We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #263 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Indeed it is one of the best location the hotel is situated. Right bang on Tower bridge London and what a magnificent view from the room as if you can touch the bridge. Asked for a bridge facing which was obliged instantly. Thank you. However there were few let downs. Firstly, the housekeeping is absolutely non professional, did not enjoy the interactions we had with quite a few staff. They all looked disgruntled, no wishes anytime during the day. The rooms were also not cleaned properly with stuff lying in the floor after cleaning the room. Secondly the room does not have a mini bar, yet it states, please call to stock your mini bar and when asked it was mentioned, sorry no mini bar. One side of cupboard was screwed and kept untidy. Thirdly, the iron and the board was stuck to the wall as if someone will take the board and the iron away from the room. Frankly the room needed refurbishment. However since we were on a holiday we hardly stayed in the room and did not bother us that much. Overall a very good stay and recommend staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,580
    2,460
    974
    355
    240
See reviews for
894
2,817
262
1,463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,894)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Tower Hotel is located right at the Tower Bridge in walking distance of many sights in London. While the first impression of the hotel might not be the best due to the old and ugly outside, this changes quickly upon entering the nice lobby of the hotel.
The rooms are relatively large and clean and while they also wouldn't mind a renovation, the value for money you get here is really excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

You feel cared for here and it's comfortable. The staff are genuinely nice so they meet your needs. The building is brilliantly positioned. Importantly there's a lot of public space so you don't get that caged in feeling when you're staying for business...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at hotel last Saturday and as others said we had to wait to check in but only a few mins and offered a glass of prosecco which was a nice touch!
Room was looking out onto dock area which was nice, and so quiet !!! Ok not looking over the Thames but only in room to sleep ! Usual hotel room with coffee n tea shampoo's etc but missed having a fridge to keep the complimentary bottles of water in (again a nice touch!)
Hotel is only 5 min walk from the Towerhill tube station which was handy ( get Oyster card saves waiting in queue at ticket booths)
There is a Starbucks n tesco extra right next to hotel!
The lawn advertised for food & drink is tiny but we sat on benched beside it and had beer at hotel outdoor bar areas (£5 pint draught Stella £5 bottle of peroni, cocktails seemed dear at £10!)
Staff all friendly and helpful we used the luggage room to leave cases after checkout till we needed them late after noon to go for train! They even charged my iPhone for me!
Breakfast was plentiful with the usual selection, we didn't eat in hotel but had Rustic chips with our beers which were lovely worth the £3.50 price!!
Would def recommend this hotel as great location right on the Thames and handy for the tube!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigtuna, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Guoman Tower Hotel sits in one of the most envious locations in London.
Right next to the Tower Bridge and the Tower. Additionally, the hotel sits right on the banks of the Thames and behind the hotel you have St. Katherine's Dock. Lovely.
If you work in the City, this is a good location with waking distance to Fenchurch street, Aldgate and the Financial district.
The hotel itself is grand but, I fear, ready for a face lift. The rooms really nice and the service staff have me was always flawless. Overall, I would rate the hotel in the upper range of 3 stars, almost 4 but I don't think they're quite there yet. My opinion is that the location seems to influence the rating more than it should. For the price you're paying here, I don't feel the 4 stars.
Overall opinion is positive: clean and nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff but overpriced for the location. I'd recommend this hotel but suggest to search well for room deals on the internet - then you'll get value for money.

Room Tip: High floor facing the river or the Tower Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cragrat_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here when visiting family in London. Really couldn't fault it, the rooms were clean and comfortable and had all the usual facilities. My room also had a spectacular view of Tower Bridge and the hotel really is in a perfect position on the Thames. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, efficiently dealt with check in and check out. The hotel was also very well insulated against noise, the bed was comfy and I had an excellent night's sleep.

Room Tip: Some rooms have spectacular views of the Tower Bridge, well worth trying to get one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran15gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is just beside the tower bridge but I find that the walk from the nearest tube to the hotel is a bit far especially if you have a luggage with you, so it is advisable that you take a taxi. I booked a room there through the hotel website because it offered cheaper price and the check out time was at 12 noon. The check in was very smooth, the room was luxurious and the view of the tower bridge from the window of your room was marvellous. But mind you that as everybody were checking out at the same time, it's hard to get down to the lobby as the elevator was always full. I'd waited for about 20 minutes when finally a housekeeper showed me the 'service elevator'. However, the check out process itself was easy peasy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamsurryaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,069 in London
4,043 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#425 of 1,069 in London
9,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#226 of 1,069 in London
3,620 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing