We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, poor nights sleep”
Review of Astor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astor Court Hotel
Ranked #577 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Tamworth, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Location, poor nights sleep”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, it was a great location for Oxford Street & Regent Street shopping and convenient walk to Euston Station.

The room shook every time a tube went past so sleep was awful. Breakfast was poor.

I wouldnt go back though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete-Andria-Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    284
    192
    59
    46
See reviews for
232
150
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I statyed for 2 nights at this hotel for business and felt that I had to write this review. Can I start by saying the staff were very nice but the hotel was definately not. The pro was its location which is wonderful for central London

Cons -
NO WIFI!!!! I was there on business and no wifi was a nightmare! unless I apid 10 euro a day which is criminal
1. I asked for a double but got triple single beds and they were so narrow you risk falling out!
2. The bed shoock everytime a tube went underneath ( and I was on the 4th floor)
3. There were dirty towels left behind the bath room door
4. The enamel was pealing off the bath making it look dirty and very unappealing
5. The toilet is what I can only assume was a closet and has no heating and an old fashioned pull chim which comes down via a hole in the plasterboard roof
6. Breakfast was tinned fruit cocktail and as I dont eat wheat that was all I could have and yogurt
7. the coffee was undrinkable

I will not be back and I do not recommend. Given the price I expected a lot better!

Room Tip: Dont do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twhDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here with my family, the only positive for this hotel is the fact that it is so close to Regent's and Oxford streets. The receptionist was so unhelpful an when asked questions would respond after a period of time with I don't know. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and probably the only one that does not have free wifi. Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorraineMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel in December 2012 and really enjoyed it. Now, you must understand that this is not an expensive hotel, so you should manage your expectation.

My window was overlooking another building with very little light coming in (who cares, I spent nights in the hotel only). The breakfast didn't have anything hot (not a big problem for me, I focused on the assortment of cheese, especially mild cheddar). The sink in the bathroom had separate faucets for hot and cold water (well, it's a common UK feature, I actually kind of enjoyed it). You could sometimes here the tube during the night (might be a problem if you live in country side, I am used to city noise).

That's about it for negative things. No the positive:

Close to the tube station, walking distance from Trafalgar Square and other sighseeing places (Baker street, Big Ben, etc), very cozy rooms, kettle and tea in the room, nice breakfast (I didn't care about lack of hot food, really), very clean, has its own spirit, a good pub nearby, many more good pubs 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel for everyone who wants a value for money place to stay in London. I did enjoy it very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tordosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Short walk to Great Portland and Oxford Streets (Oxford Circle Station.
Plenty of shopping, convenience stores, pubs and restaurants nearby.
Convenient 2 room apartments for families.
Good continental breakfast.
Subway a short walk at Regents Park, Marylebone Road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BillBob1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Reasonable hotel. Clean. Nice welcome at Reception. Decent continental breakfast included. Bedroom well equipped. A bit faded and in need of a refurb but nothing wrong with the place. Had room on fourth floor so the sound of the Underground not as obvious as it would have been on lower floors. Would happily stay there because this is a nice part of London. Just north of historic Fitzrovia and 10 minutes from the bars and restaurants of Soho. To the West is Marylebone High Street for trendy eateries and to the East Great Portland and Goodge Streets where there are some proper decent London pubs. So, a decent hotel for the price in a more interesting part of London than most.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent 4 nights here and found it was walking distance from the major shopping streets and close to the Oxford Circus tube station. There's also a great little pub nearby, the Horse & Groom, although we didn't eat here because the kitchen was closed on Sunday nights. The room was a good size for inner city and very clean. We found the bed and pillows too soft and you could hear the underground rumbling underneath, but apart from this we were happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#515 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#499 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#419 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#722 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#612 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Court Hotel

Property: Astor Court Hotel
Address: 20 Hallam Street, London W1W 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Court Hotel is a comfortable, secure living environment set in the heart of London's West End. The Hotel is housed in an historic former Gentlemen's Club which was converted in the early 1900's. The 45 well-appointed rooms (currently being reviewed for cyclical redecoration) and six apartments provide the perfect balance of modern comfort and Victorian Architecture. The unique features in this Grade 2 Listed Building give each room its own character. It is ideally located for Oxford Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly/Covent Garden shopping and close to Theaterland and its restaurants, clubs, pubs and cinemas. The Astor Court Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Oxford, Regent and Bond Streets, Hyde Park and London's West End. The Hotel and its Apartments offer comfortable, affordable accommodation and it is in one of the most prestigious areas of Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Astor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Court London
Hotel Astor Court
Astor Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing