We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #264 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Initially this is the ugliest building I have seen from the outside. Car parking is an extra £20 per night, and to enter the hotel from the car park is vile. The walk way is dated, carpet worn and lots of stairs to carry a suitcase up.

The initial main entrance of the hotel is very nice, clean, bright and modern. However it is far too hot in the reception area and corridors.

Our room was tiny, with only just enough room for one bedside cabinet. A wobbly floor lamp hap hazzardly placed in the room, in front of the window so I was unable to pass it to get into the bed. I had to crawl up the bed from the bottom to get in and out.

Breakfast was discussing. I think it was £12.50 per person for a buffet style cooked breakfast. It was vile. Watery scrambled eggs, a member of staff using her hands to squash down and re-fill the bacon.

On the plus side, a good view of tower bridge from the breakfast room. However, you are better off staying somewhere else and either walking or taking a bus or taxi to see tower bridge.

There was what appeared to be a job fare on in the hotel when we were there! Would have been nice to have been given this information, it does impact on what was supposed to be a romantic weekend!!

Room Tip: Use a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,578
    2,457
    972
    355
    240
See reviews for
892
2,813
262
1,462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,893)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for Friday 31st January as a surprise for my partners birthday (it is his favourite hotel also) and I can honestly say that I loved every minute of our stay and wish we could have extended it! The hotel staff were exemplary (unlike our stay in a different hotel the previous night), they were extremely helpful, polite and very enthusiastic about their jobs. When we arrived in our room it was spotlessly clean, smelled fresh and had a great view of the Thames and Tower Bridge. After dining out in the evening we went for a drink in the Xi Bar where again, the staff were fantastic. After going back to our room we found the bed to be extremely comfortable and also very warm! There was plenty of hot water for showers also. Going down for breakfast on the Saturday morning was a little odd as we had to queue to be seated but we weren't in a huge hurry so it didn't bother us as we moved pretty quickly and the hotel was busy; when we got our table there was a seemingly endless supply of hot food on the buffet, a great continental selection and the waiting staff came around regularly with tea and coffee - needless to say we were both stuffed! We checked out around 11am (checkout is 12 noon) and asked if we could leave our luggage somewhere which we did, free of charge, with the concierge. Again, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be returning to the hotel!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dancer_boy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here in November and i must say we found the Tower Hotel everything you would want ,the view from the room was fantastic overlooking Tower Bridge and beyond you could see the Shard and St Pauls , The room itself was very comfortable all the staff we found to be polite and welcoming,
Breakfast was a little bit chaotic as it was so busy but the food was nice when we were eventually seated , all in all we enjoyed our stay at a reasonable price and will return here on our next visit to London

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Tower Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Visited the Tower with my husband for our anniversary. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms could do with a bit of makeover. Looking bit tired. The view from the room was lovely. Overlooking Thames and Tower Bridge. The t.v only had 5 Chanel's so was bit disappointing. After long day shopping and evening meal was looking forward to feet up and bit of good t.v and relax. The breakfast was excellent. Had everything you could want. The location of the hotel is great. Walking distance from station and 2 minutes fron St Katherine's Dock with lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor. Room overlooks Tower Bridge and Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolann236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The views from many rooms are amazing, particularly those facing up river with regal Tower Bridge almost within reach in the foreground and the Shard piercing the sky beyond.

As for the hotel itself, it has gone up in my estimation. The service was very good and the facilities better than previously. The lounge, if you have access, is a very pleasant place for breakfast or quiet work. The gym on the other hand is below par. Also, beware, some of the rooms on the dark side can be small.

I would seriously consider staying there as it is a good hotel and the location is excellent. Just don't judge it from the outside

Room Tip: Some basic rooms are small and can be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simont247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Could not believe the queue for breakfast this morning, not very fitting for a major city hotel especially when they have two restaurants but decide not to open one on a weekend. Surely the management new how many people were staying and could have anticipated this, standing in a queue with 40 or 50 people was more like going to a football ground.

The hotel is now beginning to show its age inside and out and the windows are in need of a double glazed salesman!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Never let's you down. Great location on the Thames right by Tower Bridge. Great service, excellent rooms with awesome views of Bridge. St Katherine's Dock behind Hotel has many restaurants bars and coffee shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiathosrunningclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#170 of 1,068 in London
4,034 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#425 of 1,068 in London
9,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#219 of 1,068 in London
3,616 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing