We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - but renovations spoiled the visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #586 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a good location -- but when I visited the renovations going on spoiled the visit -- from the chaotic check-in to the limited space in the lobby -- rooms are an average size - bathroom is good too. Not sure what was happening in the Executive Lounge but there were always out of food -- breakfast, afternoon tea, snacks -- always empty plates -- no attention from the lounge staff to what was happening around them.
The internet access was a nightmare too -- the staff blamed it on the remodeling, but ... who knows. Make sure they're remodeled before you venture to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srwemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We noted that you stayed back in September. We can confirm that our public area renovation has been completed since several months ago. In fact, we had an official opening ceremony to unveil our new look last 4th of September 2013. We recommend that you stay again and experience the transformed facilities of the Hilton London Metropole. Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused back then.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,441 - 3,447 of 4,939 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my two sons. The room was clean, rooms comfortable. Breakfast was not good, huge lines and way too crowded for a nice relaxed breakfast.
I used room service which brought us dinner and it was quite good food.
Service at lobby and concierge was good.
Location good.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Domodosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your review through Tripadvisor upon your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We are extremely glad that you found the facilities clean and comfortable. On the other hand, we are disappointed to hear that you encountered queues during breakfast. We appreciate your comments but our team strive to provide an excellent service at all times and be rest assure your valuable feedback will be shared with them.

We really hope to welcome you back in the near future and once again thank you for your comments.

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Did the hotel meet the Hilton promise went the questionnaire! I think only in price. The place thrived on queues, the room was shabby and lacked accessible power sockets. And they made a mistake over the pre-booked and paid for room - and then took an age to put the over-charign right at the end of the stay. Breakfast room was cramped - I only used it once and that was once too often for a mediocre choice. I could go on, but you've got the message!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank JustImbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review after your recent convention at the hotel.

We received great feedback from the event organisers, in fact rated us 10 out of 10 and it saddens us that your personal experience was a complete contradictory. Please accept our sincere apologies that your overall stay was not what you expected.

Our property had recently undergone a multimillion pounds transformation and we trust that you have taken notice of that. Our Tower Wing rooms will shortly be renovated too. These investments prove that we continuously listen to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We do hope your experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stated here for New Year to celebrate NYE and the room was horrendous! Back end of building with no lights two single beds and a smoking room which obviously stunk!!! Small rooms with old deco! Main reception area is fine but rooms are old and VERY grubby!! Wouldnt stay again neither would i expect this from a Hilton. Location was good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Abbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are very disappointed to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations.
We noted that it has been sometime since you last stayed with us. The hotel had undergone a multi-million pounds transformation since then and most of our guests are impress with the new look. This includes our brand new superior rooms, public areas and Hilton meeting rooms. We still have numerous upcoming projects and these are all aiming to improve the products and facilities we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we are hoping to welcome you back soon at the Hilton London Metropole.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stay here probably at least once a month .. Why?location is perfect for my office. To be honest that's really my main reason... Rooms are ok, some rooms have been redecorated ... But there are a lot which have not. It's basic, it's very very large, so can be impersonal.

Good bars .. But are expensive. Good room service.

Good restaurants (Thai restaurant is very nice)

I get really frustrated as a gold hilton honor member.. Small things matter to me ... 9 times out of 10 bottled water etc is Missing

Thank SuzD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We value your feedback especially as you are one of our loyal guests. It’s pleasing to learn that our hotel location is very accessible and nearby to your work place. We are hoping that after the Tower bedrooms renovation, you will find the quality of our accommodation as more than average. Your positive commendations on our bars and restaurants will be shared to our Food & Beverage team. This will motivate them to deliver more.

Often you may find that Hilton Hhonors amenities won’t be available straight away in the room right after check in. This is because we start delivering amenities from 3.00pm onwards. However, we can arrange an immediate set up to the room as guest wishes. Just one call to MAGIC and room service team will attend to the request at the soonest.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton London Metropole very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

this hotel is a cattle market - long queues and no staff. the saving grace was a member of staff who contacted the manger and we were checked in via the exec lounge where the staff were super. but there were no staff on reception downstairs and there were long queues. didn't use the dining room but noticed very long queues for breakfast. room smelt of stale cigarettes, it was noisy - air con and street noise. not to be recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank pixiebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies that your experience was not what you expected.

We will certainly share your feedback directly with the Front of House team for immediate consideration.

We are the largest Hilton hotel in Europe with over 1,000 bedrooms and at times we can be busy. However, we ensure that we have sufficient team members on duty to cope with the volume of guests. We noted that you arrived at noon, which is exactly the same time when guests are departing. Although the lobby ambiance may have been inconvenience, we hope that the early check in at the Executive Lounge helped.

Thank you for recognising the proactive attitude of one of our team members. We will relay your feedback to Majid who will be glad to know that his efforts were appreciated. The same goes for our Executive Lounge team whom you found as “super”.

We noted that there had also been comments relating to room condition. We do hope you reported your dismay to the team at the time who we know would have dealt with the situation to your satisfaction, swiftly.

Thank you for your staying with us at the Hilton London Metropole. We hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had a great time at Hilton Metropole London in June 2014. The hotel is located on Edgware and Praed, about 8 minutes walk from Paddington railway station, right at the centre of things.

The hotel is large and had sufficient space for our 3000-plus delegates who were participants to the event that I was attending, even though there were over 250+ distinct parallel sessions during the 5-day event.

The room that stayed in (West Lobby) was on the 10th floor, giving me a great view of the city around through the large window (most of the wall). The room was reasonable-sized and very clean. The toilet supplies were rather sparse (just shampoo, conditioner and moisturizer) . There was a coffee maker, but I'd actually call it just a water heater (I do miss the proper coffeemaker so widely available in the US). The breakfast was adequate, but not lavish.

The best thing about this hotel is that I reached the Emirates lounge at Heathrow Terminal 3 in under 70 minutes of checking out from this hotel (walk to Paddington with my baggage: 8 minutes, waiting time: 10 minutes, Heathrow Express: 15 minutes, reaching gates: 10 min, check-in: 10 min, Security: 10 min, reach lounge: 5 min). Of course, it helped that I checked out around 5 am..!

Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SierraBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review following your successful event at our hotel.

We are delighted that overall you had a great experience. We pride ourselves on hosting large conferences at the Hilton London Metropole and we are pleased that once again we delivered. We are Europe's premier, UK's largest and London's first genuine conference and meetings hotel where 3 to 3,000 can meet, 2 to 2,000 can eat, 1 to 1,000 can sleep under one roof, right in the heart of London. As you may have read from other reviews, guests find our hotel well situated for their needs; we highly appreciate your valuable recommendation.

We believe that you will not hesitate to recommend us to your friends and family.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our property for another event or leisure stay in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#408 of 1,077 in London
4,044 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#252 of 1,077 in London
2,515 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#163 of 1,077 in London
4,182 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#385 of 1,077 in London
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#349 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £130 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing