We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good, not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #589 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Roma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not good, not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I went there with a special offer in a critical period of the year, so my accomodation was not the best. However, I felt quite confortable and the price was ok. The location is a bit far from metro station (10-15 mins walking) but still ok for London. Gym and wellness center (though too small for me) are a big plus for the place. You can go there without worries, but maybe search for something else first.

Room Tip: I went there with a special offer in a critical period of the year, so my accomodation was not the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Antonio M
Thank you so much for you feedback .
I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to read that
you felt the leisure club was a plus.
I hope we will see you again
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    886
    782
    434
    396
See reviews for
323
668
267
1,075
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in November. Not situated right in the centre of London but all the major attractions are within easy reach. We were offered an upgrade upon arrival. Room was decent, clean beds and bathroom. Excellent choice at breakfast, full English and continental. Staff were pleasant. Overall a good stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sneddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Sheddz

Thank you for your comments on the hotel , I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bed room to be comfortable and clean.
The breakfast is great and I believe has one of the best selections in London so it is good to read that you enjoyed it.
I will pass on your comments to the team
We hope to welcome you back in the future
Best Wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln-england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here on an overnight trip to the royal Albert hall . Our room was very nice and very well equipped with tea making facilities hair dryer iron and ironing board flat screen TV . Nice bathroom with shower and plenty of towels - the bed was very comfortable we had a good nights sleep even though this is a city hotel and has shops and restaurants nearby .
Breakfast was fabulous - hot cooked bacon eggs sausage - also cereals pastries fruit yogurts ,and it was replenished very quickly . Staff were very helpful and polite I requested some extra milk for our room and the housekeeper brought them up to our room in no time . I will book this hotel again and recommend it to friends .

Room Tip: 2109 room on second floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhoultby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel .
I am was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments on to the team
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best Wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My room was definitely a single! The bath was very narrow and small with mould patches around the bath. Plug sockets fitted to wall wonky and peeling wallpaper.
Thought I was being burgled in the middle of the night, it was the room next door letting themselves in. Hardly slept for traffic noises, sirens and drunken people out late at night.
Went for dinner and was trying to stick to my budget paid by company when at checkout seemed to be over my budget due to a gratuity charge they dumped on the price of the meal! Don't ask for directions to anywhere from the evening staff, just as well I checked in the morning as was provided the wrong directions!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishalittle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback .
I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay and found the room to be noisey , our rooms are double glazed but on occasions the noises of a busy city do intrude
We do add service charge to our restauarnt bills which is discretionary I am sorry that this was not made clear to you as we would quite happily remove the charge if you do not wish to pay.
We appreciate your comments .
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our room in the annex was quite small and dated and poorly soundproofed. The area isn't great and we didn't find an alternative eating in the area as it was a Sunday afternoon. That said, the hotel food was good but the bar prices were very steep. Breakfast the following morning was one of the best I've ever had and the friendly staff coped admirably. We were part of a package and were taken everywhere by coach so the location wasn't paramount but I doubt I would stay again unless on business in the City. If you were travelling on your own, it would be quite a trek to the West End and major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for your feedback .
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought the breakfast was fantastic.
We believe we have one of the best breakfasts in London and certainley one of the best selections.
I will pass on your positive comments to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

After reading the reviews of this hotel I was not looking forward to my stay.
I must say that on arrival reception appeared to be overwhelmed by the number of people trying to check in. This meant a long wait for a room, The staff however were polite and trying their best to deal with the situation.
When we got to our room you could say it looked a trifle tired but it was spotlessly clean, of a reasonable size, the beds were comfortable and all ammenities were there.We turned the radiator off and by the time we returned fro the concert the room was cool and we had a good nights sleep.
With the delay at check in we had to eat in the hotel, again service was slow because of the same volume of people. The food however was fine, not a great choice but freshly cooked and reasonably priced.
At breakfast we wanted a table for 4, we waited less thn 5 minutes for this. An excellent choice of hot and cold food .I was impressed by the way the hot food was replaced quickly, not huge amounts being kept hot for ages. The staff were superb, polite, efficient, and totally on top of their jobs.
All in all I thought this hotel was value for money and overall I enjoyed my stay. I would happily stay here again.
I thnk some of the previous reviewers must have stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your very positve comments about the hotel .
I am really pleased that we exceeded your expectations and will share your very positive
review with the team.
I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I had some concerns after booking this theatre break when I read some of the negative comments on here. I can only conclude that some people just enjoy moaning,we found this hotel to be outstanding. All the staff were polite,helpful & enthusiastic,the room was immaculate,comfortable & well equipped & the breakfast was absolutely lovely. Also there are not many London hotels with swimming pools & spas so this was a right bonus. There were complaints about location but it was only 10 mins walk to the tube (Barbican) so don't know what the fuss was about,we would definite stay again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrskbEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel .
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again
in the future
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#444 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#666 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing