend. In such events we have members of staff managing the lines and occasionally we provide an overflow room to accommodate all of our guests needs.

We appreciate you valuable comments which will be shared with the entire team in order to improve the overall service and so that you can come back for an improved experience.

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future at London Hilton Metropole.


Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This property is located within walking distance from Heathrow Express. Like most properties in town, this hotel is quite big. Sometimes not worth it to pay extra for access to the Executive Lounge. Most of the time you will find kids playing games on the computers, and not a spot to sit down for any length of time.

Room Tip: Different towers. So if there for a conference, try to figure that out before requesting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goartangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time and provide your review in Tripadvisor upon your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel's location, it is certainly minutes away from Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express and this is really convenient for transportation purposes as you mention.

On the other hand, we do apologize if the children that were playing games in the Executive Lounge computers inconvenienced you. Also, you mentioned that it was very busy in there with no available places to sit down. We are sorry about this fact, the hotel is busy at times, moreover when we have large conferences however we try to offer an excellent service to all of our guests and accommodate all the requests.

We appreciate your feedback, which will be shared with the entire team in order to improve the overall service.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future on leisure or for business purposes.

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel services and facilities were excellent. The staff were very friendly but in particular I thought breakfast and dinner was superb. Breakfast was of the buffet variety with all aspects covered eg. English, Continental etc. Evening meal time was very enjoyable with the staff interaction with my children proving to be a memorable experience for them and I found this very refreshing. I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank kevinbO4200UY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor, following your recent stay at London Hilton Metropole.
We are delighted to know that you found the overall service excellent. We really appreciate your comments with regards to the helpfulness of our members of staff, they will be glad to know about your kind words.
Also, we noted that your children had a very good experience in the Restaurant; our team aims to provide the best possible service to all the families who come for a memorable stay.
Looking forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#395 of 1,068 in London
3,864 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#257 of 1,068 in London
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Hilton London Kensington
#507 of 1,068 in London
4,156 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,068 in London
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing