We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #590 of 1,069 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Overall it was an average hotel. On the 2nd night the fire alarm went off at 12:15am....everyone evacuated but there wasn't any communication between hotel staff and the 100 people standing in pajamas outside.

The buffet breakfast was really good. It was just super crowded and the staff seemed to have a bit of trouble keeping up with the demand.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lg1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback.

Thank you for your co-operation when we had an evacuation back in June. Guests and staff safety is of paramount importance to us. Therefore, we treat all alarms very seriously and thankfully there was no fire incident at the time. Please be assured that we do have announcements ongoing whenever evacuations are taking place. Your comments will be taken on board for consideration.

We are pleased that you found the breakfast service up to your expectations. Our team members are well trained on coping with high volume of demands and we do our best to ensure service standards are consistently maintained.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton London Metropole and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    1,499
    1,152
    624
    431
See reviews for
1,456
935
206
1,358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night & it was bedlam. Long queues to check in .. Even the HHonors desk.
The lobby area was swamped & some parents ignored their screaming children.
The lady who checked us in (Zandra) was excellent & did everything she could to make our stay special but our room was disappointing & in desperate need of updating. The bed & mattress badly need replacing. The executive lounge was very busy & we were disappointed to find that there were many children in there at 8.30pm when the rules say they must leave by 6pm. The man on duty was not interested ! Although we had been given a room on the "quiet side" we got no sleep due to "chanting" youths outside in cars playing loud music & car horns sounding. Very unpleasant .. We left early & went home to get some sleep !

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Edgware Rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

Firstly, we are disappointed to learn that you had to experience queues upon checking in, we strive to minimize them however at times, the reception is crowded but we do have staff in place to make sure the line runs smoothly in order to avoid delays.

On the other hand we would like to thank you for your kind words with regards to Sandra’s helpfulness. Rest assure that Sandra and the entire team would be absolutely delighted to know that the service provided during your stay was excellent.

Also, we noted your comments with regards to the bed and mattress and they will be shared with the concerned department for follow up.
With regards to the Executive Lounge, we will forward your feedback to the Executive Lounge manager for review since our policy indicated that after 5.00 pm children under 16 are not permitted in the Executive Lounge.

Last but not least, we apologize that you could not have a pleasant rest due to outside noise.
Once again, we appreciate your feedback and care about your valued opinion. All you comments will be shared with the team members to improve our overall service.

We hope that this experience will not deter you from coming back to our property in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Luckily I was staying for a business meeting and didn't have to pay or else I'd have been asking for my money back. Granted I chose a smoking room so I could be on the same floor as my colleagues but really, the room stunk, was right next to the main road, the air con may as well have been heating. The decor was tired, the room tiny and the breakfast nothing special given the astronomical price. The service on check in was amazing, the lady gave us a 10/10 experience. The Magic staff also lovely and couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast waiting on staff however were rude, shoving past guests, forgetting to ask us what drinks we wanted and generally not bothered. Would not like to stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stokieellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to you last stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We are really sorry to learn from your feedback that the room allocated was not satisfactory, noisy and smelly. We have forwarded these comments to the relevant department from improvement.

On a different note, we appreciate your kind words for our Reception and Magic team. We would be glad to share this amazing feedback with them as they work really hard and strive to be the very best.

Finally, we apologize for the bad impression provided at breakfast. We can learn from your review that the general attitude and overall service was not up to the standards and that is not what we are accustomed to offer to our guests. Rest assure this behaviour is not acceptable and action will be taken to make changes and offer a better service.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback; we hope this sole experience will not refrain you from visiting us again the near future. We would love to have a new chance to show you the service we are so proud to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked a Family Suite in the Hilton London Metropole to serve as our base for a 2 day London visit with the family.

Whilst the room exceeded our expectations with regards to space, equipment (2 double queen beds, 2 TVs, a sofa 7 chair) and fittings (nice bathroom), the same can't be said about everything else.

The check-in process took ages (at 1.30pm on a Thursday)... we probably queue/waited for about 25mn. Of all the check-in desks, 3 were operational! When we did eventually make it to the check-in desk we were told our room was not available until 3pm... though a little hissy-fit later, it was available straight-away?!?!? Explain that!

As our room was on the sixth floor west wing we had to travel all the way to the far side of the hotel. Though we didn't use any of the facilities, we saw a nice bar, a lounge and a sports cafe. We were glad we were based this side of the hotel (towards the rear) and not overlooking the busy Edgware Road or A40 fly-over.

And now for the area... considering this is London, the UK capital, it feels like you're in the Middle East! The area is packed with Asian shops and restaurants and though I'm pro mixed culture society, this does feel quite oppressing. On the walk to Marble Arch, some derogatory comments were made towards my wife (not fit for publication). On multiple occasions we choose to walk the parallel streets, feeling more safe and in more familiar surroundings.

It's left a mixed taste in our mouths... acceptable, but could be so much more! Appreciate this isn't the hotel's fault... but we're judging the whole package, including the location.

On the plus side, tube station is nearby and shops remain open quite late... just be prepared for a not so typical British environment!

Room Tip: Ask for elevated position in West Wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review upon your stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We are glad that you found the allocated room accommodating to your needs.

On the other hand, we truly apologize that the check in process took some time. Room allocation upon check in, is driven by availability and even though we try our utmost best to meet all guest needs, the standard check in time is 3pm. From what I can see, our staff went above and beyond to find a room for you given your early check in request.

With regards to your comments about the surrounding area, fortunately, there is a big variety of restaurants and bar to offer different options. We embrace the multiple cultural varieties in the area and often our guests are extremely happy with its endless alternatives.

The hotel’s location is a privileged one, with easy and quick access to a variety of transport to get connected to the main attractions in London and surrounding areas.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were starting a tour and stayed for one night. It was quiet and the location was easy to reach from the Underground. (Edgware Station). The room was small but beds were comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was excellent. A great variety of items.

Room Tip: The wifi is available in the lobby. I had a difficult time getting on but the staff at the front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful 4-star review on Tripadvisor. It gives us such great pleasure to know that we managed to meet your expectations.

We take pride on delivering high level of service standards and we are pleased that this was well achieved by our reception team members. Your tip on wifi service will be very useful to other travellers. Just in addition, the free access is all through out the hotel public areas including bars and restaurants.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you can get yourself on a higher floor than around 15 chances are you'll have a better experience (but only slightly). Book a 'Standard' room for approx £140 a night and the liklihood is you'll be met with mouldy windows & door frames (in the bathroom), peeling paintwork on the window sills, bathroom doors bowing with the moisture and a carpet that you def won't want to walk on in bare feet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are both disappointed and concern with your feedback. Although we do have bedrooms that have not been recently refurbished, we take pride on providing only clean and comfortable rooms to our guests. Nevertheless we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Having said that, we have over 1000 bedrooms in the hotel and if the described room condition was reported whilst you were staying in house, we are certain that one of our reception team members would have been able to change your room swiftly up to your satisfaction.

We hope that despite of the experienced issue for this particular stay, you will choose to stay with us again so we can restore your faith in us.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, recently refuted but straining under the pressure.

Check in takes ages, hilton honours or not.

Some rooms good, some definitely not.

Bar ok but takes ages when busy - not enough staff.

Wifi ridiculously slow for a business hotel.

Sorted out it would be great, please get these relatively small points fixed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddieTheHedeghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
Our team members endeavour to deliver great experiences to our guests and we are pleased that this was significantly delivered. On the other hand, we are very sorry that you encountered minor issues during your stay which led you to give us an overall disappointing 2-star rating. Rest assured that the enumerated points will shortly be rectified. Next phase of our refurbishment is the Tower Wing and we are certain that when this is completed, we will hear more positive feedback from guests. We are closely monitoring our staffing level to ensure we are at great speed of service all across the hotel operations. Lastly, we do have the leading broadband provider in the UK and they are constantly working on getting the wifi service up to its maximum speed.

Once again thank you very much for your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton London Metropole.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#400 of 1,069 in London
3,877 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#259 of 1,069 in London
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Hilton London Kensington
#503 of 1,069 in London
4,163 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#76 of 1,069 in London
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#288 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing