We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a thrilling experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #613 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a thrilling experience”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My room was definitely a single! The bath was very narrow and small with mould patches around the bath. Plug sockets fitted to wall wonky and peeling wallpaper.
Thought I was being burgled in the middle of the night, it was the room next door letting themselves in. Hardly slept for traffic noises, sirens and drunken people out late at night.
Went for dinner and was trying to stick to my budget paid by company when at checkout seemed to be over my budget due to a gratuity charge they dumped on the price of the meal! Don't ask for directions to anywhere from the evening staff, just as well I checked in the morning as was provided the wrong directions!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishalittle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback .
I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay and found the room to be noisey , our rooms are double glazed but on occasions the noises of a busy city do intrude
We do add service charge to our restauarnt bills which is discretionary I am sorry that this was not made clear to you as we would quite happily remove the charge if you do not wish to pay.
We appreciate your comments .
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    921
    814
    454
    409
See reviews for
346
687
270
1,126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our room in the annex was quite small and dated and poorly soundproofed. The area isn't great and we didn't find an alternative eating in the area as it was a Sunday afternoon. That said, the hotel food was good but the bar prices were very steep. Breakfast the following morning was one of the best I've ever had and the friendly staff coped admirably. We were part of a package and were taken everywhere by coach so the location wasn't paramount but I doubt I would stay again unless on business in the City. If you were travelling on your own, it would be quite a trek to the West End and major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for your feedback .
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought the breakfast was fantastic.
We believe we have one of the best breakfasts in London and certainley one of the best selections.
I will pass on your positive comments to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After reading the reviews of this hotel I was not looking forward to my stay.
I must say that on arrival reception appeared to be overwhelmed by the number of people trying to check in. This meant a long wait for a room, The staff however were polite and trying their best to deal with the situation.
When we got to our room you could say it looked a trifle tired but it was spotlessly clean, of a reasonable size, the beds were comfortable and all ammenities were there.We turned the radiator off and by the time we returned fro the concert the room was cool and we had a good nights sleep.
With the delay at check in we had to eat in the hotel, again service was slow because of the same volume of people. The food however was fine, not a great choice but freshly cooked and reasonably priced.
At breakfast we wanted a table for 4, we waited less thn 5 minutes for this. An excellent choice of hot and cold food .I was impressed by the way the hot food was replaced quickly, not huge amounts being kept hot for ages. The staff were superb, polite, efficient, and totally on top of their jobs.
All in all I thought this hotel was value for money and overall I enjoyed my stay. I would happily stay here again.
I thnk some of the previous reviewers must have stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your very positve comments about the hotel .
I am really pleased that we exceeded your expectations and will share your very positive
review with the team.
I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I had some concerns after booking this theatre break when I read some of the negative comments on here. I can only conclude that some people just enjoy moaning,we found this hotel to be outstanding. All the staff were polite,helpful & enthusiastic,the room was immaculate,comfortable & well equipped & the breakfast was absolutely lovely. Also there are not many London hotels with swimming pools & spas so this was a right bonus. There were complaints about location but it was only 10 mins walk to the tube (Barbican) so don't know what the fuss was about,we would definite stay again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrskbEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel .
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again
in the future
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

One of the smallest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Dated. There's no soundproofing so heard my neighbour who seemed to be vomiting for an hour or so early in the morning which was unfortunate. Lovely pool though but be aware that swimming lessons may mean that you can't use it when you want. The staff were nice. Area not nice. Not cheap. Would avoid staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nmjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was sorry to read that you felt the room was small and that you did not like the area , which is very up and coming with a lot of new development and exciting bars and restaurants .
Thank you for your very positive comments in regards to the team and our leisure club.
We appreciate your feedback
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here alone on business. The hotel is modern, clean and functional if not particularly exciting. Room was clean, in good condition and perfectly acceptable. The location is a little out-of-the-way (not really city or Barbican) but the prices often reflect this. Still only a couple of minutes to bus routes and a couple more to Old St tube. The pool is a nice bonus although I didn't visit it. Breakfast was good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cjp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear reviewer
Thank you for your very positve comments about the hotel .
I am very pleased that we meet all your needs as a business traveller .
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
on a future occasion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Room was clean but stuffy and hot even with windows open and needed re-decorating badly
Pre-payed for breakfast don't bother !! Worst part of the stay !! After waiting 10 min for lift as one was out of order then walked down five flights of stairs, we were expected to que for a breakfast table witch made us late for our appointments witch would have been fine if the food was any good but it's was terrible and I do mean terrible
Only parking for 10 cars ? In London ? Come on !

Hotel ok,
breakfast waste of time
Parking, find your own
Value, for a London hotel ok at the best

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawifighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience which is usually a
very positive experience for our guests and we gets lots of good feedback in regards to quality and selection of products and the team . It is disappointing that we did not get this right in your eyes.
In regards to our parking with do only have 10 spaces which is what we advertise and we are one of the only hotels in the area that have parking , but there are carparks near by and parking on the street which does have time restrictions.
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#321 of 1,068 in London
558 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#408 of 1,068 in London
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #613 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing