We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good comfort, fair price considering”
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #573 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 26 January 2014

considering you're in London, where hotel prices are a folly. The area where the hotel is located is perfect - just a few blocks from the British Museum, lots of restaurants, walking distance to Leicester Sq, Soho, and all the fun. Public transportation is everywhere, and there are lots of shops, supermarkets, whatever you want.

The hotel itself is typical of small London hotels. An old big house was transformed to be a hotel. It is cozy, with a very nice conservatory. I booked a single room and it was tiny, despite what you see in the pictures portrayed on the site. Basic facilities are available - a small TV, wardrobe, electronic safe (that never got to work despite my requests to reception), desk, radio. The bathroom was the good surprise - newly fitted, nice shower with plenty of hot water.

I never tried breakfast - much cheaper and healthier to have something in one of the several cafes along Store St. I have stayed in a couple other hotels on Gower St. and this is the best I tried. But don't be fooled by 4 stars. This is not a luxury hotel.

All in all, I think you get a good deal in terms of price, comfort and convenience. I'd happily come back, but would go for a larger room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSOP_AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

I am glad you found the property location useful as it is indeed central to all major transport links and attractions. We offer a variety of rooms suited to specific needs - some people find the single rooms adequate for their business stay but, others might enjoy a bit more space as its a more leisurely visit.

Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Found a few hotels with suites/family rooms that slept 4 online and the Academy looked the best... All we required was somewhere to crash after a night on the sauce... as it turned out the Academy was a nice clean quiet hotel and I cant complain at all as we got a great price and had good stay in London. Will definatley consider staying here again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PW_SpursUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property following your stay with us.

We do have very good offers on our family rooms and I am glad you were able to book one of them.

Thank you for your positive feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel stuff are super helpful and friendly! The hotel is clean, silent and very central. Definitely a place to stay! Walking distance from subway and UCL. I really appreciated the friendliness of people here. They also have a nice open buffet breakfast, which includes a wide range of food.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank elmyrathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property following your stay with us.

We have a close working relationship with UCL and I was therefore glad to read that you found our property suitable from a work and commute perspective - its all about location!

Thank you for your kind words relating to our staff and of course, there is nothing like a good breakfast to start your day off with!

Looking forward in welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and wanted to leave a nice review as the Wife and I had a lovely stay in the hotel. It was booked because of the location to the theatres. What impressed us both was the size of the double room. As the bathroom is located down it's own flight of stairs it makes the room very big. This makes a welcome change to the usual hotel rooms as it is unique in this aspect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank westyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us again following your last experience!

Location is one of our strongest features as you rightly mentioned but, it is also a rare commodity to find a good sized bedroom which I am glad you found in us.

Do let me know when you are staying with us again - you are after all a regular guest now!

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We found The Academy on Hotels Tonight app and was skeptical because of the price vs location. It ended up being really great. I've stayed at multiple higher end hotels in central London in the past and this was better than pretty much all of them. It's more of a BnB with amenities of a large chain hotel. Also perfect location of course!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdaSmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property following your stay with us.

We have a number of offers available at any given time but, I will always recommend using our own website for the best possible deals available!

Hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked our room last minute and couldn't of been more pleased. The rooms were well furnished. The showers were hot and the water pressure was awesome! The feel of a boutique hotel with all the perks you get from a larger hotel. An impressive room service selection and even a couple 24 hour options for the restless traveler. I would definitely book again. Great deal!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineMcGoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property following your stay with us.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the key areas within our property. Glad you enjoyed the benefits of a great deal!

Please keep an eye on our website for more great offers coming up this January including our Winter Break package.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for London's theatres and shopping. It's on a main road but our room was quiet. The room was big enough but pretty standard, no special or unusual touches you may expect from a boutique hotel. We got the room for £100 which is good for this location. The room was ok but could have been a little cleaner, it looked a bit unloved. The staff were helpful though.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JBugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing our property following your stay with us.

I was glad to read that you found the location and the size of your room suitable to your visit. Our location is one of our strongest features being positioned within walking distance to Oxford street and many other attractions in the West End.
Our property features, décor and smaller touches within the rooms do make us stand out from the rest of our competitors and placing us comfortably in the boutique market.

Your offer of £100 was of course a great deal, please do keep your eye out for some of our fantastic Sale specials in January 2014!

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#492 of 1,081 in London
382 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#136 of 1,081 in London
1,300 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#470 of 1,081 in London
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#80 of 1,081 in London
1,847 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#554 of 1,081 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#621 of 1,081 in London
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#346 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £97 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. The Academy: Renovation Works Please be informed that due to exterior renovation works to the hotel, scaffolding will be erected on the outside of the building from 15th August until the end of September 2017. Our aim is to cause as little inconvenience as possible. Thank you for your understanding and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing