We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #601 of 1,081 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visiting London and choosing a hotel is difficult – Old Fashioned British hotels can be unpleasant surprise ( wooden cracking floors no hot water and so forth) that is why years ago I decided to book an American chain and I chose the Hilton and specifically the Metropole – no surprises !! rooms are international standards and vary according to size but Yes they all have AC – service is great – English breakfast is outstanding , they even have a small pool and a gym. The hotel is very centrally located – walking distance from Paddington with direct connection with the Heathrow Express and just opposite Edgware road tube station .
Yes the hotel is huge – but , it doesn’t feel so !

Room Tip: Try and ask for a high floor on the East Tower - facing London City - the view from the room is outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your visit to this hotel.

We are proud of our full English breakfast, which guests can enjoy wide variety of choices. Yes, we are one of the few central London hotels with indoor pool. I was also delighted to read that you found the provided service great.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,663 - 3,669 of 5,171 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here many times but switched to the tower bridge Hilton a few years ago. I decided to go back last month after their refurbishment and just for a change and was quickly reminded of why I switched. The queue and time it took to check in was frustrating even as a Gold member.The breakfast mirrored this the sheer volume of people it was like a market. taking that aside the refurbishment is very classy with large spacious rooms ( the Twin double queen Deluxe) excellently decorated this is a nice hotel just a bit too busy for me.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

Firstly, please accept our sincere apology that your arrival experience wasn’t satisfactory. We are working on improving the time taken for check in especially at our dedicated Hilton Honors desk. With regards to breakfast, we regularly set-up a private banqueting suite to accommodate large volume of guests. In addition, we anticipate peak times for breakfast particularly on weekends from 8:30am until 10:30am. Most guests tend to have breakfast during this period. To have a more relaxing breakfast, we suggest to avoid these hours.

We are so pleased that you were impressed by our newly refurbished lobby, which boasts a sophisticated bar and whiskey lounge. Our superior rooms in the west wing are, as you said very large and spacious and we are glad you found this accommodating.

Indeed our hotel can be busy at times. It is the largest business Hilton hotel in Europe and we try our best to accommodate all our guests’ requirement: from business to leisure. Once again, we do apologise for the inconvenience and would hope that you will return in the near future so that we can restore your faith in us.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for ten nights in April. The foyer, reception and restaurants are all first class. The rooms however leave a lot to be desired. I had the 'pleasure' of staying in an unrenovated lower floor room for the first five nights. The floor was a construction site, workmen, ladders, power tools, sawdust you name it, it was there. The hotel was full so we had to wait to be moved. We eventually got to a 22nd floor renovated superior room. I could hardly tell the difference except for the new carpet. The saving grace for this hotel was the staff. They were brilliant under very trying circumstances. Good location, close to Paddington and Edgeware Rd tube staions. Plenty of coffee shops and cafes and a Marks and Spencers across the road. A ten minute walk to Oxford St and Hyde park but even so I wouldn't stay again. Way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaseem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, it is with deep concern that we read your comments relating to condition of the rooms you had whilst staying with us here at the Hilton London Metropole. We apologise for not fully meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience regarding the room change, which clearly did not help.

We do have other available room types in the hotel. The superior rooms have recently been refurbished with modern decor and are very spacious. Also, we have executive rooms that are stylish and decorated in cool and calm tones. Apart from our new hotel public area, which you noted as first class, included in our major project is to renovate our standard rooms. This will commence very shortly and without a doubt, room condition in the Tower Wing of the hotel will highly improve.

On a different note, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the service of our brilliant team members, appreciated the location and the rest of the hotel’s facilities including the restaurants.

Thank you for staying with us and we forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights as part of the London50 ICANN meeting which had over 3300 attendees. The corridors were congested, the lobby was full, the bars were packed and it all worked well.
From the moment I arrived I found the staff to be available, helpful, professional, responsive and genuine (i.e they always smiled back). From the doorman to the maid. My room was spacious and had everything I could expect. Everything worked, I did not have any questions other than where is the "make up the room" tag. The man who checks the room is cleaned explained to me that they are monitoring when I leave, and it was true, whenever Ieft my room (at varying times in the morning), when I returned it was made up. It's no boutique, but it is what you would expect.

Room Tip: I stayed low (5th floor).. because I like to use stairs. The view was still fine. Someone said their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear mraL

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to host you as you attended your event which was hosted here at our hotel. The comments you have given are very helpful as we train our teams to extend a high quality of service, and your feedback helps us see how to maintain this service or improve where necessary.

We hope on your next visit to London you will consider us a viable option for accommodation and we can welcome you again to the Hilton London Metropole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed here now 5 times over the past number of years. It can be a bit pricey so we always keep an eye out for when offers are available.
We have never had any problems with this hotel and have always found the staff to be very pleasant. The hotel itself is perfectly positioned right across the road from 2 tube stations on Edgeware road.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolroe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear coolroe:

It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy their stays here, and as you are a repeat guest, this means so much more to us. We're pleased our location and links to transport and shops help to make every visit enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing us time after time and we hope to welcome you for many more wonderful breaks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I attended a conference and this was the hotel selected (and paid for) by his company. The first room we were put in was SO smoky that we didn't even make it more than a foot into the room before we turned around to go back downstairs and ask for a different room. The walls in the hallways are scuffed and bumped and look as though they haven't had a coat of paint in ten years or more. The carpets are dingy in the hallways, and the smell is either moldy or smoky or something - but it is pretty bad.

The second room we were put in still smelled like stale smoke, but we decided to cut our losses and drop our stuff to go find some dinner. The windows were bolted shut so we couldn't have any fresh air, but the loud sounds of the highway outside were not diminished by the windows. The carpets in the room were stained everywhere - I didn't even want to take off my shoes.

The bed springs creaked as soon as you sat down, and there were two very visible people dents in the bed on either side - it was very uncomfortable.

Last but not least, there was poop smeared in the toilet - it was clear that the towels had been changed but the bathroom hadn't been cleaned. One towel had crusted food on it, as though someone had wiped their unwashed hands on it. Gross!

We ended up deciding to cut our losses and book our own hotel despite the fact that this had been paid for by the company. The disgustingness of the place couldn't be outweighed by a decent location.

Hilton should be really embarrassed of this place - we will never book a hilton again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Katie D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are very disappointed to note the contents and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience which may have been caused. What you have outlined does not reflect the training given to our team or the level of service they are trained to extend.

We will need to look further into these matters and to assit with this, would you mind sending us some additional details? Please write to us on lonme.cbs@hilton.com with
a) Date of checkin
b) Room numbers referred to
c) Name on reservation

Please reference this response on Trip advisor so we will know that email is connected to this. Once we have that information we can conduct an investigation and respond to you. Be assured that we will also take all necessary corrective action - including but not limited to retraining team members.

Again, KatieD we appreciate the time you've taken to send this response. Our guest voice is important to us and we trust this shows that we are listening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One of the first hotels booked with a tour group. Was greeted by the Concierge wearing a top hat which was a nice surprise! Very nice and friendly staff. Check in was painless, though we had to wait about 30 extra minutes for our room which was not ready. The breakfast was tasty with a variety of choices.Rooms were clean and up to date. The only draw back was the electrical outlets which were not compatiable at all with american hair stylers, such as hair straighteners. Even when using the universal adapter it was pointless.

A great plus was the location of the underground railways. We had tickets to the Apollo Victoria Theatre and took the tube, getting there in 15 minutes without delay! Overall a very comfortable stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear MamaBear63,

We're very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the Hilton London Metropole. Thank you for writing to let others know of the benefits of our location and the service you received.

As it relates to your comment on the universal adapter, we also stock them in the hotel for guest use and should the one you travel with not work, you can feel free to ask to borrow one of ours.

MamaBear63, we appreciate that you chose us to stay with and hope we can welcome you again in the future for another wonderful stay. All the best to you and yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#402 of 1,081 in London
4,140 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#266 of 1,081 in London
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Hilton London Kensington
#508 of 1,081 in London
4,480 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#356 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £117 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing