We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated And Drab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Ranked #329 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dated And Drab”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

This hotel was very poor in every department. The check in experience was appalling and the room was really really grim. The bathroom was horrendous with a horrible shower curtain and a shower that dribbled out water. The night I stayed was a miserable wet night and I swear the room smelt damp.

the only saving grace (pardon the pun) is the location of this hotel and the fact that it is only 2 minutes walk from Bank tube station.

I will never stay in this hotel again if I can help it

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    575
    261
    64
    26
See reviews for
174
413
88
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Well, terrible probably for one reason, but wasn't good generally. The room was very cold (had a corner room with two large windows), the bathroom was like a fridge. Even with the heating on it didn't get that warm. The hotel also seems to be associated with Deliverance take away food. We were back late so decided to give it a go, we went for chinese. Firstly, the hotel brought up our order with just one plate and set of cutlery, when I asked for some more cutlery, I was told that they had run out but could get me another plate! I declined and set down to tuck in. The food was nothing to write home about, and was very salty. The egg fried rice was dry and hard. All in all, not good value for money at all.
Unfortunately I left my nintendo ds on a shelf, behind some books. Having checked out yesterday I called them today - no one had checked in to the room until today. After numerous calls, and a grumpy occupant of the room, the staff rather stupidly asked the occupant to look for my DS! Anyway, the current occupant claims it isn't there, the only other people that have been into the room are presumably the cleaners. Without pointing the finger at either party, you can draw your own conclusions......

I won't be going back for all of the above!

  • Liked — Free Internet
  • Disliked — Freezing cold room.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Helbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

Stayed for 4 nights between Xmas and New Years 2009. Location was quiet, no sirens, no street noise, which I enjoyed. Not much around on the weekend but you are a 5 to 10 minute walk to touristy areas which have a lot open. 2 minute walk to the underground and 5 minute walk to the Thames and London Bridge. So, location was great for me. The rooms are comfortable and the shower is superb. Bathrooms are not big, but big enough to get the job done. Some London Hotels still do not understand how a shower is supposed to work. Like any tourist city, you need to shop around for food and drink and find the best place nearby. I would recommend this Hotel if you do not want to be in the middle of the Tourist area but can access it very easy. Value for money was very good, in my opinion, especially considering the other alternatives.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Open Restuarants next door
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beraminc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

This membership-usually location became available at the last minute through Orbitz so I canceled a reservation at another London hotel. This is a very comfortable and convenient location for business in the City. The reception staff was courteous and helpful. The room was well appointed and had a free high speed internet connection. There are not many weekend restaurants in the area, but plenty during the week. Overall this is an above average place to stay for business.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriorBluffton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

This venue is quite clearly aimed at business travellers. It's a great location for the City, and the automated check-in and helpful staff mean that you can get to your room with the minimum of fuss, and check out in the same manner in the morning.

The rooms are great for a single person on business - a good desk, nice (but not luxurious) bathroom, and a nice touch of a device which lets you play an ipod through the radio. It's a little bit tired and old, but that really doesn't matter very much, and the location and speed of checking in and out make up for it.

There isn't any reason to stay in this part of London other than for work/business.

  • Liked — Helpful staff, fast check in, business facilities
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Prof_Yaffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

Spent 5 nights here and enjoyed my stay.

The hotel is very well located - close to many bus routes, train stations (Fenchurch St, London Bridge) and Tube/DLR (Bank) with many within easy reach (such as Moorgate and Liverpool Street). Perfect for both business in the city, and the surrounding parts of east London. Weekend guests should note that lots of stores/restaurants etc in the vicinity will be closed on Saturday/Sunday due to the majority of the companies in the area being closed - but it's still easy to get in and out of by public transport to busier parts of London.

My room on the rear of the second floor was compact, but still perfectly spacious with a reasonable bathroom, and walk in shower. The only thing missing was somewhere to put luggage (a stand etc) to help you unpack, and what I thought was a strange omission - no in-room safe, which I thought most hotels of this level would have.

Staff seemed quite friendly, although you have no need to interact with them if you don't wish to - the automated check-in and check-out via terminals in the lobby was a breeze.

Minor problems in terms of finish (lots of little scratches and wear and tear to be seen in both room and corridors), the heating (which seemed quite hard to make give a consistent temperature) and the rather "laid back" attitude of the desk staff on the final night of my stay when the internet went down for the entire evening. While I appreciate they don't charge directly for the service - they market themselves as a business hotel! No attempt at any service recovery, or gesture to apologise. The reply was simply "it's not expected back". I felt a little let down, and thought some small gesture should have been made - or even a more genuine apology.

Also surprising was the single sachet of coffee left for guests to use, and the lack of a spoon (nothing but plastic stirrers). Seems just a little cheap and nasty for a hotel aiming for business clientèle.

The good outweighed the bad at City Quarters - but the small flaws just let the property down. It has so much potential to be a great bolt-hole for those who need to be in the City of London, but it needs to make a push to bring it all together.

  • Liked — Location - excellent for that part of London
  • Disliked — The small, annoying flaws that just meant the hotel didn't quite pass muster..
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank colmirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

The Club Quarters sits in a super spot opposite Leadenhall Market and around 5mins walk from Bank - the heart of London City. You're surrounded by some of London's most magnificent architecture, as well as alleyways and pubs steeped in history.

Check in here is unique; although there is a receptionist, you can check in by computer using your card/booking reference. The lobby area features a relaxing lounge with a huge ceiling, where you can enjoy a free coffee or tea.

As for the rooms, well most I understand are renovated, and they are business-like in appearance, with dark woods and large beds, air con and nice TV, tea&coffee facilities. Bathroom was a little small, but very smart with amenities too.

Breakfast is in the basement, in a cute and unusually chic bar - it is expensive though as others have said, so be prepared for that! However, I liked the choice and it was certainly different!

A great find, especially if you can track down a good rate.

  • Liked — Great location in the heart of The City
  • Disliked — Over expensive breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#79 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#49 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#123 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#468 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Address: 7 Gracechurch Street, London EC3V 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#274 Family Hotel in London
#336 Romantic Hotel in London
#338 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 203 rooms located in the historic district of the City of London. Minutes from Leaden Hall Market shopping area and close to the Tower of London, London Bridge and St. Paul's Cathedral. Nestled among charming pedestrian streets linking London's ancient churches, parks and public houses. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast, free self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 2 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Gracechurch Hotel London
Hotel Quarters Gracechurch
Quarters Gracechurch Hotel
Club London Quarters
Club Quarters London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing