We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #262 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

had great time in london this month at this hotel.Could do with a make over but the staff were very friendly and rooms comfortable.
Can i just say how much we loved your outside space by the river.... great sunsets by tower bridge at the bar. And the food!!!! Had a hot dog every evening watching the sun go down and listening to some great music played from your Camper Van. Best tunes i heard all holiday.......... will be definitely recommending this to my friends . Good Work Tower Hotel !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorianKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,377
    2,320
    927
    337
    228
See reviews for
820
2,622
249
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got a good deal on lastminute.com which made this a bargain! Our twin room was spacious and clean with a great view of Tower Bridge. The room was amazingly quiet with very comfortable beds and the bathroom was a good size with a lovely shower.

Breakfast was an extra £12 but worth it as the buffet spread is good and freshly cooked. The only downside was that while we were getting some food the staff cleared our drinks and gave our table to someone else!

I had previously laughed at previous reviewers moaning about the lifts but actually they are awful and it is annoying! It takes forever to call them and you end up cramming in and going up before you go down!

But I would definitely recommend this hotel - sadly we were only there one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kezzer1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Don't get put off by the communist exterior of the hotel, the interior is nicer and it feels like you are on a cruise boat once inside your room: there is a lot of wood panels and furniture, the windows have round angles and you can see the river through them!
We booked a secret hotel from lastminute so, for 99£, we didn't get either a tower bridge view, a refurbished room or breakfast included. Think of peeling paint, very old style iron and hair dryer but over than that the room was confortable, with a bath and tea.

The main plus of this hotel is its location: just between St Katharine docks, with numerous restaurant with terrace options, and the Thames, right on the side of Tower Bridge. In front of the hotel, you can enjoy breakfast, meals or walks in front of the river with view of the bridge.

There are a starbucks and a Tesco market next door, and the subway is a 10 min walk away, going around the Tower of London.

The 12£ buffet breakfast provides bacon, beans, eggs and toast, as well as cereals, croissants, cut fruits, fruit drinks and tea or coffee. A bit pricey and not many fresh items are available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights and we were delighted with everything.It is in a stunning location and the rooms were far better than we expected.The service in all areas was superb.The Hotel was spotlessly clean and even outside the Hotel was constantly being swept.There was an endless choice of food for breakfast.We certainly will return.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the Tower and the wharf (279)-there was always something to see and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavlinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed 7 nights. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and had a great view of the Bridge. The ice makers were not working all week, you had to call room service for ice (which necessitates a tip!), quite the racket if you ask me. Make sure you get the breakfast included in your room rate. 12 GBP is expensive to pay for a mediocre buffet. I will say that the service was very good overall. Room was clean and updated. Outside needs a facelift and updating, and the building is showing her age. The Lawn was a great area for drinks by the Thames. Right next to the Tower of London, nearby Tube station to get you around. There are 2 Starbucks at this property, and a Tesco Express for grocery/beer/wine on the corner. You can also grab the Thames Clipper ferry nearby. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Go for a bridge view!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed Monday to Friday and was blown away by the hotels location - convenient for everything we wanted to do (sightseeing) rooms were comfy and clean great view of the docks at the back and eating out on the front terrace with Tower Bridge facing is breathtaking. Special mention to Stella always ready to keep our drinks topped up.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Mould and very dusty rooms. Location is great and hotel offers great view but besides that the only rooms in London that match with this hotel are hostels. Hotel should have been refurbished and renovated years ago but only cash seems king. Miserable feeling!

Room Tip: #82 has good views on tower bridge (also at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 500bjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#177 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#388 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,855 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#210 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#383 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing