We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location albeit a little dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #262 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location albeit a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed one night , nice hotel in a great location. The hotel is a little dated but the staff all have a smile for you and very friendly and it makes you feel very welcome
Had a high room with a good view of the dock and room was quite specious and clean. Work paid for the hotel as not sure I would pay 170 per night if I was paying
Location is excellent and your right in the middle of everything. Starbucks next door and nice lawn area to have a glass of vino in late evening

Room Tip: Get a high room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noodledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post; I’m really glad that you found the team at the Tower Hotel so friendly and smiley. It’s great that you enjoyed our new feature, The Lawn; this was launched last month and is a fantastic new space to enjoy food and drink whilst watching the world go by. I hope to see you back on The Lawn and in the Tower again soon.
Kind Regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,378
    2,320
    927
    337
    228
See reviews for
820
2,622
249
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has one thing going for it......location! Ask for a room with a view of Tower Bridge and it is a view of one of the most iconic landmarks in the world and it is all yours + added bonus of a good view of The Shard. Likewise in the bar and some of the outdoor areas. The downsides however are many, room decor is dated (although some room refurbishment is underway), check-in is a "mare" and seems to take forever, lengthy queues for breakfast - average food, bar is comparatively expensive for what it is, lifts, poor fitness room ............and for £175 per night. The rate is totally variable by the way

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thanks for your post, I am sorry to read that your stay fell short of your expectations. At peak times reception and breakfast can be busy but the team works hard to limit and prevent delays as much as possible. I appreciate your feedback on the room décor, starting next year; we will undergo a major refurbishment which will see the hotel transformed under the new Amba Hotels brand. It would be great to update you on the changes we are making so do keep in touch via our website and social media pages.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great location, can't fault the views, our room was of St Katharine's dock but you still enjoyed great views of Tower Bridge when walking back to the hotel at night. Busy with tourists out and about in the lawn area, but this added to a nice atmosphere.
Receptionist very friendly, changed our room to a double instead of a twin and asked if we were celebrating any special occasions, we were- our wedding anniversary and she arranged for a bottle of wine sent up to the room which was a lovely touch. Reception area clean and attractive. Our room was on the 3rd floor, quiet and spacious. Bed very comfy, pillows a little hard for my personal preference. Air con was extremely effective (noisy at night and we couldn't work out how to turn it off!). Only niggles I would say is the shower only had 2 temperatures; hot and scalding and the cold tap in the sink was also warm water, which was weird for brushing your teeth in! However, all in all this was fine for a 1 night stay, had we been staying longer then I would have complained about the water situation.
Noisy in mornings with fellow guests slamming their doors, I should mention.
Plenty of towels provided, cleaning was of a good standard and we enjoyed the experience. The drinks bar on the 1st floor enjoyed incredible views of Tower Bridge lit up at night time and was very nice for an evening drink
Loved the midday check out time, this was very generous! Also, the Concierge was very friendly and efficient, we were able to leave our luggage while we went out and about after checking out and they got a taxi for us upon our return.
To conclude, we would recommend the hotels to friends and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Mention any special occasions, you might get an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a room with a view, a nice hotel with extremely helpful staff, it was definitely worth paying a little extra for the view but not sure how happy I would have been otherwise, the room was nice but in definate need of refurbishment, it was clean and tidy and enough for what we wanted!!! Would stay again just in need of a bit of updating

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Rotten rooms (literally rotting window frames). Useless air-conditioning. Cramped room with very tired decor and horrible bathroom. Terrible food (frozen). Really, really poor value for money. Nice view of Tower Bridge is the best thing I can say about it but you have to pay extra for that. Will not stay again - ever!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

*Late review*
A romantic weekend break with my boyfriend to see what London had to offer. The hotel was relatively easy to find and close to the Tower Hill Tube line which we used often each day. The rooms were comfortable and we looked over the harbour and restaurants. Starbucks below the hotel which was a hit as we love our coolers and frappe's!! Booked with a cheaper hotel site and I'm glad we came. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room either looking over the Bridge or the Harbour and Restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just had a weekend in the Tower hotel. We booked back in March but when I was reading the reviews the night before we went I was a bit worried as people were saying about the noise from the silver van parked at the front of the hotel. We shouldn't have been - we couldn't hear it from our room(933) and even if we could have it wouldn't have been a problem as it was all closed up by the time we arrived back at the hotel from our evening out (11pm). There was however, a group of people sat outside at the hotel's Brassiere, and 1 woman insisted on squealing and cackling instead of laughing normally like the people she was with until the early hours & that did disturb my sleep, so had to close the window. Luckily on what was probably the warmest weekend of the year, the room had air com. Normal people's laughing from there shouldn't affect people's sleep. The room was looking a bit tired - threadbare carpet and ripped wallpaper and an old shower fitting (but didn't affect the performance of the shower) and from the outside the window frames were definitely in need of painting. However, you would not be able to better the view from any other hotel in London. We paid extra for a view over Tower Bridge and it was well worth it. We were even lucky enough to be in our room one night as the bridge was opened. The breakfast was ample - full English buffet, bread, cheese, ham, cereals, fruit etc and we had a lovely view of St Katherine's dock whilst eating breakfast. The staff on reception could not have been friendlier or more helpful. There are plenty of places to eat around St Katherine's dock, Starbucks next to the hotel, and a Tesco express just next door. 5 minute walk to the tube, couple of minutes walk to the Tower, so the location was good too. Would I stay there again - probably. Would I stay there again if the décor was updated - definitely. I was spoiled last year as we stayed in Westminster in a new hotel with floor to ceiling windows (love them) but had a view of a building site, so it's view against décor for us next year and I must say probably the view will win!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_YorksYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#178 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,882 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#389 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,859 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#212 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing