We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough around the edges but great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #591 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 March 2014

69 pounds for a room in a hotel with a pool in central London? Unbelievable! Had a tiny single room, basics of bed and shower were good, just needs a lick of paint. Rooms are close together with very thin walls so not a good place to take an afternoon nap, however overnite despite many comings and going managed a decent enough sleep. Breakfast was very good with a huge choice of both hot and cold, chef making eggy dishes plus decent teas. Location is excellent, 10 minutes from Barbican tube and so quick and easy to get to all the main tourist spots of central and east.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, liked the free newspapers dotted around the lobby. We will be back at this price!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear madfish8
Thank you fort aking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican.
It was good to read that you enjoyed your bstay with us and would return .
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate .
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,407 - 1,413 of 3,160 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for business for a week. The hotel is OK - but if you want a hotel really close to tubes this really isn't it - about a 15 to 20 minute walk to either Old street or Farrington Stations, making it a bit out of the way, if proximity to transport is a priority. Facilities are again OK, it is a very standard hotel. Breakfast fare again is OK nothing out of the ordinary. I would advice people to get there early as on a couple of mornings they appeared to have run out of things (or were not replenishing quickly enough?). Overall an OK hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Kemi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback .
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked a single room as I needed to be in London for work. It did the job. Corridors are a wee bit run down in places. Could do with a lick of paint. Walls are paper thin as well. But the breakfast was included and it was excellent. (Apart from the coffee, which was rank). Staff were friendly enough. Did the job.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

when we got to the hotel it look good, however the room we had was a bit small, never mind we were only here for one night.
the bed was confortable,and the room heating was good as well.
However when we went to use the shower it was cold ,we tried several ways to turn the controls ,however to no avail.a bit disapointing.
the breakfast was good,and the staff friendly enough.

Room Tip: a little way from the old street underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room comfortable
and the team welcoming . I do apologies that you had issued with the shower.
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate
best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I really struggled with booking this. I was just terrified that the reviews would be true and it would be a very bad experience. The hotel was great though. It's about 10/15 min walk to tube station. Friendly staff. Comfy rooms. Good price. I could not fault anything really about the hotel. I got a great deal of £65 bed and breakfast. I slept in though so didn't get to experience the breakfast. I stayed in the annex which is very safe lots of security doors and you need your room key to let you into the annex and into the lift. I booked a single room but was pleasantly surprised to find a small double bed. Room was clean bathroom maybe requires a little updating but all in all a good place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Tony
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican
We appreciate your very positive comments and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you
back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I went here in 2013 and back then it was my first hotel which provided a swimming pool Jacuzi and sauna steam room all inclusive with the price and stay. WE stayed here for two nightsand it was a special deal as we got our evening meals free or they had other choices. At the time we booked ofn Super break.com but recently I find Booking .com and a few other holiday sites are much cheaper and reliable and still have special offers through out the year. I know the hotel was going to refurbish back then so it is best to contact the hotel directly to see the upgrade of the place and the information on the pool areas. But all the staff were so very helpful and friendly, 24 hours service and you can even upgarde if you want to improve your choice of room for special occasssions. They really put themselves out to help us. They have many other things available too. There is an underround train station just round the corner from the hotel, and public transport near by as well as there own taxi service too. I am hoping to go back there one day soon. The rooms are spacious and we found them very compfortable and clean.

Room Tip: ASk your preferance before booking and what speial offers are available at the time. Also to choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniselikes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Denise
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel
I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with and would return .
Thank you for your recommendation
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Good breakfast, most staff helpful. For the price its ok. I booked it simply as it had a pool so we could take our 5 mth old son for a dip whilst there and soothe my back in steam rm/ bubbles BUT they didn't tell us its CLOSED Monday Wednesday and Friday morning as they make money hiring it to a private firm for baby swim lessons. Local swimming baths have no family session either so i am VERY disappointed and its detracted from our stay as was a part of it to allow us family abs relax time. Poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Jane
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to read that you felt the hotel was value for money and that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the team to be friendly .
I am sorry that you were unable to make use of the pool in the mornings , we do advertise on our web site that the pool is closed to residents during this period but I will ensure that this is made clearer .
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#298 of 1,076 in London
606 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#406 of 1,076 in London
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#796 of 1,076 in London
1,427 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #591 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £82 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotelopia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing