We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #581 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel 25th January. Check in was good , helpful friendly staff. Our room was comfortable very clean however could have been better- at least some complimentary bottled water in the fridge would have been nice if nothing else. Good selection at breakfast and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Anita P
Thank you for writing a review of thwe Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay
Thank you for your feedback
Best wishes
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night mid-week and had a very pleasant check-in and welcome. Room 1313 was comfy - few things (e.g. no back to the remote, light not working) that I reported which were well received and an apology given; bristles in the bathroom sink horrible. Pool was very nice except for the scum line which again I reported. Steam room lovely. I didn't eat dinner but breakfast was very good. Prices here the same as any London hotel, really. Customer service and attitude from all staff excellent. So, with attention to detail this hotel could be unbeatable. Quiet location gave a good sleep, but it's a fair old walk from the nearest tube: I took taxis which is about a tenner into town. So all in all, I can recommend and would stay here again. Hope to see the changes next time as they're easy to make.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Phillipa

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican . We really do appreciate your constructive feedback and I am sorry that our attention to detail in several areas
let us down .
I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The main lift was n/a in the evening - unbelievable there is only one. I used the stairs but saw people struggling with cases upon arrival.

My Aircon was not working – reported to reception. During the night it was so noisy - with continuous dripping water that I had to switch it off.

Again lack of accessible sockets – two in whole room. None beside bed for charging phone during the night.

I guess it's all down to the luck of the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advisor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write another review on the Thistle City Barbican
I am disappointed to read that your second visit was not as successful as the first .
We have over a 6 month period had our main lifts replaced and this has meant that we have had a lift out of action for a period of time , unfortunately this has been unavoidable. This project has now been completed .
Thank you for your feedback and if you do consider returning , please contact me directly so that I can oversee the details of your booking.
Best wishes
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Typical tired London 4* hotel. So long since last refit the chrome was worn off the bathroom fittings. Pillows on bed were so large and stuffed they give a stiff neck. Restaurant was cold, food was not really good quality and expensive. Ordered burger and chips and that's what I got, served on a board, no Salad or anything else. Bun was dry and chips were frozen fries. A better meal can be got in McDonalds for a tenth of the price. Drinks usual hotel rip off prices. Cost more for a half pint bottle than a pub charges for a pint. Only highlight was breakfast which was good with a good selection, although I think if you pay separately for it, it is about £16, certainly not worth that price. London hotels really need to get their act together.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Doug R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican .
I was disappointed to read some of your feedback and sorry that you found the restaurant cold
and did not enjoy your dinner . However I was very pleased to read your comments about our
breakfast .
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate and will act upon
Best wishes
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here over a two-week period on business. Staying here made me feel depressed. The first week was spent in a large room, while the second was in a twin room - both were in need of a serious makeover. The foyer and reception area look lovely, but once you're on the floor leading to your room, the dirty carpet smell hits you - particularly on the second floor, where the carpet is also torn.
The windows in the room do not seal properly and so there is a constant cold draught coming in from outside. I found this to be the case in both rooms I stayed in.
The cleaning staff, while they do a pretty good job, are very inconsistent - some days, the bathroom was cleaned, and others it was not. Some days, the coffee, milk and biscuits were replenished, other days I didn't receive any of these things.
The food in this hotel is expensive. I have had the misfortune of ordering from the restaurant on two occasions - both times, the food was very not pleasant. The pasta was extremely oily, and the burger meat tastes awful.
Breakfast is another terrible experience. Initially, I was seated and provided with coffee every morning, but as the staff became more familiar with me, they told me to grab any table, and I had to run after them to ask for coffee, which is highly unprofessional. I only tried the baked bread on one day - it was stale. The cheeses, fruits and cold meats are left to stand from day to day - I noted the same food had been left out from one week to another. (Note: the fruit that is for sale in the restaurant/bar is actually left over from the breakfast, and not the freshest at all.) The open yoghurt in the bowls that can be dished in portions appeared very runny (leading me to think that this was old too), so I stuck to the yoghurt in sealed pots.
I felt uneasy in the lift - one was frequently out of order, and the other made strange noises and bumps when moving upwards. It also frequently indicated the wrong floor.
The staff is otherwise very friendly, and getting a taxi is really easy as the concierge does this for you.
The hotel also has free wifi, so that's why I gave them one star...
I hope I don't have to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Mandy
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican .
I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stays with us , when you are away from home for any length of time it is so important that we get things right.
I was very disappointed to read your comments about breakfast, which receives so many positve reviews I can assure you that the food is fresh and is regularly replaced in line with all food safety regulations . In relation to the lifts these have all been replaced over the last 6 months we did have teething problems with one lift which has now been resolved .
I am really sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and would ask that if you are booked into the hotel on a future occasion that you contact me directly so that I can over see the details of your booking
Best Wishes
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Thistle City Barbican on the 18 January 2014 for one night. I have to be honest and say that after reading the reviews I was not looking forward to it, but I have to say that the room we had was very clean and well presented. The choice of foods available for breakfast was superb and we could not fault any of it. I would say to anyone reading the negative reviews to come and see for yourselves that this a a well run city hotel. I for one will come again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Anne W
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
i was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay .
We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a
future occasion .
Best wishes
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Only staying for one night but the premier room was clean, with every facility we needed and with a very comfortable bed. We also had a great view over London towards the Shard. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I can recommend the mango panna cotta desert at dinner it was delicious and very well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z0rbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a future
occasion
Best Wishes
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,077 in London
616 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#391 of 1,077 in London
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#703 of 1,077 in London
1,484 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £69 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing