We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss ….”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #270 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Unique location right next to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London providing world class vistas.

Pros:
- location right on the river next to a number of world class sights
- very good breakfast buffet (but long lines on weekends)

However there are a lot of "Cons":
- once you move inside this is a large, inefficient, tired, soul-less monolith
- the room are cramped and outdated - in need of a major upgrade
- very poor windows - most don't open and those that do only open a small crack - visible signs of rot are frequent. Clearly maintenance has not been a priority for many years.
- for London, it was a bit of a walk to the closest Tube station - however the walk is right past the Tower of London so pleasant at all hours.
- gym was totally inadequate

Room Tip: Some rooms have phenomenal views of Tower Bridge or the Tower of London, others with nice view of S...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osprey412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,822)
There are newer reviews for The Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,184 - 4,190 of 6,824 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed on the 5th December-they could only offer me a room with two single beds-the beds were extremely uncomfortable and hard. I fell out of bed in the early hours and hurt my shoulder! Hardly slept a wink, which disrupted my sleeping patterns as I had to go to bed by 7.30pm -woke at 2.30am and I am still awake now-so not happy at all!

Check-in was slow and had to wait in a long queue... Another colleague said there is always a long queue!
Housekeeping staff need to have a little more thought when cleaning rooms, when they finished each room they would shut the doors with an almighty bang!
Bathroom was very small. No fridge in the room to store anything. Only bonus was that I had a good view of the bridge! Hotel is about a 5min walk to the nearest underground station (Tower Hill).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for one night only. Lots of rooms which means some are quite a long way from reception. Room was good as was general service throughout. Great location with some fantastic views.

Recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try and get one close to lifts
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A little bit of a mixed bag this hotel....check in was very slow, foyer well presented but the room was rather tired for such a modern looking hotel and extremely "compact". I stay in London frequently and often thought that I may book into the hotel on business....but I booked up for a weekend break with my wife & friends instead as it was located right next to the bridge. Heating in the room was non-existent and we ended up having a portable heater delivered. Bathroom extremely tired also. The View of St Katherine's Dock was very pleasing however, as was the view of the London Eye from my friends room.....so for the views its a good venue!....its location is also a plus - as you cannot get any closer to the City action.

However - overall not a fantastic hotel and would not stay there by choice again.

Room Tip: Book rooms overlooking the Thames, but level 5 and above as a minimum
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times particularly for the new year. We went on a package this which was excellent value. The hotel is very well placed next to the Tower of London and Tower Bridge and the tube station which gives access to central London. St Cathrines Dock is next door providing some excellent resturants but you need to book. The hotel resturants provides good brealfasts in the morning with a la cart menu in the evenings. The rooms are very comfortable the public areas are well kept. Last year we have stood on Tower Bridge for the new year and watched the fireworks with a bottle of champagne. This is not the cheapest hotel but one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked this online about a month before we wanted to visit London, and were very pleasantly surprised by the package that we got. The room we had should, apparently, have cost over £200, but we chose the "Romantic Package" which included champagne and breakfast in bed and only cost £155... I still don't quite understand how it worked out cheaper!

Situated right on Tower Bridge, and just a 2 minute walk from the Tower of London, the hotel has a perfect location, which was probably our main reason for choosing it. On arrival, we were very impressed by the hotel lobby and reception, and our check-in was handled very quickly and efficiently, and in a friendly manner.

We had asked in advance if we could have a view of the river, and even though they couldn't guarantee it, they said they would do what they could to accommodate this. Ideally we wanted a view of Tower Bridge, but I guess everybody does! When we found the room, we were quite impressed. A bottle of champagne was waiting for us, the room was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and pleasant. Our view down the river could have been nicer, but all in all we were fairly happy.

Breakfast was something else! We made our choices before we went to bed, and left them hanging outside our door, along with our preferred time. At 7:30 on the dot, after a wonderful night's sleep, we had a knock on the door and one of the staff was waiting outside with a sumptuous feast. Croissant, bagels, pastries, yoghurt and cereals made up the continental breakfast, along with a full English each, consisting of sausages, bacon, eggs, hash browns, mushrooms and toast. Fruit juice of our choice and a massive pot of tea and coffee was brought too. I've never had such an amazing breakfast anywhere!

I would definitely return here next time I am visiting London. The location, staff and amenities were second to none. My only slight criticism would be that the decor of the room could do with a little updating. The public areas were very impressive, but there were a couple of pieces of wallpaper that were peeling in our room, and it would have benefited from a bit of modernisation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights to celebrate birthday, upgraded to bridge view room, 10th floor what a view!!
Very quite in room no external noise heard unless window opened. Rooms are as stated in previous posts in need of makeover, that being said everything in room was in good working order, bed very comfortable, shower very powerful.
Public areas of hotel immaculately kept, all staff regardless of position very smart, knowledgeable, pleasant to talk to.
Stayed bed and breakfast, hot food well presented small quantity out at a time so fresh and hot!
Continental selection limited but sufficient, lovely fresh orange juice
Choice of 2 breakfast rooms, one on ground floor with views of bridge, the other on upper foyer with very good views of the marina, both set up the same for food service.
Not the cheapest of hotels but for a special occasion well worth the cost

Room Tip: if upgrading to bridge view ask for 10th floor, room 1033 was exceptional
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,073 in London
4,131 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,073 in London
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,073 in London
3,233 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#223 of 1,073 in London
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £107 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower Hotel is nestled between the River Thames, St Katharine Docks and alongside the World Heritage Site, the Tower of London, boasting unparalleled views of the iconic Tower Bridge. Our location and excellent choice of transport connections put you at the centre of this vibrant city, making it quick, convenient and most importantly, easy to experience the very best of what London has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing