We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little oasis”
Review of Astor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astor Court Hotel
Ranked #616 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were looking for somewhere (relatively!) inexpensive to stay in London for a quick one-night stay and came across this place. Our room was like a nice little apartment, with separate toilet and shower and looked like it might have been a batchelor flat at some stage. The decor was 20s - 30s, reasonably maintained albeit with a few smudges on the walls here and there; the bathroom was adequate although small and again showing a few signs of wear, basin tap turning round, enamel coming off the bath.

The best thing about this hidden hotel was that it was really convenient for travel (tube, trains etc.), shopping and pretty much everything we wanted to do was in easy walking distance; the staff were lovely, the breakfast was adequate (continental only) and we had a really nice time in London, in part at least due to this friendly, comfortable place....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I liked staying at the Astor. My room was nice, even though not modern. But that's exactly, what I liked about it. What might be an issue for others is the sound of the underground that accompanies you through the night.
The stuff is friendly, during day-time helpful... The breakfast is okay, it met my expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank HellaFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just had 3 nights here and we were very comfortable. Nice to stay somewhere with a bit of character rather than the usual bland corporate hotels, the Astor Court used to be a gentleman's club and a few original features were still visible in our room. Staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly and our room was spotlessly clean and spacious, we even had a sitting room which for London is a real bonus as space usually costs extra. And, joy of joys, full size bath towels! Continental breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice so no excuse for not filling up before going out. The location was great, only a short walk to the tube and buses on Regent Street or Oxford Street and taking a short cut through the BBC complex saved time and allowed us to spot a few familiar faces from the telly and see the newsroom in action. There is also a very friendly pub on the corner, just right for a nightcap. Being on the ground floor we could hear the tube underneath us at first but we stopped noticing it very quickly and they do stop at midnight until 6am ish so it didn't disturb our sleep, especially after the nightcap!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so could hear the tube at first -if you are a light sleeper perhaps a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townend_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Return visit to this hotel
Staff were very attentive and friendly
Room was very nice and well priced for location at the top of regent Street
Tip don't take the long way round cut through the BBC courtyard to Hallam Street

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was a functional hotel in a good location, but with very little frills and an undercurrent of datedness. I was allocated a ground floor room, which was spacious but very dated in its decor, and with what seems to be the obligatory chipped bath and blackness between the shower tiles despite the "heavily discounted" £126 price tag. The floor was incredibly squeeky when walked on- due to what seemed to be the construction rather than the floor-covering . The most interesting taste of real london was that what was presumably one of the tube lines seems to run directly beneath the hotel at a depth that means that every train can be heard or felt. My advice would be to enjoy the solutude between midnight and 5-ish, as there wont be much peace outside of that.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms unless you are a train enthusiast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I like to travel, and we go normally to a big US or international brand hotel. During our trip to London this summer, our daughter joined us for three days after she finished her study abroad program at LSE. Unlike in USA, there were only few choices we had that can accommodate for three people in a room in London. Astor was one of them. We liked its location: it is just behind the BBC office, in a quiet neighborhood. The look of the building on the picture gave us an impression of typical London townhouses; and we thought it might give us a new experience in London other than staying in a 4-5 stars brand hotel. Actually it did, but the experience was mostly negative.
At first, when we checked in, it was a hot day in July, much too hot for a Californian. Getting into the room, we discovered that the hotel does not have air conditioning. The room temperature was 5-10 degree higher than that of outside and there was no fan or anything that could help to cool room temperature down. By-the-way, I didn't give the low rating because of the AC. It was my fault that we didn't check if this hotel has AC, we never thought about the possibility of a hotel without AC.
Secondly, the room is small, with one additional folding-roll-away bed in the room; we needed to zigzag in the room to reach to our bed. On the queen-size bed, I can feel the springs under my back; the bed quality was certainly not matching to any hotel beds we had slept before. We travel light, each of us has a 24” rolling suitcase, even though, and there was no place in the room or in the closest for our luggage.
The iron board is not in each room. There is one in the basement next to the staircases for all hotel guests, so you iron your shirt while the passersby looking at you.
If this is how Londoners live, I think I had the experience of it for three-days. Well, it was interesting.
I give the hotel a low rating because of the luggage room. There is one for travelers to use after their check-out, which is good. However, it is not supervised and not locked. Basically it is just a room for anyone to leave their luggage at their own risk. I believe the hotel can do better. It requires a minimum effort to have a log, a set of tags, and to install a locker for that room. Those small things would give travelers like us peace of mind while we continue to visit London before heading to a next city or to go home.

Room Tip: It is a long walk to reach to the closest Tube station (about 10 min.). There is a taxi station on P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Would not stay here again the bathroom was rough the bath had hardly any enamel left on it everything was cramed into the room I've stayed in better places in kattmando do you self a favour and go elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#552 of 1,081 in London
628 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#742 of 1,081 in London
692 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#544 of 1,081 in London
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#635 of 1,081 in London
1,210 reviews
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#271 of 1,081 in London
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Court Hotel

Address: 20 Hallam Street, London W1W 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £80 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Court Hotel is a comfortable, secure living environment set in the heart of London's West End. The Hotel is housed in an historic former Gentlemen's Club which was converted in the early 1900's. The 45 well-appointed rooms (currently being reviewed for cyclical redecoration) and six apartments provide the perfect balance of modern comfort and Victorian Architecture. The unique features in this Grade 2 Listed Building give each room its own character. It is ideally located for Oxford Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly/Covent Garden shopping and close to Theaterland and its restaurants, clubs, pubs and cinemas. The Astor Court Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Oxford, Regent and Bond Streets, Hyde Park and London's West End. The Hotel and its Apartments offer comfortable, affordable accommodation and it is in one of the most prestigious areas of Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Court London
Hotel Astor Court
Astor Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing