We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic accommodation in London”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #257 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just right if you're looking for a place to stay while on business in The City....or to "crash" after a day of sightseeing in London. Price seems to reflect middle to high-middle market in London. Nice, clean, quiet, friendly. Nothing luxury about it. Only criticism its a little skimpy on in-room amenities like soap, shampoo, sweats, etc. But that seems to be the trend everywhere. Best advice is to bring anything you need in the bath with you....everywhere you go now - except for the very high-end places.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomfitz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,180 - 4,186 of 7,101 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The staff and service are great and although a large hotel there are lots of help at hand.

I found the room old, faded and really quite grubby. Wall paper coming away on every wall, holes in some places where it had picked away and bathroom was very average.

Views are great and lovely for a drink looking out.

Staying on the dock side was good option as slightly quitter but again old parts of the hotel were noisy anyway.

I wouldn't recommend there are good alternatives.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

talk about an iconic location, nestled between The Tower of London and St.Katherine's Wharf and looking straight across the river Thames and the amazing Tower Bridge...you can't get better views in London unless you get on the London Eye! Hotel was comfortable, rooms are not huge but they are well equipped with decent bathroom and comfortable beds. Free wifi is cool. Didn't use the gym but colleagues did and said it was nice. Running along the Thames was good but better over the other side as too many dead ends on hotel side! Tom on reception was really helpful and welcoming and added the 'personal touch' that can make a difference. Didn't have dinner as we were at an industry awards ceremony (we won!) but breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and efficient service. All in all very good and worth the price tag.

Room Tip: You have to pay more for a Tower Bridge view and the view over St.Katherine's Dock is just as ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySING73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for an awards ceremony. Absolute fantastic location with great views. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Would love to come back and stay again. A little tricky to find by car if you're not used to driving in London but definitely well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excelent hotel close to Tower Bridge overlooking the river and St Katharine's Dock. We arrived late and our room was booked so they offered an upgrade for the night and change to a standard room the day after.
We did not book breakfast as it was not among the options of the booking and then the price was too high as we preferred to have a bite on the go.
Room had no refrigerator that was not very convenient to have a cool drink
Its convenient as it is close to Tower Hill and DLR tube stations and alos Aldgate and Liverpool Street. Still there is quite a walk to get to the tube, specially if it rains.
Location is very quiet and there is a choice of Restaurants and pubs within 200 meters so there is no need to get to the center.
There is also a small Tesco 24 hours round the corner so logistics are solved.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked in at this hotel to surprise my other half with some very special news. I booked this hotel because of its location and the photos on the website. When we got there I was told that even though I had paid for a bridge view room there were none left. I waited a long time and the very friendly staff came back to me saying they had located a room we could have and would send up a complimentary bottle of wine. When we got to the room it was really shabby and the bridge could only be seen if you looked 90 degrees to the left out the window. The worst bit was that the carpet had not been hoovered and was covered in stains, the bedroom smelled really strongly of stale cigarettes and the bathroom was not tidied since the last occupants (towels on the floor etc). I went and complained and the receptionists spoke to their manager, who said we could have the penthouse suite with balcony plus our bottle of wine. This suite was lovely and if you have a spare £350 per night then it's well worth a visit. If we had not been upgraded, our stay would have been a massive disappointment. Also, we never did get that bottle of wine. The staff were very friendly and the reception area is smart, but from what I've seen, the bedrooms (even the upgraded club rooms with bridge view, which we were first allocated) are really shabby, smelly and dated. The bathroom fixtures were rusty and in general I would not recommend this hotel. I did not book in for breakfast as other reviewers had said it was not very good.

Pros: Great location, friendly staff, easy access

Cons: Messed up booking, really small double beds, smell of fags in bedrooms, rusty bathroom fixtures, general shabby feel to hallways and bedrooms, stained carpets, dirty windows.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived at the Guoman Tower Bridge London, slightly earlier than our check in time. Nevertheless we were able to check in and found our room on floor 3. We had booked a Bridge View and I assumed we would have a view of the Tower Bridge. We did not, but I was so pleased with the gorgeous view that awaited us of St Katherines Dock with all the lovely yachts/boats, the little shops and restaurants and lots of people taking in the lovely weather. I guess there is a few bridges of various forms within the dock, maybe this where the Bridge Room comes in. The room was perfectly clean and the decor a lovely putty and purple. It was modern and comfortable. The bathroom was small but had every you need. The bath was quite aged but everything else was squeaky clean in all those 'right' places. My only quib in the 324 3rd floor room was in the 'fridge' bar area of the dressing table there was no knob, it was stuck with a large amount of a type of putty. We didn't need it, so were not worried about this and seemed fairly petty to comment on this. Everyone was polite and helpful. When we checked out, but still wanted to use the rest of our day exploring we were able to leave out case at the hotel safely with no problems. Yes it could do with new updated carpet in the foyer area - and some of the chairs in the brasserie rest. looked worn, but don't overlook the hotel its in such a great place and loads of restaurants to try, very well worthy of note is a Tesco express almost next to it which helped in the sarnie department and little nibbles. All restaurants surrounding where great EXCEPT the Dickens Pub Swiss Chalet looking place, I had a ricotta cheese/spinach cannelloni it was the worst of its type I have ever tasted and didn't eat it, or pay for it. Pizza was okay but not fine dining or even okay in my view.

Room Tip: ask for one that has been refurbished ! we obviously had one. Rooms facing the Tower Bridge are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neatstuff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#108 of 1,077 in London
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#98 of 1,077 in London
3,511 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in London
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £89 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower Hotel is nestled between the River Thames, St Katharine Docks and alongside the World Heritage Site, the Tower of London, boasting unparalleled views of the iconic Tower Bridge. Our location and excellent choice of transport connections put you at the centre of this vibrant city, making it quick, convenient and most importantly, easy to experience the very best of what London has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing