We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and careness.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #584 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eilat, HaDarom, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service and careness.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were staying at the Hilton Metropole in London for 4 nights with our grandchild that hurt his foot badly 2 days before the tour. He needed a wheelchair to move around and a strong antibiotic medicine to fight the infection. Unfortunately the housekeeping maid threw away the medicine and the bandages by mistake and we've found out that we don't have antibiotics and bandages to dress his foot late at night. The duty manager Kris took responsibility to help. He sent his assistant to the pharmacy to get bandages and cheesecloth and the very next morning he took us to the hospital to get the prescription for the antibiotics. He did not leave until he was sure that everything was settled although it was away behind his shift. I can only praise the way Kris and all the staff pitched in to help. Things can happen by mistake. I'm sure the housekeeping maid did not mean any harm. You can only judge the way the hotel management handle the situation to get the best solution. I think Kris did his utmost in a very professional way. Beside that, the room was perfect and clean. the breakfast is great and so is the location. We had a very good time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ze'ev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We will relay your feedback to Kris who will be glad to know that his efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay. We at the Hilton London Metropole take pleasure in creating moments of magic for our guests. We are pleased that we were able to do so for you. Your feedback with regards to housekeeping service has been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper for immediate review and action.

Thank you staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    1,418
    1,082
    590
    399
See reviews for
1,343
883
198
1,291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Perfectly clean and nice hotel. Good location. No issues whatsoever. Rooms were good and the bathroom was nice. Got a good night sleep. The entrance way and bars were very nice. Staff were friendly and checked us in and out quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy1986UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Hilton London Metropole.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that there were no issues during your stay. We have shared your positive feedback with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My nightmare started from the point of checking in . The front of desk manager did the honours but demonstrated his lack of customer service from the start. My guests were led to believe they were sharing their individual rooms with me which was clearly not true. Although I was the lead client Gold member I got the worse room from my party , smallest , no large towels , poor room service when reported the towel issue it took 30 minutes to get me a towel which was to late as i was going out so had to make good with hand towels (not good) no complimentart drinks which should be part of my service (gold member) no apologies for poor service when reported & no interest in my complaint. No recognition of the fact i was using crutches to get around especially when i went toi breakfast i was placed near the food service counter in an narrow walkway to the food so people were constantly walking pass me & occassionally knocking my bad knee. An unusually poor experiance given Hiltons usually exceptional service previously experienced by myself. I believe that due to the hotel being extreamly busy the staff struggled to respond to those who required help.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay.

We are incredibly disappointed to hear that you have not had a positive experience. We would like to sincerely apologise for all the unnecessary inconveniences that amounted whilst you were here. We were equally disappointed to note that you did not receive any form of apology with the issues that you raised. We have notified the relevant Departmental Managers regarding the issues that you encountered. So you can be rest assured that your complaints do matter to us and will be dealt with accordingly.

This is not the usual standard of service provided by the hotel. We take all our guest feedback to be of the utmost importance. Therefore, our Front of House Manager will be in touch with you shortly.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to make things right.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

While the location of the hotel continues to be its largest drawcard, any extended stay becomes disappointing as the service levels drop exponentially from check-in. I spent 11 nights at this property during early June 2014 and would recommend no more than 2 -3 night stays as it seems that is their forte and niche clientele.

Hilton Honors membership means nothing at this hotel, so dont expect any recognition.

Room Tip: Rather book short stays, even if there is the inconvenience of checking out and then checking in aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harryhdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the full length of your stay. Our hotel has mixed of guests: from business to leisure, group bookings and many others. We also accommodate numerous amounts of long staying guests, spending 10 nights or more especially at peak of summer period.

We hope that you had found a time to report the service issues you encountered whilst staying in house as we are certain that if you did, our team members who are very capable of making things right for the guests would have resolved these swiftly.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton London Metropole and we hope to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a good location -- but when I visited the renovations going on spoiled the visit -- from the chaotic check-in to the limited space in the lobby -- rooms are an average size - bathroom is good too. Not sure what was happening in the Executive Lounge but there were always out of food -- breakfast, afternoon tea, snacks -- always empty plates -- no attention from the lounge staff to what was happening around them.
The internet access was a nightmare too -- the staff blamed it on the remodeling, but ... who knows. Make sure they're remodeled before you venture to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srwemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We noted that you stayed back in September. We can confirm that our public area renovation has been completed since several months ago. In fact, we had an official opening ceremony to unveil our new look last 4th of September 2013. We recommend that you stay again and experience the transformed facilities of the Hilton London Metropole. Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused back then.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my two sons. The room was clean, rooms comfortable. Breakfast was not good, huge lines and way too crowded for a nice relaxed breakfast.
I used room service which brought us dinner and it was quite good food.
Service at lobby and concierge was good.
Location good.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Domodosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your review through Tripadvisor upon your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We are extremely glad that you found the facilities clean and comfortable. On the other hand, we are disappointed to hear that you encountered queues during breakfast. We appreciate your comments but our team strive to provide an excellent service at all times and be rest assure your valuable feedback will be shared with them.

We really hope to welcome you back in the near future and once again thank you for your comments.

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Did the hotel meet the Hilton promise went the questionnaire! I think only in price. The place thrived on queues, the room was shabby and lacked accessible power sockets. And they made a mistake over the pre-booked and paid for room - and then took an age to put the over-charign right at the end of the stay. Breakfast room was cramped - I only used it once and that was once too often for a mediocre choice. I could go on, but you've got the message!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JustImbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review after your recent convention at the hotel.

We received great feedback from the event organisers, in fact rated us 10 out of 10 and it saddens us that your personal experience was a complete contradictory. Please accept our sincere apologies that your overall stay was not what you expected.

Our property had recently undergone a multimillion pounds transformation and we trust that you have taken notice of that. Our Tower Wing rooms will shortly be renovated too. These investments prove that we continuously listen to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We do hope your experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#406 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,689 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#245 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#477 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#393 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London NW9 6LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in London
#350 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing