We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading glimpse of the great past”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #264 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bussum
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fading glimpse of the great past”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel still shows that some (many) years ago it was really a top place. Expensive post- deco furniture, perfect location ( if you have the bridge view this is one of the very best in London). But fresh paint does not hide the need for more radical cleanup, a lot of things are broken (in my room there is no heating and I'm waiting already half an hour for a portable heater) and the quality of television picture is out of years 80.
If you can get a reasonable rate it is still a good option - top location, clean and reasonably spacious.
Note you must walk from the metro or from the most convinient bus (15) about 5 minutes.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ilya1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,528
    2,435
    960
    347
    239
See reviews for
873
2,772
260
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Hotel has over the years has earned a poor reputation amongst people I have spoken too, but it was just great. Trumping my needs was closeness to my daughters university accommodation. Just a great choice. Comfortable, great service, outstanding location close to attractions and, of course, The Tower of London. Excellent rooms. Benefits include parking and St. Katherin Dock, next to the hotel, that offers many restaurants and shops. The view from our hotel room, on the 11th floor was a 20 pound surcharge, overlooking Tower Bridge and the Thames. Breathtaking.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly and book a view room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
233 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I'm not fund at all to stay in big hotels like this one, with some 800 rooms it scared me, BUT : i was wrong. The hotel is very well organised and you never feel the crowds. Lots of reception staff, enough lifts, breakfastroom divided over three spots in the weekend, so people never have to wait to long... a few examples over how they try and manage this enormous numbers. We were lucky to have a good view room and altough the building is not new (windows could be changed), the rooms are well decorated,even large to most london standards.. so you get a cosy feeling. I just found the bathroom to small, but it was well equiped so no real complaint. Sleep quality was really good and check out was smooth and quick. FInally the price we paid was worth the scare and altough i prefer to stay in a more upmarket hotel (like the Royal Horseguards) i will certainly stay here again when traveling with friends. A well meant compliment to all of the hotel staff and management !

Room Tip: high and tower bridge side... but even the rooms at the back looking St Katerines docks are very muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I’m pleased that your concerns over the size of the hotel were eased by the attentive nature of the team. I hope that the next time you’re in London with friends we’ll have the chance to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Billy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have tried others, and we are not great ones for returning to the same place, but, after 7 visits, the Tower has to be our favourite for its proximity to the river, four types of transport, waterside walking opportunities and potential of great views over the Thames or the lovely St Katherine's Dock. The bar has the same great view of Tower Bridge and the Shard and the breakfasts, as long as you ensure you pre-book at £12 each, are good value. However, we always try to keep an eye out for room deals to avoid the risk of a fair comment of being excessive if full whack rate is the only option. There are normally lots of offers available on the multitude of sites. The hotel rooms have a touch of their birth in the '80s and there were touches of mould in our bathroom, but the bath filled up really efficiently and shower was a strong one, so dropping it a notch maybe churlish. For car drivers, although the nightly on-site parking cost is going up and up, it is outside the congestion zone and obviously convenient. Restaurants are available on the dock, especially the Dickens Inn, and acroos the bridge past Boris's lair. Great to come back to after a busy day in Central London.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Bridge and river - avoid floor 1 and 2 40-80-ish - Disco Noise below? All other view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoesBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertridwr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night to celebrate our Ruby Anniversary, wished we could have stayed a few more nights! A really nice touch from manager/staff was to provide a courtesy bottle of wine to celebrate! We had a wonderful view of Tower Bridge from our room, hotel was spotlessly clean, all staff were helpful,polite and courteous,the breakfast the following morning was absolutely delicious with an excellent choice to suit all palates,all in all a a first class hotel.would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,
I’m so pleased you had such an excellent stay with us and were so happy with your breakfast.
It’s wonderful that you chose to spend such a special occasion as your ruby anniversary with us and we all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the financial area in London, it has superb views of the Tower Bridge but it results quite overpriced for the quality of the rooms and service.

The windows were quite old and not closing properly, which is not nice in winter!
The best point is its location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely hotel. The room reminded me of being on the Orient Express - furniture was all dark wood and the window was actually shaped like a railway carriage window but what a view we were overlooking Tower Bridge and just opposite Butler's Warf it was magic at night. Breakfast was very good lots to eat and we took advantage of their offer of early dining before going to the Theatre. Very convenient to the Underground and of course just around the corner from The Tower of London. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I’m really glad you found us a great place to stay and were so impressed by your view of Tower Bridge. It will be great to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#221 of 1,067 in London
3,580 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
9,149 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing