We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #272 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel very nice, Location very good Continental breakfast Good, english breakfast good but they have to find a way of keeping it hot, eggs etc. Was always cold.
The Bar Good Service wonderfull Look over thames and Tower.
Roms clean and tidy

Room Tip: When booking State You want a room overlooking the Tower Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,182 - 4,188 of 6,918 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent a weekend at the tower and found it a perfect base for a few days in London. Rooms are good. The hotel is very clean. Staff very efficient and friendly. Breakfast really good.

Great location beside the Thames and the Tower of London.

Room Tip: We stayed the 10th floor. Well worth enjoying the view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BANDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for one night, room was clean and tidy, this hotel has stunning views of Tower bridge and is very close to The tower of London, St Katherine Dock and of course The Tower bridge, river trips and HMS Belfast across the bridge.
Our room was clean and tidy and had a good view of the river, The Hotel is very busy and the lifts can be a bit frustrating, breakfast time was busy but the food was ok. There is plenty to do and see around the area and is OK for a short visit.

Room Tip: Try and avoid busy times at Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My boyfriend booked this for us for a Valentine's Day treat, and we were left really disappointed by our stay. The first room we were given looked like the aftermath of a rave and we only took one step in there before quickly backing out again. There were chairs knocked over, bottles on the floor, linen and towels stained and dumped in piles all over the room and worst of all a massive moldy damp patch in the corner of the room. We felt like we were in The Shining...never go in room 1055....

The receptionist didn't seem surprised or concerned when we told her about the state of the room and switched us to another room on the 4th floor. This room was fine - pretty average - apart from the false nail on the bathroom floor and the fact that there was no cold water. There was also no handle on the mini-bar cupboard so we couldn't get that open but I guess that's a blessing really. On a positive note, the view of the bridge was amazing and it was lovely to be able to leave the curtains open and look out across the river.

What was not so lovely was being woken up at 8am by the maid asking us what time we would be checking out!! As we made our way to breakfast an hour or so later we were stopped again by the same maid who asked if we were leaving now. I wish we had been as breakfast was naff - hard eggs, a huge queue for the toast and staff standing around us itching to take our plates; I was still eating a pastry and my plate got whisked away. The couple behind us were complaining to the staff too so we weren't alone.

Not the romantic trip we had in mind, and not worth the value at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohhellosailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed on a deal Valentines night.
Pros
Easy parking (albeit overnight £20 but ok for London).
Good view of Tower Bridge from our room.
All staff were very good.
Doormen with big overcoats and top hats!
Dinner was very nice in the Brassiere with good food and service.
Breakfast (full English buffet) was good albeit a 5 min Q.

Cons
Room very tired, no minibar, major draft from the 1970s window, heating very poor.
Bathroom had an awfull smell and very old with mould!
Water in taps went on and off.
Dont stay in room 443 !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for high room over looking river or Tower bridge ( not 443 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Brilliant Hotel with a lot of facilities. Had a continental breakfast and it was one of the best I have had in an hotel. Also the location is great with a number of cafes nearby. My room had a view of the docks. The room was clean and excellent overall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Bush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great Location with a view of the Dock
Fab Breakfast although paid a surcharge as had room service
Nice room - Not ultra modern but clean and spacious
overall would stay again
Nice courteous staff - polite

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rallygirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,076 in London
3,278 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#86 of 1,076 in London
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#166 of 1,076 in London
4,156 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#225 of 1,076 in London
3,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £106 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower Hotel is nestled between the River Thames, St Katharine Docks and alongside the World Heritage Site, the Tower of London, boasting unparalleled views of the iconic Tower Bridge. Our location and excellent choice of transport connections put you at the centre of this vibrant city, making it quick, convenient and most importantly, easy to experience the very best of what London has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing