We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #590 of 1,069 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plumley
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a twin roof for a company reunion which started at 6pm. Arrived at 13.00 told the computer is down come back at 15.00. Returned at 16.00 large queue in reception waited two hours to get to the front of the line and complete paper check in. Then the receptionist disappeared for half an hour and said we had to wait for keys we told him NO and he found keys but when we got to the room it was a double not a twin which we had booked. My friend went back to reception and was told they did not know what rooms had been allocated to come back at 22.30. She returned to be told still no rooms. Eventually at midnight we were given a twin room the air cond was useless and the room was next to the elevator mechanism we never slept all night. When I went to check out I was asked if I wanted my invoice by email I gave them a letter about my experience and said they should not send me any invoice rather give compensation for my experience I will never stay in this hotel again I am a Hilton Honors member but that counts for nothing

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We can confirm that what you’ve experienced is an isolated case. We had an unforeseen system down and we did our best to speed up the manual check-in process. Unfortunately, this created extreme difficulties and we are fully aware that this highly inconvenienced our guests which consequently resulted in a dissatisfactory stay at our hotel. We profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We can also confirm that this issue has now been resolved and we are back to our usual service operations. Please be assured that we have taken every possible step to prevent the same scenario from re-occurring.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, this issue will not deter you from coming back to our hotel and we can reinstate your confidence with us by making your stay as pleasant as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    1,518
    1,162
    635
    436
See reviews for
1,480
938
210
1,374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Upon arriving in London on a Globus tour, this is the first hotel where we stayed and I must say, it ruined my first impression. I can't even tell you what the lobby looked like because the dirty room and ugly neighborhood overshadowed my memory of it.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a dirty room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VianaSantoniOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.

We are disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay at the hotel due to bedroom cleanliness. Further details on this report could have helped us better to improve the cleaning standards of our bedrooms. Nevertheless, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Your feedback has been escalated to our Executive Housekeeper for immediate consideration. We are equally saddened that you were not pleased with the hotel location. Most guests find the area vibrant and multi cultural with easy access to all public transport services.

We do hope that despite your discontent on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

GOOD MORNING,
we have been in this hotel one week ago, with our Family, the hotel is a wonderful and confortable site, the breakfast was very complete , all foods were very particolaries , all people that worked in hotel was kindly, nice, but trhee receptionist, mr. Brando, and two Misses Giulia and Giulia, were lovely and exceptionally.
The spa and swimming pool were Little but Perfect.
our room was clean and confortable , it was in a new part of the hotel, was King site de luxe on seven Floor .
Location was near the downtown , the underground station was in front of hotel.
we love this hotel in LONDON.
FAM. Angeli Guadalupi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaffiPerugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We are greatly pleased that overall you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your commendation about our team members: Brando and the two Guilia’s at reception will be recognised at our upcoming Team Members’ celebration. They will be glad that their efforts contributed to your pleasurable stay.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton London Metropole and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I gave it 2 stars because the staff tried their hardest in an almost impossible situation.

Gold star to my partner who whilst in London with her daughter phoned mi in advance to warn of problems. Credit to the staff who allowed her to check me in and made my wait minimal.

Credit to those left with hundreds of unhappy customers who did their best.

I was in a room in the Tower and it was old and tired and not worth the money. However it was bearable and I was there only one night.

The Doubletree at Westminster is better from the same stable. citizen M have it right.

Top marks to the man at the bar when we arrived after 11 who organised a plate of food for us. He laughed and made sure we were fed!! Good man.

The IT system was down for 3 days. I imagine there will be compensation for those waiting for hours to get in. Hilton needs to look at this quickly.

I for one won't be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SWilsonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Hilton London Metropole. We greatly appreciate it and value each and every comment.

Unfortunately during your stay the hotel faced extreme difficulties due to our IT systems completely crashing. It was an event that could not have been predicted and we are fully aware that this highly inconvenienced guests such as yourself and sadly resulted in an unhappy stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Our staff were faced with a challenge and tried the hardest to provide our usual high standards. We thank you for the acknowledgment and recognition.
As stated previously, this event was unforeseen however we can ensure you that our hotel strives to provide excellent hospitality and customer service. If given another opportunity, we can demonstrate our excellent service and what sets Hilton apart from other brands.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comment.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Hotels computers are still down after 3 days. Check-in takes 3-5 hours. Luggage storage& claim is broken. Services take a back seat to labor-intensive check-in. WiFi does not work in Al areas . Rio many people waiting in restaurant and bar to use them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptDennisMu-Sick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

Unfortunately during your stay the hotel faced extreme difficulties due to our hotel system being down. It was an event that could not have been predicted and we are fully aware that this highly inconvenienced guests and sadly resulted in extreme delay on arrival experience. Please accept our sincere apologies.

As mentioned, this event was unforeseen however our staff worked at their best to still provide excellent hospitality and customer service. Please be assured that this is an isolated case and if given another opportunity we can demonstrate our outstanding service and display what sets Hilton apart from other brands.

Once again our deepest apologies, and we trust that you will not judge us solely on this particular experience and will reconsider giving us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel computers are down and have been down for 3 days now. Don't expect to get credit for your Hilton Honors for your stay here because their computer cannot update it. Therefore even though we arrived at 1:30 we were unable to check in until 5:05. But we could not get to the room until 6 o'clock, because it took 20 minutes to get our bags and 1 of the room keys they gave us did not work. It is impossible to get assistance for anything at the front desk for there is constantly a 1 to 2 hour line out there. Evidently there contingency plan needs to be refined, for they should be able to check someone in in less than 2 hours. Most guests have to go through that ridiculously long line 2 or 3 times before they can check in. The first time when you get to the front of the line they simply hand you a form to fill out with pen and ink and then help the next customer. Why they don't distribute the forms for the guests to fill out during the two hours there waiting in line I do not know.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptDennisMu-Sick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

We are very disappointed to note the contents and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience which may have been caused. What you have outlined does not reflect the service standards we have in Hilton hotels. Given that we had an isolated case of system down at our property, which caused a lot of inconvenience during check-in, our staff have tried their very best to deliver high quality of customer service.

Please be assured that acquired Hilton Hhonors points for the stay will still be credited on your account. Our system was restored since 12th of July and all transactions were processed as usual. Please contact us directly on cbs.londonmet@hilton.com if you encounter that no points have been added.

Once again, we appreciate the time you've taken to send this feedback. We hope that despite the disappointment for this particular stay, you will still choose to return so we can restore your faith in us.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We waited over two hours to check in, as did everyone else. Apparently the hotel's computer system was down. Their contingency plan was to have each guest fill out a registration form, which they would then take to the back room where a manager would use the ONE working computer to assign a room and issue a key about 30 minutes later. Oh, but while we were waiting, the staff was bringing around juice and potato chips. Seriously?!? At that point, they should have been handing out free drinks from the bar!

When we finally got to our room, we discovered that one of our keys didn't work, we had a room with barely enough space to turn around in, twin beds, and a lovely view of a wall. There was still food in the minibar from the previous guest. Normally we would have asked for a different room, but after the fiasco at check-in, we were just glad to have a room!

Bell staff and concierge were very helpful, but then, they had plenty of time to devote to each guest, since it took two hours to check each one in! You could tell that all the staff was just as frustrated as the guests, and they were trying hard.

Location is great, but that is the ONLY thing this hotel has going for it.

UPDATE, next day. We noticed a long line at reception when we returned to the hotel at 11:00 pm, and found out from one of the staff that the computers were STILL down.

Room Tip: Get one in the west tower, as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.

Regrettably during your stay the hotel faced extreme difficulties due to our hotel system being down. This was an isolated case and it was an event that could not have been predicted. We are fully aware that this highly inconvenienced guests and sadly resulted in an unhappy stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We can confirm that this issue has now been fixed and we are back at our usual service operations. Please be assured that we have taken every possible step to prevent the same scenario from re-occurring.

Our team were faced with a challenge and they tried their best to provide our usual high standards. We thank you for commending the service delivered by our concierge team. We are also pleased that despite your disappointment, you found our hotel’s location as well situated.

Once again, we do apologise for the inconvenience and we hope that you will visit Hilton London Metropole again so that we can restore your faith in us.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#410 of 1,069 in London
3,904 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#265 of 1,069 in London
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Hilton London Kensington
#505 of 1,069 in London
4,200 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#367 of 1,069 in London
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing