We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal found on group on :)”
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #555 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here (2 couples) we were put in the top rooms lots of stairs but didn't mind.
Paid £99 for room a really good continental breakfast. it was really clean and good breakfast.
Beds comfy and nice pillows. The towels were thick and fluffy!
:) happy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123l_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review our property.

That does sound like a very good deal! Glad you enjoyed our property and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had afternoon tea here, the atmosphere was good very quiet, we where not rushed in any way..The sandwiches were good with lovely fresh bread especially the ham. Scones with plenty of cream and jam.
Staff where friendly and very helpful.
The location was good and very close to the museum.
When in London again I would even think of staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Des & Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

Glad you enjoyed the afternoon tea and the setting to go with it! Please contact us directly if you are travelling to London next so we can give you the best available offer.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We've stayed here twice in three years -- a fine, clean, quiet, competent small hotel in a great location for the British Museum and Bloomsbury -- and we still don't understand how their website claims four-star status when they don't even have an elevator. On both visits of three nights each, fate laughed and put us in small, dark Room 58, on the top floor, up several steep staircases, with a tiny bathroom literally smaller than bathrooms we've had on trains. (Not to brag, but my hands are larger than the toy-sized sink.) The bed was comfortable, though a far cry from the hotel's photos of a Double Room. Breakfast has always been good, with fresh fruit, juice, eggs, cold ham, cheese, and croissants. Wifi, free with individual 24-hour passwords from the front desk, is okay.

So, with luck (or if you are more forceful than we are), and you get a room like they advertise, without excessive stairs, it could be wonderful. We've resigned ourselves that if we return we'll have to spend the extra for a Luxury Double just so we don't get crammed yet again in a wee garret.

Days later we stayed at The Savoy, twice the price of the Academy per night, and got what we paid for.

Restaurant tip: Around the corner on Store Street is a terrific Thai place, Busaba Eathai. (I'd never admit to going to a burger joint in London, but those milkshakes at Byron, also on Store St., are pretty amazing.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

The Academy Hotel has 49 bedrooms ranging from single, double, luxury double to suites. These rooms are all scattered throughout the property and all on various floors due to the nature of the building and the fact that it is a graded property.

The Academy Hotel boasts itself on its location and the fact that it is a quant 4* boutique hotel in a quiet yet central location for guests who want to enjoy a quiet night’s sleep with a good breakfast. Yes, some rooms are smaller than others but, in general terms I will have to say that we have very good sized rooms on the London benchmark and this has been acknowledged by previous reviews.

When you stay with us next please ask the reservations team to allocate you in your preferred part of the building which they will happily do.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in "the Garden Suite" room (in the basement) of The Academy for a weekend. We booked the hotel as it looked good, and reasonably priced, on booking.com. And we certainly didn't regret it. Within a few minutes walk of the British Museum and 10 mins of Euston, it is in a great location. There was no queue for check in, and the staff showed us to the room. The room (a suite for the four of us: 2 adults, 2 children), was big - and it had a very small garden outside with table and chairs - which was a nice touch. The hotel has real character, with rooms off in different directions and up and down small flights of stairs - but that does mean that there is slight noise in the evening and morning as people in various rooms settle down/get up. The hotel's old character may also be the cause of the not ideal water pressure for the shower. But those are niggles - this is a great hotel, and realy improved by the great staff - understated but attentive. Finally, the breakfast was excellent - a la carte so takes a bit longer than your standard buffet. The breakfast price is standard hotel rates - which wasn't too bad for London - on the second morning we ate at Garfunkels and the cost was almost exactly the same.

Overall - this is one we will be staying in again, and I may well switch to this as my choice of business hotel if the price stays right.

Room Tip: Garden Suite easily sleeps 2 adults and 2 children with plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinhs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Thank you for your lovely feedback and it was good to read that you enjoyed the unique little features and quaintness of the property. The garden area outside your suite is definitely an area better enjoyed with a bit of sunshine!

With regards to potential business stays, I will contact you directly to talk through the options available.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had booked an afternoon tea for my birthday, we was greeted very pleasantly by the reception and showed to a small waiting area but then the tea came up this would have been a better idea in the summer as there is a quite garden area, the tea was perfect 16 nice finger sandwiches 4 scones with cream and jam and 6 little cakes all washed down with a good glass of sparkling wine, a glass of water and a cafeteria of lovely coffee

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Thank you for your lovely feedback. The property with its two fantastic courtyards is the ideal place to come and enjoy a quiet afternoon tea away from the hustle and bustle whilst still centre to all the main attractions.

I hope we see you back soon to enjoy a bit of sunshine and another afternoon tea in the courtyard!

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Location very good, lovely staff, good spacious room, nicely decorated breakfast room, bar and good quality breakfast.
Bathroom very below expectation, plastic shower curtain in bath, poor water output, only fixed shower head and the water hardly reached my feet, grey grouting, etc felt more like student digs. The fire door banged every time someone went in and out, sound proofing not great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Good to hear that you found the location, service and breakfast to your expectation. We are planning some refurbishment work in and around our bathroom areas so I hope you will be able to see the difference during your next visit.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stay away a lot and have started is dives and top end hotels. The Academy is is almost at the top of the list.

Beautifully finished rooms, plenty of space, storage, tea coffee, iPod Dock, good size tv, lovely clean bathroom!


Downsides? Breakfast isn't included. I'll never understand why hotels insist on this when the costs are so high! We had b'fast on day 1 but went out on day 2. It is very good but at £15, very expensive.

Would I stay again? Yes

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ruthio1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Thank you for the stamp of approval following your travels throughout some of London's properties.

With regards to breakfast, as with all of our competitors in the local area breakfast remains an important food & beverage income and also cost. To enable us to offer the best possible product and service it is imperative that we charge for this area of the business.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#419 of 1,076 in London
1,014 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#550 of 1,076 in London
357 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#327 of 1,076 in London
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#618 of 1,076 in London
230 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#82 of 1,076 in London
1,799 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,076 in London
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. The Academy: Renovation Works Please be informed that due to exterior renovation works to the hotel, scaffolding will be erected on the outside of the building from 15th August until the end of September 2017. Our aim is to cause as little inconvenience as possible. Thank you for your understanding and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing