We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff shame about the service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #579 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice staff shame about the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here last night as we were going to The Barbican Theatre, which is only 15 minutes walk away. Our double room was OK, but the decor was a bit tired; I couldn't work out if the paintwork was trying to be shabby chic or it was just very badly done. The latter I fear.The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet, so we have a very good night's sleep. They were a bit stingey with the complimentary tea and coffee and we bought some extra milk from the corner shop. The TV was not up to standard - who has a mono TV these days? Our main beef was when we came down to breakfast to be confronted with a huge queue for the restaurant As far as we could see there were plenty of vacant tables and it was a buffet, so I am guessing it was just very badly organised. This might be excusable in some tiny seaside hotel, but this is major group hotel in the middle of the City of London, which must get more than its fair share of business clients, so providing a buffet-style breakfast should not be a major issue. We gave up and got breakfast on the train, so we saved a few quid at least.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Stuart A
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable nights sleep but sorry to read that you were not able to enjoy our breakfast . On occasions at peak times there may be a small queue for breakfast but this is normally dealt with very quickly . I am sorry that on this occasion our organisation seems to have failed us, which will be looked in to.
I am pleased to see that you felt the team on duty were pleasant .
We appreciate your feedback .
Happy New Year
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    877
    777
    431
    389
See reviews for
320
655
265
1,068
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice reception and restaurant/bar area, excellent quality breakfast which was included in my stay. Rooms can be very dated, newer rooms are in the main building which houses the reception, however these are still in need of an update/complete refurbishment. Facilities make this place with a free of charge gym, swimming pool and sauna which is open most hours. Much better service and facilities than other hotels but the trade off is with the quality and age of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building which is where reception is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Matt

Thank you for your very positve review of the hotel . I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities offer .
100 of our standard rooms in the front building were redecorated last year . The majority of the room in the main building are called Premium and they have additional facilities such as air conditioning and are slightly larger with traditional decor .
We appreciate your feedback especially in regards to the team which I will share with them .
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion .
Happy New Year
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Me & my daughter stayed here last night we went to watch Olympia horse show, reception wouldn't let us check in till after 4pm. So the coach took us straight to Olympia, we checked in at 11.30pm to be told out room was over the road, in another building.
You couldn't swing a cat in our twin room very small & stuffy with hard mattresses and bed pushed up against the wall and next to headboard was a kettle?? . Fuzzy tv and chipped paint on walls Eventually doozed off to be woken around 5am to bins being emptied.
Staff worked hard to ensure breakfast was served we queued up for half an hour as there was apparently 6 coach loads all been told to come down for breakfast between 8-9am. We only had 10 minutes to eat before coach set off. Would not rate it as a 4• more like a 2• some big improvements need to occur.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear reviewer
Thank you for your review of the hotel . I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your room .
Check in time for all large parties is 4pm so we can ensure all your rooms were ready this was
told to your tour operator and it was their choice to check in after the event . Our breakfast is served from 6.30am and guests can come down at any time, if you all of your party were advised by your tour guides to come down between 8am and 9 am there would be a wait for tables , we try always to minimise the time people have to wait . I am sorry we failed on this occasion and it left you with a bad impression of the hotel.
Thank you for your feedback
Happy New Year
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I don't know if I got lucky but one of the best hotel nights sleep I have had. Downside it is not as close to a tube as I would have liked and I would not want to walk about after dark alone but a good night's sleep is priceless. Breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your feedback . I was so pleased to read that you had a good nights sleep
which is essential when working away . Thank you for your very positve comments about breakfast which we are very proud of.
Ha\ppy Christmas
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've just checked in following a 12 hour working day only to be directed not to the wrong room but the wrong building.

The room has a late 80's feel to it, a bed against the wall? I'm not 5 years old!

Room service was prompt - say 10 min, but the food was sadly lacking - greasy, poor quality and certainly not fresh.

Thank the lord I'm only stopping one night - absolutely vile.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Jason

Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican .
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and found our single rooms small.
We appreciate your feedback .
Have a happy Christmas and prosperous New Year
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Not far from Buckingham palace and several other sights. Breakfast was good. Room was small and the décor is outdated. I traveled alone (on business and company booked rm for me) and the room I was given was a double single. I was so tired when I got there that the bed was fine. If I booked a personal trip I would look for something a bit more comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Jim F
Thank you for your review of the hotel .
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location good for traveling around
London.
Thank you for your feed back
Merry Christmas
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was so excited to spend time in London and my trip mainly to see Richard ii at the barbican , I found the hotel which is only a short walk from old street tube station, on entrance to the reception I was pleased with the overall style and the receptionist was very helpful. When I was handed my room card/ key I was told my room was over the road in the other part of the hotel, almost put me off staying then ! When i entered my room I was very disapointed yes I had booked a single room but find mydelf in asmall box room, with peeling walpaper walls so thin they must be made of paper , very tired furniture thst should be in the skip and the tv so fuzzy its like watching a snow storm. I ventured down to the bar for a pre dinner snack and was told they wouldnt be serving hot food until 6 pm !
What a complete let down , I strolled around the area loking for an eatery but could only find costa and pizza express thst looked inviting apart from a few takeaways not much choice.
I regularly stay in hotels as psrt of my job is working away from home and even the premiere inn aee better standard than this I certainly wont be staying here again . The rooms need sound proofing and updating and all rooms should be non smoking mine wss very smelly. Do not stay here unless you bring ear plugs and your own food.

Room Tip: There arnt any good rooms the traffic is quieter than the rooms next door to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel .
I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your single room and that my team were not more flexible when you were asking about food options ..
Our restaurant opens for dinner at 5.30pm and until this time we have a grab and go concept in our commotion bar which offers hot and cold sandwiches and salads and a 24 hour room service menu .if this was not to your liking we should have offered you dishes from the room service menu down stairs . I will address this point with my team .
Thank you for your feedback which we talk extremely seriously
Merry Christmas
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#443 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#645 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing