We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, quiet sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #578 of 1,064 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location, quiet sleep”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what you would expect of a Hilton, good beds and not the cheapest option in town. Having stayed at cheap hotels in London nearby major stations, which can be affordable with all kinds of shortcomings, I decided to pay more for a decent hotel close to Paddington Station in order to use the Heathrow Connect airport train (cheaper than the Heathrow Express and faster than the tube). The hotel was not as close as I thought, so be aware if you have a bit of luggage. The hotel is also extremely busy, but reception was well staffed and check in was efficient. It was all worth it, as the beds are comfortable

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and send us your feedback through Tripadvisor following your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We are glad that you found the reception staff helpful and efficient and also that you enjoyed the beds in the room. We will share your words with our entire team.

The hotel is strategically located in the heart of London and is close to numerous means of transport to move around. Our Concierge is always available in case you need information on how to get somewhere in a timely manner.

We are looking forward to your next visit and will be glad to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    1,450
    1,106
    602
    405
See reviews for
1,377
899
202
1,321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The building foyer and lower floor are nice, but the staff are quite abrasive and unfriendly. The checking in staff are very impolite compared to other Hiltons where they are normally smiling, helpful, and flexible. The Hilton Hounours checkin counter was partially manned leading to a queue build up, and the other queue area was not organised properly so there was no proper quieting but people jumping the queue. Even though I was booked in a Business rate I wasn’t allowed a free Wifi code. Was told had to be gold member to get this whereas I have been offered the service at discretion at another Hiltons. On a previous stay I was told by the check that Bottled Water would be sent up to my room as I was a Hilton Member, but the water never arrived. A fire Alarm false alert went off in the middle of the night during the stay and they didnt resolve it quickly so all the residents had to come down stairs and then wait an hour for the lifts to clear again. No drinks or anything else was offered for the inconvenience. In positive the site is on a location with public Transport readily available and may shops and cafes around the area. The ground floor foyer and areas are nice and clean. Just needs the staff to match.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Fajal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location is good, right next to Edgware Road tube, possible to walk to Oxford Street/Hyde Park. Lots of restaurants nearby (lebanese, iranian, moroccan..)

Our room was a superior double in the West wing:
Nice clean room, flat-screen tv, good shower/bath, the bed a bit hard though. Helpful staff, fast check-in, nice lobby and bar. Did neither have breakfast nor use the health facilities. Had a 10th floor room, could see the London Eye and Hyde Park in the distance.
Got a very good deal at Hotwire - a Superior Double for a couple with a teenager, so very happy considering the price.

Room Tip: West wing rooms, good, clean, nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynjolfurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had some issues checking in but they were all sorted out after speaking to the head of guest services. His name is Mr. Rudra and this guy knows what customer service is all about. He has made us loyal Hilton clients. For a company such as Hilton to understand that each guest is so important means a great deal. I have stayed at other Hiltons. Had great experiences but there was an issue without booking this time around. Mr. Rudra did all he could to get the issue resolved and you could tell his goal was to rectify the issue and prove that customer service was paramount. Hats off to Mr. Rudra and Hilton for hiring such an great customer relationship specialist at guest services. I highly recommend this hotel even with our booking experience. Rooms are nice, restaurant is nice and great prices. Family friendly hotel so take your whole family. Nice pool also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF_Reviews22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

When one enters this hotel I have to say it is quite impressive on the ground floor. There are some things that could be done better though.There is easy access for ANYONE who wants to enter the lifts and go up to any floor, the floor we were on smelt musty and the room we were in was rather tired looking.The room was of a good size and everything was clean. Wi Fi was free for 1 hour each day down in the lobby area.The night we stayed the fire alarm went off at approx. 12.30 am and I have to say the way this was handled by the staff was not good enough!There wasnt a fire but there should be procedures in place to handle this sort of thing.On the plus side the hotel is well situated to shops and the underground. I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronikaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel several times in the past fews year and I always gave them the benefit of the doubt when they got things wrong. And they did a few times. Hilton is generally very consistent and reliable. But this place is an exception.hit and miss. An hour after checking in, we needed water. On opening the minibar fridge I was shocked to find rotten food stuffed in the fridge. The room was instantly full of a terrible garbage stench. Called the front desk. They suggested we wait until morning then try to do something. I had to get someone a bit more senior and litlle more brain to agree to move our room. 40 min after the call still no sign of a new room. Finally had to go to the reception and after speaking to an Assist Operations Manager we got a new room with plenty of apology. So what do I do when I get to the new room. Try to open the fridge door. Does not open. Call the manager again an he unlocks it from downstairs. The fridge is half empety and there is no water in it. In facy no water anywhere to be found in this room. So they send me some with room service. I am not happy. We are not here for leasure. My wife has brain cancer and tomorrow she goes for a procedure under the knife and it took me over an hour to sort my search for water!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Samtastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked this hotel for one night for a business trip, when you first walked into the hotel it seemed very classy and well up to standards for a Hilton Hotel. We checked into our room which was directly opposite the lifts and this is all we could hear all night as well as people shouting down the hall ways. Surely all rooms should have some sort of sound proofing? There also wasn't any spare pillows so I didn't have a good nights sleep overall!

The breakfast was lovely however extremely crowded with lots of ques, getting to the restaurant was a bit of an adventure as it wasn't sign posted!

The hotels location is good and there is a nice burger restaurant behind which I would definitely recommend.

I would visit this hotel again if I had to however they need to seriously up there game if they want to continue charging the prices they charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#405 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#255 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#489 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#380 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in London
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing