We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hotel stay in London”
Review of Astor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Astor Court Hotel
Ranked #603 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Most staff were very good (1 bad one). Didn't get the room I booked first night, had to wait for it until next day. First room was not good at all. The heat was shut off for the summer even though the temp was mid 50's at night. I will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodman20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

The reception area was inviting and bright and the reception staff were helpful and welcoming. We were able to leave our bags in the storage room prior to the check in time which was great as we then didn’t have to carry them around with us. Once we checked in we were given our room keys and then advised we were on the 5th floor but unfortunately the lift was broken so would have to walk. The receptionist apologised but we still had no option but to climb the stairs. This was not pleasant especially given the fact that we had luggage and a pensioner amongst us, however we managed to reach the room eventually. Our room was clean, basic and quiet, certainly not modern but as we were only there for 1 night that didn’t matter.
Upon returning back to the hotel after an evening out we found that the lift was still out of order but there was a staff service lift that we could use. Phew what a relief as we didn’t fancy climbing all the stairs to the 5th floor again. Why did the receptionist not tell us this in the afternoon?
Breakfast is sufficient, cereal, toast, yogurts, pastries, tea, coffee & juice. We checked out and again were able to leave our luggage until the time we were ready to leave London for our homeward journey, again making it so we could enjoy the day luggage free. Would I stay there again? Yes is the answer, location is brilliant, pricing is good, breakfast was adequate, a quiet clean room and that’s all you need for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Astor Court Hotel for 3 nights in April. Rooms were rather tired, needing new carpets. Toilets were separated from the washbassin, not convenient. The hot water in the bathtub was boiling hot, and very difficult to adjust.
Breakfast was below average, very cheap bread for toasting, old paestry and rolls and very cheap marmelade and cheese, coffe from a cheap machine etc. No fruit.
But the location was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenteDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Reception area is bright and modern as is the breakfast room but sadly this is not reflected in the rooms. They are spacious but really need a boost. Carpets and flooring throughout plus the décor and furniture are tired and dated. Breakfast was adequate and topped up regularly by staff, who were all friendly! The biggest selling point of this hotel is the location for shopping etc plus it is in a very quiet location. Sad to say though def won't be going back, sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simplymo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Me and my mom stayed there for 5 days. The room was beautiful, very clean, spacious, ancient style. We loved it! The staff was very kind and helpful. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, so I wouldn't know how it was.The location is perfect! Five minutes walk to oxford street- seven if you enjoy an easy walk like us. It is also a few minutes walk to oxford circus tube station, and great portland street tube station. Regent park is about ten minutes walk.

We had a great time at this hotel, and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adimeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We stay at this hotel every trip to London which is two or three times a year ! Only time we don't stay is if they are full !
Can't fault this hotel the staff are so friendly and helpful plus the rooms are spacious and clean - location is just the best ! 5 mins Walk to Oxford st - regent street !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Not sure I would stay there again. It was not bad. Simply put, it was just too expensive for what we got. The personnel are helpful and courteous but that is all you will get. Nothing impressive and just a bit overpriced. Overall, not bad.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank 1_traveling_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#536 of 1,077 in London
612 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#766 of 1,077 in London
672 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#631 of 1,077 in London
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#556 of 1,077 in London
966 reviews
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#821 of 1,077 in London
338 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Court Hotel

Address: 20 Hallam Street, London W1W 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #603 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £81 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Court Hotel is a comfortable, secure living environment set in the heart of London's West End. The Hotel is housed in an historic former Gentlemen's Club which was converted in the early 1900's. The 45 well-appointed rooms (currently being reviewed for cyclical redecoration) and six apartments provide the perfect balance of modern comfort and Victorian Architecture. The unique features in this Grade 2 Listed Building give each room its own character. It is ideally located for Oxford Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly/Covent Garden shopping and close to Theaterland and its restaurants, clubs, pubs and cinemas. The Astor Court Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Oxford, Regent and Bond Streets, Hyde Park and London's West End. The Hotel and its Apartments offer comfortable, affordable accommodation and it is in one of the most prestigious areas of Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Court London
Hotel Astor Court
Astor Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing