We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #264 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here overnight on the "Romance Package". Staff were excellent, fantastic view from the room which overlooked the river and Tower Bridge. The hotel is in a great location. Breakfast was a much better experience than last time we stayed a few years ago.
However, the standard room was clean with a very comfortable bed but was looking very tired and in need of redecoration/update.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Anne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,530
    2,435
    961
    347
    239
See reviews for
873
2,773
260
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It is quite expensive and that is reflected in the quality of the rooms and shared areas.

There are plenty of places to eat in St Katherine's Dock and rather that the breakfast go round the dock and you can get a full English for £6.50. Better view too!

Easy access to the sights and I would stay again.

Its about a £10 cab ride to Waterloo which I thought was good. The tube can get very sweaty when you have bags!

Room Tip: We had a view of the Tower and could just see the river and that was one of the lower cost rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_63_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here weekend 4-6th July, the hotel isn't good to look at on the outside but its really nice inside. Our bedroom was fine, reasonable size, spotlessly clean. The local is fantastic, didn't eat at the hotel, there are plenty of places to eat close buy. Easy walk to Tower Hill underground. Really enjoyed our weekend , would definitely stay again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I visited this hotel 10 years ago for a conference and bought my husband to stay here for the weekend. Check in was great and we were upgraded to a river view room (bridge views had all gone - tour de france weekend). Our room was lovely and overlooked St Katherine's dock. it had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. The views of the bridge from outside are wonderful! We walked around St Katherine's dock and used the hotel as a base to walk to the Tower. We couldn't believe that more people weren't staying - rooms are cheap at the weekend and you are so close to the underground at Tower Hill with access to anywhere. The hotel is outside the congestion charge and has ample parking. We liked the small coffee bar too. Didn't eat in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. Use car park and use hotel to visit Tower Bridge and the Tower of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heliwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived early at the hotel and were greeted by a small queue for checking in. A member of staff was attentively buzzing around the queue handing out complimentary prosecco and apologising for the wait. We waited about 7 minutes in total so not long. We were allowed to check in 2 hrs early free of charge and concierge offered to help with our bags. We were on the 10th floor overlooking st Catherine's dock-and what a view!! A room was lovely and cosy. Some might say small but we found it perfect for our needs and a charming place to rest for the night. We watched the tall sail ships leaving from the docks... Great to see then went out for dinner and a walking tour. Lots of restaurants and bars within a 2 minute walk. We had a great evening and returned. Had a lovely hot bath....lots of hot water and then got into the very comfortable bed. The room was pitch black and quiet so we both slept for 9 hours which is unheard on in a hotel All in all a great stay, friendly attentive staff, lovely clean rooms with great views and comfy beds. Ideally located for the centre of London. Will definitely be recommending this hotel. Only down side perhaps is that the bathroom, although clean and well maintained (it had obviously just been redecorated) was a bit dated with grey tiles. That's it. Great hotel. Oh and they looked after our bags after we checked out-free of charge.

Room Tip: Ours was 1064 overlooking the docks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMess81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Not a great looking hotel from the outside but don't let that put you off, once inside this is a really nice hotel with a very large reception area. On arrival there were 6 staff waiting to deal with check in so I only waited a few seconds. I requested a double bed as my booking had quoted a twin and they were very happy to oblige by giving me a family room which included a fantastic view of Tower bridge and the river. I especially appreciated the view after dark.
My room was large and the bed was very comfortable, the curtains kept out all of the light making it easy for me to sleep and despite being close to the bridge and river I heard no noise on the 9th floor. I also heard no noise from inside the hotel, not even a door closing. There was a free bottle of still and sparking water in the room which was very welcome, the toiletries were good quality, towels nice and fluffy plus tea/coffee & biscuits.
I only ate breakfast in the hotel which included all hot and cold buffet items you'd expect to find. The staff were friendly and efficient in the dining room.
The reception staff were really impressive early in the morning when so many people were checking out, this avoided long queues which is very important when you're in London on business.
I will return to this hotel, the location and value for money in London was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floors, I stayed on the 9th and heard no noise from the road or river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed while working. Great service at checkin. Room had the most amazing view of Tower Bridge. Room was disappointing - carpet was threadbare. Ate in dining room once. Service was poor - staff were packing up and had no interest in me. Ended interacting with 5 different people. I

Room Tip: Go for tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
9,151 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#221 of 1,067 in London
3,581 reviews
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#392 of 1,067 in London
6,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing