We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Farringdon
Ranked #793 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Kent
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

As there are so many poor reviews of the Farringdon Road Travelodge, I wasn't going to comment, but then I read Tracy H's report and wondered if she'd stayed in the same place as us? There is another refurbished Travelodge in King's Cross?
Two weeks ago we stayed at the Kew Bridge Travelodge, which was very nice indeed - very clean, lovely position, as good as many non-budget hotels.
By contrast, I can only agree with many other reviewers about Farringdon Road - our room was decidedly grubby, especially the bathroom, the public areas were run down and dirty, the exception being the bar which was OK.
Breakfast was chaotic, with things running out frequently because of the numbers they were serving, but the staff were working very hard to replace items, and also cleared tables quickly. In fact the one saving grace with this "hotel" was its staff - they were delightful, and as helpful as they could possibly be in the circumstances.
We would never stay here again, simply because of the dirty and run down nature of the place - but we were frequently told that they were due for refurbishment - until that happens, I'd avoid it!
I was horrified to discover that if we'd booked on the day, the price would have been £139, whereas we were fortunate enough to have only paid £39.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fromourpointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    469
    653
    425
    535
See reviews for
315
857
195
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I use this hotel regular, especially when visiting London woth friends for sports events. It has friendly staff, is always clean and usually allows us to check-in afore midday when paying for early check-in. It is ideal for Kings Cross station, and although there are two other Travelodges closer this is cheaper than one and cleaner than the other. Have used this hotel numerous times and already have four other bookings for later this year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank KGLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
280 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with superbreak holiday. Friends stayed at another travelodge and were able to check in early but at the farringdon we had to wait till 3.30. Once in the room it smelt of sewage was dirty. A bottle of bleach wouldn't put it right. When we came back after the fireworks had a brandy which was full of flies. When given another it was the same they were in the bottle YUK. when going for breakfast they not had us down once they found our booking they eventually let us have breakfast which was nothing special juice and tea from a machine. The next day had the same problem with breakfast. Will not be staying here again and advise anyone else not to bother.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We found that the Farringdon Travelodge was convenient for the underground. It is situated between two stations, so it is easy to travel around the City. The staff were polite and well mannered. The hotel reception area and the bedroom were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and we both slept very well. Although it seemed busy it was still Quiet and peaceful! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely be visiting again.



  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed New Year's Eve, I'd read all these reviews but everywhere else was fully booked or £300 for the night so took my chances with this. We paid £160 for b&b and booked back in September.
It is in desperate need of a refurb, the room was room 254 which you'd prusume was on second floor but yes go to 2nd floor walk right to the end then go down a floor via stairs to a room that smells musty and damp with a window that looks onto dirty air conditioning and like others have said sounds like your on the railway with train noise.
The window was open upon arrival we presume to get rid of the musty smell which it didn't. Also no hot water from sink so didn't even try the shower.
They new we was booked in as a family with small child but the room only had a double bed but we had a meal booked at the rainforest so had no time to try and change room plus we new they was fully booked by our check in when people had been double booked and was complaining.
We actually all had a good sleep but that might of been because we'd walked a lot to get back from watching all the New Year's Eve celebrations and didn't get in till 2am. We went down for breakfast at 9.30 where the dining area was just total chaos as there didn't seem enough spaces for the size of hotel and a little area where 4 trays of the hot breakfast was next to the toast machine and orange juice and you couldn't get to any thing because it was all placed in positions where no thought had gone into how people could get to things?? Then when you do get food there's no cutlery??? So wait again. Same goes for the cereal stand plenty of cereal but no bowls or spoons, seen one chap waiting and asking staff for things then still waiting for ages. We didn't even manage to get a tea or coffee because you guessed it there was no cups???
Will definitely not be returning and would think this hotel is never full during the week and and only full on New Year's Eve night and they obviously couldn't handle this amount of people. Stay clear is my opinion.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank a7ccd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here for one night and that is all you need for this hotel. Rooms are too small, bath is great if you are under 3 foot tall..

Did not sleep well as there was noise from outside throughout the night. I was at the rear of the hotel so it was not street noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Dirty bathroom complete with foul stench and tap that did not stop dripping.. Window that did not close fully so you could hear the King's Cross road traffic ALL night. Given one towel in a double room for two people(??) Two single beds pushed together in a double room - one had a broken frame and should have been replaced resulting in one of the most uncomfortable night's of no sleep. Explained in the morning this was unacceptable, especially for someone recovering from back related surgery 6 months ago, Manager "could not do anything about it". After 10 odd minutes of banging my head against a brick wall they offered to put me through to customer services but actually put me through to the wrong number and was hung up on. Then was told by the Manager that was the only number he had so he could do nothing else. We had booked for two nights but needless to say we left straight after the wonderful exchange with the Manager and did not stay the second night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#529 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Farringdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Farringdon

Property: Travelodge London Farringdon
Address: 10-42 King's Cross Road | between King's Cross and Farringdon stations, London WC1X 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #793 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Farringdon 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated close to King's Cross Station & a short drive from West End, British Museum & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Farringdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Farringdon Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing